would you ever vote DUP?

Started by lawnseed, June 24, 2011, 08:44:02 PM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 12:44:46 PM
By the same token how many unionist would vote SF?
The topic is about Catholics voting DUP, not Nationalists.

Quote from: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 02:49:24 PM
Is it?

Doesn't say anything about "Catholics" in the thread title.

Anyhow, for the record, this non-Catholic* can't see himself ever voting DUP.

Or for that matter, for any  Political Party which contains obnoxious, bigoted, extremist c u nts in its very highest ranks...

* - Non-Christian, actually.

Quote from: Evil Genius on June 28, 2011, 04:57:55 PM
Is it?

Or for that matter, for any  Political Party which contains obnoxious, bigoted, extremist c u nts in its very highest ranks...

;D ;D

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 06:52:42 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

EG/MR2 if you read the opening post: "heartened by the recent poll that showed that only 16% of catholics would want a united ireland the dup have launched a campaign aimed at catholic voters. what would they need to do to attract your vote?"

Quote from: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 08:15:45 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

EG/MR2 if you read the opening post: "heartened by the recent poll that showed that only 16% of catholics would want a united ireland the dup have launched a campaign aimed at catholic voters. what would they need to do to attract your vote?"

Thanks for putting me straight.

Would Prods vote for SF?

ExcellentDriver

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:31:58 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

Perhaps Working-Class Protestants (alienated by Unionists) would.

btw, BBC NI mentioned to Baibre De Bruin about Sinn Fein voters in Andytown transferring to the DUP. I can certainly see more of that, cobsidering the animosity Shinners in West Belfast have towards the SDLP. Perhaps Alex Atwood would have to rely on Transfers from Socialist Voters in the next Assembly Election in order to keep his Seat.
Stand up for the Ulstermen!

Quote from: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 11:37:51 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

btw, BBC NI mentioned to Baibre De Bruin about Sinn Fein voters in Andytown transferring to the DUP. I can certainly see more of that, cobsidering the animosity Shinners in West Belfast have towards the SDLP. Perhaps Alex Atwood would have to rely on Transfers from Socialist Voters in the next Assembly Election in order to keep his Seat.

Yes I remember watching that during the long election night programme. But were they transferring? Or did they make a mistake in voting?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 28, 2011, 11:44:45 PM
Quote from: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 11:37:51 PM

Is it?

;D ;D

Would Prods vote for SF?

Yes I remember watching that during the long election night programme. But were they transferring? Or did they make a mistake in voting?

Given the small numbers transferring I would have thought "mistake" was the more likely.
This happens in all constituencies, you can have as little as one person transferring from SF to DUP or DUP to SF it means feck all. On the other hand the large number of transfers received by the SDLP from unionist parties and vice versa in alot of constituencies tells a bigger story.

Is it?

;D ;D

My mistake - you are absolutely correct.

In my defence, I'm sure I read the opening post carefully; however the notion that RC's could be so insane/deluded/gullible that they would knowingly vote DUP is so far-fetched that I must have erased it from my mind.

(Though tbf, thousands of insane/deluded/gullible RC's vote SF, a move that achieves scarcely more for them than would voting DUP... :D)

A party composed of crazy bigotted fundamentalist christians? Never in million years, based solely on that.

Quote from: J70 on June 29, 2011, 02:14:42 PM
A party composed of crazy bigotted fundamentalist christians? Never in million years, based solely on that.

Same reason you wouldn't vote (US) Republican, I imagine.

Quote from: J70 on June 29, 2011, 02:14:42 PM

Now, now J70. 6014 years!  ;D

How old is the earth?
If we go back 500 years, we come to the time of Martin Luther (born in 1483), and Columbus, who "sailed the ocean blue in 1492."
If we go back 1000 years, we come to the time of Leif Ericson, Christian explorer, who preached Christ to pagans. (World Book, 1983, vol.6, page 270.)
If we go back 2000 years, we come to the birth of Jesus Christ. Our calendar is dated from His birth.
If we go back 3000 years, we come to the time of David and Solomon; they ruled Israel about 1000 BC.
If we go back 4000 years, we come to the time of Abraham (2000 BC), ancestor of Arabs and Jews.
If we go back 5000 years, we come to the time of Enoch, who "walked with God 300 years ... and God took him [into Heaven]."
If we go back 6000 years, we come to the time of Creation, and Adam and Eve (4004 BC). Luke, evangelist and historian, records Adam as the first man (Luke 3:38).
The earth is about 6000 years old. Let God's people rejoice in Him who made them! (Psalm 149:2)

Not a snowballs chance in hades that Iwould vote for those knackers.