15     Cameroon
16     Scotland
17     Bulgaria
18     Greece
19     Ghana
20     Israel

http://www.goal.com/en/Articolo.aspx?ContenutoId=807538

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html

Never really trust these rankings. Scotland creeping up on england though!

Also we aren't as good as guinea  :o though we could take finland! Score!

Interesting that the "Team which Isn't a Country"  ;) is currently in 32nd place, jointly with some Mexicans.

Meanwhile, some other team of "Mexicans" are languishing some 10 places lower... :D

Quote from: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 08:17:35 PM
Interesting that the "Team which Isn't a Country"  ;) is currently in 32nd place, jointly with some Mexicans.

Meanwhile, some other team of "Mexicans" are languishing some 10 places lower... :D

Come back in a couple of months once Trap gets his hands on the team, who's managing youse again?? Worthington? Whats he won again??

Niall Quinn

Quote from: Evil Genius on August 06, 2008, 08:17:35 PM

what happened to Mexico recently?

complete with Satanic points total.
Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

The thing that strikes me about this set of rankings is that it seems skewed toward European countries who have just played each other in a tournament.  After copa america's or cup of nations tournaments the same thing seems to happen

Arthur_Friend

"We're Not Brazil, We're Northern Ireland"

No shit!

How come our draw and win against Serbia and Columbia respectively at the tail end of last season, have not advanced our position?

I know these rankings are meaningless but it is nevertheless a source of great shame, embarrassment and indeed humiliation that the North of Ireland sits ten places ahead of the real Ireland team, when you consider the gulf in size, supporter base, and calibre of player available to both >:(

Quote from: T Fearon on August 07, 2008, 10:25:22 AM
How come our draw and win against Serbia and Columbia respectively at the tail end of last season, have not advanced our position?
Dunno. Unionist Veto? Securocrat Plot? Collusion? No justice for Irishmen in any FIFA court?
Surely this must be a direct and blatant contravention of the Good Friday Agreement?
Perhaps you'd better get Barry McElduff on the case...

I know these rankings are meaningless but it is nevertheless a source of great shame, embarrassment and indeed humiliation that the North of Ireland sits ten places ahead of the real Ireland team, when you consider the gulf in size, supporter base, and calibre of player available to both >:(
"Tony Fearon in 'Shame, Embarrassment and Humiliation' Shocker!" - That's surely worth a headline in the Belfast Telegraph. (Btw, did you win a Dictionary in a competition? I never thought you even knew the meaning of such terms... ::))

The bard of dunclug

Hardlines old boy. :'(

To survive your humiliation either you just do as the OWC - go into denial
or switch over to the more relevant UEFA rankings where the position of the FAI is slightly higher than the IFA.

http://lucrurineinteresante.blogspot.com/2008/05/euro-2012-qualifying-draw-coefficients.html

Where Ireland are a few places higher than NI.
These are the seedings that will be used for qual groups both for UEFA and FIFA.

Chrisowc

Quote from: Main Street on August 07, 2008, 10:52:54 AM

or switch over to the more relevant UEFA rankings where the position of the FAI is slightly higher than the IFA.

http://lucrurineinteresante.blogspot.com/2008/05/euro-2012-qualifying-draw-coefficients.html

These are the seedings that will be used for qual groups both for UEFA and FIFA.

Just a few places?  Not exactly enough to hide Tony's great shame, embarrassment and indeed humiliation I would have thought.

Anyway Tony could do something else that 'the OWC' do.  Support the country of his birth.......like he used to, before Big Jack and the plastic paddies came on board.
it's 'circle the wagons time again' here comes the cavalry!

In FIFA's Rankings, NI are currently 10 places above ROI. No big deal, but no "denial", either.

Slightly higher, but still the same Seeding Group (following NI's recent climb in the rankings and ROI's recent decline). Still, if this continues, it at least means you're not likely to be drawn againsts us, and risk a repeat of the result the last time NI played ROI... ;)

Three is barely "a few", but if it pleases you to think of it that way, then go ahead!
Possibly, but no guarantee - at least for FIFA - since they have amended the critieria at a late stage in the past.

Yes I Would

Lads lets be honest about the thing. Both teams are shite!!

The biggest use of these rankings is slagging off whoever is below you.
When we where at 110 my mates all seemed to think they where a lot more relevant than they now do.

Arthur_Friend

Have you boys nothing better to do than try to sicken the hole off each other?! You OWC boys are as bad as Fearon....