Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on June 24, 2011, 08:44:02 PM

Title: would you ever vote DUP?
Post by: lawnseed on June 24, 2011, 08:44:02 PM
heartened by the recent poll that showed that only 16% of catholics would want a united ireland the dup have launched a campaign aimed at catholic voters. what would they need to do to attract your vote?

incidentally what a damning indictment of the fine gael/labour/fianna fail/green administrations that have turned an aspiration/dream of Irish nationalists in their millions throughout the world into what many would now turn their backs on. history IMO will not look kindly on most of the "leaders" elected in the 26 since independence. doubtful if there was a patriot amongst them all.
Title: Re: would you ever vote DUP?
Post by: andoireabu on June 24, 2011, 08:49:49 PM
change their stance on a United Ireland! :D
Post by: lawnseed on June 24, 2011, 08:50:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 24, 2011, 08:49:10 PM
Never! Never! Never!
:D nice one
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2011, 09:26:14 PM
I can't imagine there is a Catholic in the north (*apart from Rory McIlroy) that would vote for them. If there is I wouldn't want to meet them.

*A joke
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2011, 09:47:32 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 24, 2011, 08:44:02 PM
heartened by the recent poll that showed that only 16% of catholics would want a united ireland the dup have launched a campaign aimed at catholic voters. what would they need to do to attract your vote?

incidentally what a damning indictment of the fine gael/labour/fianna fail/green administrations that have turned an aspiration/dream of Irish nationalists in their millions throughout the world into what many would now turn their backs on. history IMO will not look kindly on most of the "leaders" elected in the 26 since independence. doubtful if there was a patriot amongst them all.

You're probably right about the last paragraph. Sean Lemass would have been the best of the leaders since independence imo.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 24, 2011, 09:58:40 PM
Not a f**king mission, not if i was drawing my last breath and it was to save my life.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2011, 10:05:42 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 24, 2011, 09:58:40 PM
Not a f**king mission, not if i was drawing my last breath and it was to save my life.
No, then?  :D
Post by: DoireGael on June 24, 2011, 11:25:29 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13880036

Be careful

Post by: Forever Green on June 24, 2011, 11:49:04 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 24, 2011, 11:25:29 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-13880036

Be careful

Fcuk it, he is right. The man is a hateful bigoted sc**bag bastard
Post by: sammymaguire on June 24, 2011, 11:52:54 PM
freedom of speech  ???
Post by: DoireGael on June 24, 2011, 11:59:06 PM
Not sure he's a Dido fan, can I go to jail for saying that?

This one cracks me up from a few years ago

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/7775976.stm

Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2011, 12:04:14 AM
You couldn't say anything bad enough about Campbell.
Post by: randomtask on June 25, 2011, 12:08:53 AM
really how can this man hold such a high position within government. what a d**khead
Post by: Forever Green on June 25, 2011, 12:10:07 AM
Better watch out, Gregory could be lurking about on this website waiting to report someone
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on June 25, 2011, 01:03:46 AM

Perhaps its just an indictment of Sinn Féin for being such knobcheese.
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2011, 01:35:04 PM
I would never vote for them. I always get the feeling watching Gregory Campbell that he had an intelligent  brother who went to university but is now living in England. 
Post by: Minder on June 25, 2011, 11:40:49 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 25, 2011, 11:38:14 PM
have to say i enjoy sammy wilson, i think hes great craic, but actually voting for him... emmm..?? given a choice between sammy and the stoops??? wee chewing gum head ritchie?? or the incredibly boring and pointless alex attwood?? i dont think i'd bother voting

That had a successful spell as DSD Minister, sure i thought that was the whole idea. Be competent.

Maybe not.
Post by: LeoMc on June 25, 2011, 11:52:30 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 24, 2011, 11:59:06 PM
Not sure he's a Dido fan, can I go to jail for saying that?

This one cracks me up from a few years ago

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/7775976.stm

He added that the minister had recently also taken exception to an episode of the Simpsons.

Did Homer go to mass?
Post by: Aerlik on June 26, 2011, 08:07:37 AM
I think I would support any English team before I would vote for the hoors.  Those of us who live/have lived in a DUP-supported are of Ireland will know why.
Post by: Gaffer on June 26, 2011, 08:15:14 AM
have to say i enjoy sammy wilson, i think hes great craic, but actually voting for him... emmm..?? given a choice between sammy and the stoops??? wee chewing gum head ritchie?? or the incredibly boring and pointless alex attwood?? i dont think i'd bother voting

You need to get out more if you think he's great craic.  Incredibly boring and pointless...Surely you mean Catriona Ruana
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 26, 2011, 09:15:26 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on June 26, 2011, 08:07:37 AM
I think I would support any English team before I would vote for the hoors.  Those of us who live/have lived in a DUP-supported are of Ireland will know why.

Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 10:32:09 AM
Everyone who voted Sinn Féin in the last Stormont election was effectively voting for the SF/DUP coalition that was bound to result; so you all voted DUP by default.
Post by: Evil Genius on June 26, 2011, 01:15:17 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 10:32:09 AM
Everyone who voted Sinn Féin in the last Stormont election was effectively voting for the SF/DUP coalition that was bound to result; so you all voted DUP by default.
Yep.

Oatcake Day, or Fruitcake Day, there's sod-all difference:

(http://www.oatcakeday.com/photoGallery/telefilm/CHUCKLE%20BROTHERS.JPG)

(http://bp0.blogger.com/_sW65ilskOC8/RkG8_FzltCI/AAAAAAAABqk/D-PANx4mQt0/s320/IanPaisleyMartinMcGuinnessNorthernIreland.jpg)
Post by: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 01:17:38 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 26, 2011, 01:15:17 PM

You saying Martin and Ian are fruits?
Post by: Evil Genius on June 26, 2011, 01:21:45 PM
Quote from: Cáthasaigh on June 26, 2011, 01:17:38 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 26, 2011, 01:15:17 PM

You saying Martin and Ian are fruits?
Not exactly, but when I googled Kuntcake Day, nothing came up.
Post by: lawnseed on June 27, 2011, 11:24:38 PM
ian mc crea wants your vote also ;)
Post by: NetNitrate on June 28, 2011, 03:56:14 AM

Hardly the fault of southern pols if northern Catholics are more loyal to the half crown. I like many had to emigrate and despite the corruption I'd never turn my back on my country. It's a sad indictment of so called northern nationalists that a comfortable middle class lifestyle under British rule is preferable to austerity.
Post by: theskull1 on June 28, 2011, 07:22:43 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on June 28, 2011, 03:56:14 AM
Hardly the fault of southern pols if northern Catholics are more loyal to the half crown. I like many had to emigrate and despite the corruption I'd never turn my back on my country. It's a sad indictment of so called northern nationalists that a comfortable middle class lifestyle under British rule is preferable to austerity.

I can only assume you've emigrated to Greece
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 28, 2011, 07:55:20 AM
The temperatures of the fiercest fires of Hell will have reached absolute zero and still I will be no nearer voting for them than I am now.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 10:49:57 AM
Quote from: Minder on June 25, 2011, 11:40:49 PM

That had a successful spell as DSD Minister, sure i thought that was the whole idea. Be competent.

Maybe not.
It's a sad fact that many people (including some on here), rank 'personality' over competence.

As for the DUP, I can't ever see them getting a significant number of 'Catholic' votes. I'd imagine that most 'catholic unionists' are unionists with a small 'u' and would have little time for the Union Jack waving carry-on. Then there's also the fact that so many in the DUP are remain totally anti-Catholic and anti-nationalist (with a small 'n').
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 28, 2011, 10:51:56 AM
No.
And Gregory Campbell deserves to be ~@**> #&*$%*£ **!??!& @?!$%£&**. :-*
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 11:05:51 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 28, 2011, 10:51:56 AM
No.
And Gregory Campbell deserves to be ~@**> #&*$%*£ **!??!& @?!$%£&**. :-*

That's inflammatory. You should be charged with threatening to  ~@**> #&*$%*£ **!??!& @?!$%£&**, and be locked up.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2011, 11:18:08 AM
I wouldn't but the irony is that I have spoken to a number of people from Paisley's constituency who would call him a "hateful black so and so" with one breath and say but he did a lot for the area with the next one. 

More worryingly for me is that in recent threads on the Board I have tended to agree with a lot of what EG has posted :o  I better go to the Short Strand thread to get that fixed ;)
Post by: Minder on June 28, 2011, 11:43:13 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2011, 11:18:08 AM
I wouldn't but the irony is that I have spoken to a number of people from Paisley's constituency who would call him a "hateful black so and so" with one breath and say but he did a lot for the area with the next one. 

More worryingly for me is that in recent threads on the Board I have tended to agree with a lot of what EG has posted :o  I better go to the Short Strand thread to get that fixed ;)

Agree with that BCB1, regardless of his politics and his personality, he did a lot for constituents in North Antrim over the years.
Post by: theskull1 on June 28, 2011, 12:12:55 PM

Strange
So BCB1 you don't believe nationalists should ever agree or at least understand the perspectives of someone like EG? Is it not healthy to get a hold on someone elses idea of reality every now and then or is it better to live in a boxed in world?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2011, 12:22:14 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 28, 2011, 12:12:55 PM

Strange
So BCB1 you don't believe nationalists should ever agree or at least understand the perspectives of someone like EG? Is it not healthy to get a hold on someone elses idea of reality every now and then or is it better to live in a boxed in world?

Ahh jaysus ::)
Post by: Nally Stand on June 28, 2011, 12:24:58 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2011, 12:22:14 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 28, 2011, 12:12:55 PM

Strange

:D +1
Post by: theskull1 on June 28, 2011, 12:34:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2011, 12:22:14 PM

Let me in on the joke guys...I'm missing it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 12:44:46 PM
By the same token how many unionist would vote SF?
Post by: LeoMc on June 28, 2011, 12:55:24 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on June 28, 2011, 03:56:14 AM

You can't eat a flag.
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 01:01:32 PM
I certaintly wouldn't vote DUP. The McCreas think they own Mid Ulster and are hateful so and sos.

Though, to be fair, I wouldn't vote Sinn Fein either. Their view of equality is almost Animal Farm-esque.

I will vote for whatever Independent Candidates are doing the rounds in the Election (I voted for Hugh McCloy in the Assembly Election).

Personally, I don't think there'll ever be a United Ireland. My ultimate goal is Joint Authority.
Post by: ziggysego on June 28, 2011, 01:09:14 PM
I've transferred and depending on the candidate, will continue to do so.
Post by: muppet on June 28, 2011, 01:11:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 28, 2011, 01:09:14 PM

It the choice was a reasonable DUP or a Healy-Rae?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 28, 2011, 01:14:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2011, 01:11:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 28, 2011, 01:09:14 PM

It the choice was a reasonable DUP or a Healy-Rae?

(http://stereogum.com/img/not_the_mountain_goats_album_cover.jpg)

Or

(http://www.bestirishfacts.com/michael%20healy%20rae.jpg)

You decide!!!
Post by: ardal on June 28, 2011, 02:00:24 PM

Lawnseed on the fence.

Wouldn't you give anything for a united Ireland?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 02:49:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 12:44:46 PM
The topic is about Catholics voting DUP, not Nationalists.
Post by: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:57:55 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 02:49:24 PM
Is it?

Doesn't say anything about "Catholics" in the thread title.

Anyhow, for the record, this non-Catholic* can't see himself ever voting DUP.

Or for that matter, for any  Political Party which contains obnoxious, bigoted, extremist c u nts in its very highest ranks...

* - Non-Christian, actually.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 06:52:42 PM

Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:57:55 PM
Is it?

Or for that matter, for any  Political Party which contains obnoxious, bigoted, extremist c u nts in its very highest ranks...

;D ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 08:15:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 06:52:42 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

EG/MR2 if you read the opening post: "heartened by the recent poll that showed that only 16% of catholics would want a united ireland the dup have launched a campaign aimed at catholic voters. what would they need to do to attract your vote?"
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:31:58 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 08:15:45 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

EG/MR2 if you read the opening post: "heartened by the recent poll that showed that only 16% of catholics would want a united ireland the dup have launched a campaign aimed at catholic voters. what would they need to do to attract your vote?"

Thanks for putting me straight.

Would Prods vote for SF?
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 11:37:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:31:58 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

Perhaps Working-Class Protestants (alienated by Unionists) would.

btw, BBC NI mentioned to Baibre De Bruin about Sinn Fein voters in Andytown transferring to the DUP. I can certainly see more of that, cobsidering the animosity Shinners in West Belfast have towards the SDLP. Perhaps Alex Atwood would have to rely on Transfers from Socialist Voters in the next Assembly Election in order to keep his Seat.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:44:45 PM
Quote from: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 11:37:51 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

btw, BBC NI mentioned to Baibre De Bruin about Sinn Fein voters in Andytown transferring to the DUP. I can certainly see more of that, cobsidering the animosity Shinners in West Belfast have towards the SDLP. Perhaps Alex Atwood would have to rely on Transfers from Socialist Voters in the next Assembly Election in order to keep his Seat.

Yes I remember watching that during the long election night programme. But were they transferring? Or did they make a mistake in voting?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 29, 2011, 09:51:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:44:45 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

Yes I remember watching that during the long election night programme. But were they transferring? Or did they make a mistake in voting?

Given the small numbers transferring I would have thought "mistake" was the more likely.
This happens in all constituencies, you can have as little as one person transferring from SF to DUP or DUP to SF it means feck all. On the other hand the large number of transfers received by the SDLP from unionist parties and vice versa in alot of constituencies tells a bigger story.
Post by: Evil Genius on June 29, 2011, 01:02:06 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

My mistake - you are absolutely correct.

In my defence, I'm sure I read the opening post carefully; however the notion that RC's could be so insane/deluded/gullible that they would knowingly vote DUP is so far-fetched that I must have erased it from my mind.

(Though tbf, thousands of insane/deluded/gullible RC's vote SF, a move that achieves scarcely more for them than would voting DUP... :D)
Post by: Evil Genius on June 29, 2011, 01:03:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:31:58 PMWould Prods vote for SF?
Would Jews or Blacks vote BNP?
Post by: Nally Stand on June 29, 2011, 01:25:01 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 29, 2011, 01:03:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:31:58 PMWould Prods vote for SF?
Would Jews or Blacks vote BNP?
Would Turkeys vote for Christmas?
Post by: J70 on June 29, 2011, 02:14:42 PM
A party composed of crazy bigotted fundamentalist christians? Never in million years, based solely on that.
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 02:39:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 29, 2011, 02:14:42 PM
A party composed of crazy bigotted fundamentalist christians? Never in million years, based solely on that.

Same reason you wouldn't vote (US) Republican, I imagine.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 29, 2011, 02:39:19 PM

Now, now J70. 6014 years!  ;D

How old is the earth?
If we go back 500 years, we come to the time of Martin Luther (born in 1483), and Columbus, who "sailed the ocean blue in 1492."
If we go back 1000 years, we come to the time of Leif Ericson, Christian explorer, who preached Christ to pagans. (World Book, 1983, vol.6, page 270.)
If we go back 2000 years, we come to the birth of Jesus Christ. Our calendar is dated from His birth.
If we go back 3000 years, we come to the time of David and Solomon; they ruled Israel about 1000 BC.
If we go back 4000 years, we come to the time of Abraham (2000 BC), ancestor of Arabs and Jews.
If we go back 5000 years, we come to the time of Enoch, who "walked with God 300 years ... and God took him [into Heaven]."
If we go back 6000 years, we come to the time of Creation, and Adam and Eve (4004 BC). Luke, evangelist and historian, records Adam as the first man (Luke 3:38).
The earth is about 6000 years old. Let God's people rejoice in Him who made them! (Psalm 149:2)

(http://xb2.xanga.com/f18c153658232145805972/z108068265.jpg)
Post by: stew on June 29, 2011, 03:43:52 PM
Not a snowballs chance in hades that Iwould vote for those knackers.
Post by: armaghniac on June 29, 2011, 04:05:04 PM
QuoteNow, now J70. 6014 years!

I see, Gaoth Dobhair Abu, that you are a disciple of that great Armagh man, Ussher. who corrected the error of Dionysius Exiguus. Now that Ian McCrea has joined the Donegal bandwagon, you'll all have to be up to speed on these matters. 

Post by: J70 on June 29, 2011, 04:12:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 02:39:06 PM

In a national election, no chance. The christian right owns the party nationally. Local or state election possibly, on a case by case basis, depending on the candidates and their opponents. Bloomberg was a republican at one point. I've a soft spot for Pete King based on his peace process work, although he pisses me off on some issues. Pretty sane by the standards of the national GOP though!
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 29, 2011, 04:18:18 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 29, 2011, 04:12:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 29, 2011, 02:39:06 PM

In a national election, no chance. The christian right owns the party nationally. Local or state election possibly, on a case by case basis, depending on the candidates and their opponents. Bloomberg was a republican at one point. I've a soft spot for Pete King based on his peace process work, although he pisses me off on some issues. Pretty sane by the standards of the national GOP though!

Ron Paul for President. The others are Morons.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 29, 2011, 04:46:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 29, 2011, 04:05:04 PM
QuoteNow, now J70. 6014 years!

I see, Gaoth Dobhair Abu, that you are a disciple of that great Armagh man, Ussher. who corrected the error of Dionysius Exiguus. Now that Ian McCrea has joined the Donegal bandwagon, you'll all have to be up to speed on these matters.

One likes to take a wee peek over the fence occasionally to see what the other lot are up to (now that they seem to have become Donegal GAA fans)! Sure we might even get EG onboard (he'll hardly be supporting Fermanagh this year!) :D :D :D
Post by: LeoMc on June 30, 2011, 09:21:42 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:44:45 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

No mistake. I think they know how to fill out forms correctly in Andytown. ;)
Post by: orangeman on April 12, 2014, 12:33:12 PM
Peter is looking for you or maybe a number 2 from SF voters. Rule nothing out.

Peter Robinson says DUP need to seek out converts to unionism

Mr Robinson said the test of success for unionist parties would be in stopping to look for lundies and starting to look for converts.

The First Minister Peter Robinson has told members of the DUP they need to seek out converts to unionism.

He was speaking at the party's spring conference in Newcastle on Saturday.

Mr Robinson said demographic changes could not be wished away and ignoring them would be, what he termed, "constitutionally dangerous".

The DUP leader said the test of success for unionist parties would be in stopping to look for Lundies and starting to look for converts.
Post by: Rossfan on April 12, 2014, 03:11:30 PM
He always makes lovely speeches at their annual conference but reverts to flying the bitter twisted bigot flag afterwards.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 12, 2014, 04:17:28 PM
Come on lawnseed that's not a serious thread, no-one of a nationalist persuasion would ever vote in these clowns
Post by: ardtole on April 13, 2014, 06:28:54 AM
Didnt SF voters in Dublin give Michael McDowell of the then PD'S their no 2 vote and in the process get him elected at the expense of the SF candidate. I cant remember the specifics but that is the gist of it.
Post by: T Fearon on April 13, 2014, 07:01:49 AM
Didn't a priest act as guest speaker at the last DUP conference commending the Party's stance on opposition to homosexuality and gay marriage,and haven't one or two more been in the press hinting that catholic values are better represented by the DUP than SDLP and/or SF?

Big Paisley always claimed many Catholics voted for him in N Antrim due to his excellent constituency work and I don't doubt he was telling the truth.