Time for Joe to go??

Started by cadhlancian, August 03, 2013, 08:44:54 PM

Quote from: 5 Sams on August 03, 2013, 11:34:40 PM
Pure gold for RTE. the whole country will be tuning in to see what Joe says next.

I was at the match but had 4 different texts on it straight after it happened. It was up on YouTube in no time.

...and remember that Joe was a forward and not the most rombustious of players himsef - so he obv has a pet hate of forwards being fouled when about to score!!

meanwhile poor old monaghan have been forgotten about for their fantastic season and very game perf today that just fell short.

It was tremendously entertaining, right down to Michael Lyster's school-marmish tut-tutting at the end.

anglocelt39

No need to award a penalty necessarily but if there was a straight red involved for a blatant rugby tackle intended to take out a man in a clear goal scoring position it might make cheating c***ts like Cavanagh think twice. PS I would not consider myself a torch carrier for the mushroom pickers.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Sidney

Quote from: 5 Sams on August 03, 2013, 11:34:40 PM
Pure gold for RTE. the whole country will be tuning in to see what Joe says next.
+1. and he wasn't wrong in what he said either.

It was classic stuff.

Quote from: Zulu on August 03, 2013, 11:40:45 PM
The problem with awarding a penalty for fouling in a goal scoring situation is the daftness of referees. We only have to look at the booking of Hughes today to see that a perfectly timed tackle is not only a free but a booking when the ref clearly couldn't adjudge what it was.

I think that was one of those bizarre GAA situations where referees seem to book a player in order to justify the free that they have just given.

Mayo Mick

Nonsense from Joe. If one of our lads fails to foul in a similar situation tomorrow and we concede a goal he should be whipped off immediately. All the top teams foul when necessary - Kerry are best at it. We are learning under James.
If You Don't Bring Home The Bacon, You'll Get Treated Like A Pig!!

Quote from: Any craic on August 03, 2013, 11:27:04 PM
I have been moved to write a GAA blog after Joe Brolly's outburst on TV today. 'Love him or Hate him', but read him! http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/-blog/Joe-Brolly---Love-him-or-Hate-him_98

Excellent writing and good points!

All aboard the anti Joe Brolly bandwagon!
Amidst the passion and the hyperbole, Brolly is absolutely correct. Well done Joe. He is wrong in his attack on Cavanagh but his points that our rules are simply not strong enough to support a game that is evolving at pace is a very good point. We need black cards, we need 13m frees for bad fouls, we need sin bins, we need red cards and then we will have a game that promotes positive play. At the moment we have rules which makes negative play rewarding. Not the players fault, it's the rules fault.

Well done Joe Brolly.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 03, 2013, 09:11:09 PM
Brolly's rant, in amongst the usual deep seated L/Derry chip on both shoulders, puts him back in the media spotlight and focuses attention on him. People will want to read what he now comes out with, newspapers will pay him for his opinions. Job done for Joe Brolly.

Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 03, 2013, 08:51:45 PM
I don't understand why he hates Tyrone so much? Can any northern lads explain this?
Like many from Doire, they're not terribly fond of Tyrone thanks to their natural inferiority complex. Seeing in the last ten years Tyrone win three Sams, being at the worst the third best team in Ulster in that period and still at the very least being talked about being there or thereabouts in pre-championship talk every year, continue being the kingpin in Ulster at youth level (well, at least up to minor), whereas they are every year in the last decade massively overestimating themselves and had to face up to having a generation of irrelevance. Tyrone learned after the mid 90's that moral victories put no medals in your pocket. Derry teams of early-mid 90's vintage had plenty of cuteness themselves, something their current crop have lost a bit of - had they got a bit more against Cavan they might be now looking forward to playing Kerry in Croke Park tomorrow rather than have Kerry Katona style breakdowns live on national TV or tickling their arse cracks on the internet.  ;)

what a twat with the use of L/derry. Typical Tyrone. Yous boys seem to be awful fond of the l/derry thing. No wonder you rub Derry people up wrong . Brolly went over the top tonight but cavanagh is a self centred character, couldn't ever take to him, big moanin bake on him, looks like it needs a big dummy stuck in it

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2013, 12:13:09 AM
Brolly's rant, in amongst the usual deep seated L/Derry chip on both shoulders, puts him back in the media spotlight and focuses attention on him. People will want to read what he now comes out with, newspapers will pay him for his opinions. Job done for Joe Brolly.

I don't understand why he hates Tyrone so much? Can any northern lads explain this?
Like many from Doire, they're not terribly fond of Tyrone thanks to their natural inferiority complex. Seeing in the last ten years Tyrone win three Sams, being at the worst the third best team in Ulster in that period and still at the very least being talked about being there or thereabouts in pre-championship talk every year, continue being the kingpin in Ulster at youth level (well, at least up to minor), whereas they are every year in the last decade massively overestimating themselves and had to face up to having a generation of irrelevance. Tyrone learned after the mid 90's that moral victories put no medals in your pocket. Derry teams of early-mid 90's vintage had plenty of cuteness themselves, something their current crop have lost a bit of - had they got a bit more against Cavan they might be now looking forward to playing Kerry in Croke Park tomorrow rather than have Kerry Katona style breakdowns live on national TV or tickling their arse cracks on the internet.  ;)

what a t**t with the use of L/derry. Typical Tyrone. Yous boys seem to be awful fond of the l/derry thing. No wonder you rub Derry people up wrong . Brolly went over the top tonight but cavanagh is a self centred character, couldn't ever take to him, big moanin bake on him, looks like it needs a big dummy stuck in it

Are you Joe Brolly?

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 04, 2013, 12:14:34 AMAre you Joe Brolly?

Joe's a bit more articulate to be fair to him

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 04, 2013, 12:14:34 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2013, 12:13:09 AM

what a t**t with the use of L/derry. Typical Tyrone. Yous boys seem to be awful fond of the l/derry thing. No wonder you rub Derry people up wrong . Brolly went over the top tonight but cavanagh is a self centred character, couldn't ever take to him, big moanin bake on him, looks like it needs a big dummy stuck in it

Are you Joe Brolly?

Loved to be a pound behind him!

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 04, 2013, 12:25:48 AM
Sean Cavanagh like all excellent players has faults, but with three All-Ireland medals in his pocket and a player of the year award - more than any player who has worn the Oak leaf jersey, any Derry manager would give their left nut to have him on the county team. It might even help lift them from the irrelevance they are to the Ulster and All-Ireland football championship in the past decade.

Aye he's alright, decent enough but you couldn't look at his big nyamin head all day  ;)