Is it about time we grew up and stopped gloating about England's misfortunes?

Started by Eamonnca1, June 15, 2014, 11:16:01 AM

Yep, it's a real shame the English brought soccer to other countries. This world cup craic is grand but it'd be far better if there were more soccer clubs in the parts of Britain where it isn't strong.

I think given everyone in ireland has access to English telly and thus what they say on English telly about the soccer team and given it's in the same language and given the track record, Schadenfreude is inevitable.It's coming home, it's coming home.

The super-cool Pirlo, if an English (or Irish) player tried this look they would inevitably look like a porn star.

Quote from: Zulu on June 15, 2014, 07:33:41 PM
Think he looks like the director of porn movies.

If he was, they would be the coolest porn movies ever.

We are approaching Larry Reilly level here.

So if yiz hate England so much, why do so many of you support English soccer clubs?

I don't think anyone here hates England and I certainly don't support any soccer team.

Quote from: BennyHarp on June 15, 2014, 01:13:36 PM
I've no desire to see England win the tournament but I find the tournament much more interesting when they are still in it and I look forward to watching their games more than any other team. So I'm in a strange position of wanting them to stay in the competition but also wanting them to lose. I think losing on penalties in the semi final would be the best scenario.
This is exactly how I feel about them.

I am completely indifferent to it nowadays but it makes me wonder about the following:

Why haven't the Scots or the Welsh fans stopped rubbing it in gleefully when the English lose in anything.   

And of course the English would never laugh into their ales at the misfortunes of the French or Germans teams. No siree.

Nor would they howl with laughter and pass the sneering comment to anyone who sounded mildly Irish about Tierry Henry's hand ball goal.

But Irish lads are supposed to be above such 'pettiness'.

No one cheers for the English. Feck it, the Brazilians in the stadium last night seemed to be collectively cheering for Italy, and given Italy's greatest contribution to football is catenaccio, it was hardly out a shared appreciation for the beautiful game.

NB I cheer for the English.

I had a bit of a dilemma last night as I live in England and I have many English friends, I have a job here, I like English Ale and some of their more quirkier traditions not to mention their contributions to high culture.

But I love Italy. I can sing all the words to "Fratelli D'Italia". If I had the money I'd spend every other minute of my life in Lake Como. Then there is Verdi, Da Vinci, the whole Renaissance, Pavorotti. Venice, Milan, Rome, La Dolce Vita. E 'tutto bellissimo.

I don't give a damn about football but I do enjoy the world cup though.

I wouldn't begrudge England success but the problem they have is structural and they don't seem to be interested in fixing it.
The Premiership is where the money is.