What has happened Ulster Football?

Started by Bud Wiser, July 20, 2010, 09:35:51 AM

I forgive the mistake Main Street as I'm sure you just missed it. I don't see the need for the tone of the lecture though.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 11:14:38 AM
I am already trying to get my hands on a copy of the Connaught Final.  Best game of football this year.  Leinster would be good too only for the fact that, not being happy with foookin up your own provincial championship, ye send us down a referee to try and foook up ours as well and then when he is offered the courtesy of a Garda escort of the field he is supposed to have said "I don't want no f'n free state police protection"  and stays there dictating to all and sundry.

There is a chance that the football championship can be rescued and we might see another game of football like the Connaught final but it won't involve an Ulster team with their style of today. I am not taking cheap shots here at all or getting cocky as you put it, I am really really concerned about the demise of football in Ulster.

Quote from: Zapatista on July 23, 2010, 12:25:25 PM

I forgive the mistake Main Street as I'm sure you just missed it. I don't see the need for the tone of the lecture though.

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 20, 2010, 11:14:38 AM
I am already trying to get my hands on a copy of the Connaught Final.  Best game of football this year.  Leinster would be good too only for the fact that, not being happy with foookin up your own provincial championship, ye send us down a referee to try and foook up ours as well and then when he is offered the courtesy of a Garda escort of the field he is supposed to have said "I don't want no f'n free state police protection"  and stays there dictating to all and sundry.

There is a chance that the football championship can be rescued and we might see another game of football like the Connaught final but it won't involve an Ulster team with their style of today. I am not taking cheap shots here at all or getting cocky as you put it, I am really really concerned about the demise of football in Ulster.

"I forgive the mistake Main Street as I'm sure you just missed it. I don't see the need for the tone of the lecture though."

That's the whole problem with ye nordies, ye don't like being told anything at all, ye think ye own this board, look at the post up already about Tyrone V Dublin AN Other?.  Then, when ye are told a few home truths about the quality of the Ulster football championsip ye start throwing tantrums and whinging about the term nordies and my criticism of Martin Sludden.

Martin Sludden was an idiot to do what he done in the Leinster Final and what he said and did after the game made him a bigger idiot.  That was on the day, it is over and he has a life to live too which I agree with,  but,  whether he regrets it or not the arrogance he showed on the day is certainly not my fault.  Please dont go into denial about what he said and what he did because he would not be on his own in some of the comments that can be made by some of ye boyos.  In last weeks Leinster Leader it was reported and reprinted in the Evening Herald,  (talking about the then forthcoming Kildare game) that: "A win over Derry in Celtic Park, it's the stuff dreams are made of. The mind rambles to bygone days. It was back in Micko's early days. A game that saw the great Martin Lynch from Clane play the game in its entirety with his wolly cap firmly in place such was the cold. A time when we were told amid spits and anger to f**k off back to the free state ye shower of b**tards"

Of course the win in Celtic Park was a stroll in the Park for the Leinster side.

EDIT:  Sorry, there is not one thread about Tyrone's next game, there are two or three !

Who are you talking to Bud ???

Ye are ranting about general crap and multiple posters. If you are going to do that then quote something relevent, not my posts. Someone might get confused and think I'm on the other end of these rants posting equally ridiculous crap about nothing to nobody.

I am talking to you, as inclusive in my reply.  Do you want me to be more specific to you?

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:29:32 AM
I am talking to you, as inclusive in my reply.  Do you want me to be more specific to you?

No thanks.

Quote from: Zapatista on July 24, 2010, 08:30:18 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 08:29:32 AM

No thanks.

Good, because all I wanted to say in the first place was, in no particular order:

1.  The quality of football and the excitement provided in the Ulster Football Championship this year was dire.  It is a win at all costs championship that has lost it's appeal.  I may be on my own thinking this, but I am happy on my own thinking it, it is my opinion and I stand by it.

2.  I mentioned what Martin Sludden said or was supposed to have said and I don't give a flying f**k where the apostrophe, hyphen, comma, dot or anything else is or how I termed it, I was told what he said by an actual member of the Gardai for one and I have had three private PM's from Tyrone men no less telling me the same.  The relevance of the referee to this thread was because I said that, not being happy enough with ye sent us down a referee to feck up ours as well which I admit was an off the cuff statement in that the ref was appointed by Croke Park.  However, Colm O'Rourke choose to take his brush out and paint a picture that was green and gold without even a tint of red and he and not me should be qualifying what Sludden said, or if he said it, if he wants to write one sided articles without mentioning names.  All he has to do is ring the Superintendent in Fitzgibbon St or Store Street or the Garda press office, but mouthing out of him about what happened a "well known" Meath gaa man, for f's sake Colm, either say it out like Bud or stick to the teaching.

3.  Nordies/Free Staters.    It doesn't bother me in the slightest, in fact the extract from the Leinster Leader was written in kinda GAA speak that reflects the kind of opponents/comrades that is almost exclusive to the GAA. By this I mean that no matter how the game was described everyone would have shaken hands at the end of it and no real offence was taken by the Kildare men.

"I heard he said to the Gardai that they were doing a fine job. I heard it from another referee. Not only that but I've had 4PMs (one from each province) confirming it. Looks like it's all a misunderstanding."

Sure he thought he was doing a fine job himself as well. On the day, he was the last man in Ireland to be in a position to judge others or to qualify what doing a fine job even meant.  Sometime when you get a chance have a look at a few of the pictures where he is seen to be shouting at the Garda in front of him.  Anyway, don't let this Sluddengate detract from the real purpose of the thread, that the decline in the standards of football in Ulster is a cause for concern.

Not that my proposed solution would be acceptable to any of ye but if I had my way I would send up someone in authority from Croke Park and have them go around every club in the provence and confiscate every football they could get their hands on. Then give out hurling balls and hurls and make them all play hurling for a year, the fast movement of the ball, the skill involved and all the useless blanket defence measures would be a huge learning curve after which they could slip back into football the following year.

Bud, we revel in mediocrity up here. When Churchill spoke of the dreary steeples of Fermanagh and Tyrone he was also including the standard of football being played out in Enniskillen and Omagh. Here's the deal - allow us to wander aimlessly through the boggy bigball era, oblivious to the worry and concern emanating from Laois and beyond. We're happy with the Titanic, Ulysses-Grant homestead, Hugo Duncan, Bushmills, Peter the great, Iris Robinson, The Fry and the BBC.

Another man in denial. You mention most everything except the Buckfast which I think you must all be on up there for the last month. Why can't you be like us mere mortals down here and be like Hardy, happy in himself going around correcting apostrophes and commas and it's not just Hardy, a comma in a wrong place now instead of a hypen and you could get your knuckles rapped by the board patrol.   "I fixed that there for you"  etc, no dreaming of cigar puffing war generals for us, simple things keep us happy.

Down in Laois we are indeed worried about you and even more so now when you say you are oblivious to the situation. There will be huge withdrawl symptoms from the false dawn that Armagh and Tyrone promised and this is already evident, wandering aimlessly is only one of the first and most mild form of what can become a delusion that has the potential to spread at a rapid rate.

PS  How can you mention Iris The Cougar and omit Brian Dooher, or for that matter, how can you mention Peter and omit Brian.  or should that be a ?

Quote from: Bud Wiser on July 24, 2010, 10:26:20 AM
Not that my proposed solution would be acceptable to any of ye but if I had my way I would send up someone in authority from Croke Park and have them go around every club in the provence and confiscate every football they could get their hands on. Then give out hurling balls and hurls and make them all play hurling for a year, the fast movement of the ball, the skill involved and all the useless blanket defence measures would be a huge learning curve after which they could slip back into football the following year.

Elias

Bud, you have a massive chip on your shoulder about Ulster football, or it is just us 'nordies' in general?

To blame the Tyrone posters for Sludden is a cheap shot as the Aussies would say. And what the f**k we have got to do with what Colm O'Rourke comes out with I'll never know?

The Ulster Championship was poor this year I agree, but when you have one side so far ahead of those around them that will happen. I'm not really concerned about the USFC as, when Tyrone start to lose thier grip on the Anglo Celt (which may well be next year) the matches will return to being much more competitive. The other teams will be striving to make sure that happens between now and next May.

No Elias, I have no chip on my shoulder, I am just trying to shine a light for you to see, not necessarily follow.  Three threads about Tyrone's next game and they are still talking about Peter Canavan for f's sake.  You have Antrim playing Cork tomorrow in an All-Ireland quarter final and Armagh minors playing Dublin in an All-Ireland Semi-Final.  If the two teams brought shovels with them to Crossmaglen and started to open a coal mine they would get more coverage than they are getting and the reason for that is simply because there is so much shite talk about Tyrone and Armagh and Ulster football in general when there is not really much to talk about proportional to the excitement that the championship has provided.  Donegal have a lot to answer for as well, like watching paint dry seeing them play lately.  Tactics, tactics, tactics, but all bad ones and win at any cost that is destroying the game as a spectator sport.