Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T O Hare on April 22, 2010, 03:49:39 PM

Title: Colin "F*****G" Murray!!!
Post by: T O Hare on April 22, 2010, 03:49:39 PM
Murray has been announced as the new presenter of MOTD2 taking over from Adrain Chiles... I thought things were bad when he ruined the darts coverage on BBC but this is taking the biscuit!!! He is one annoying man!!!
Title: Re: Colin "F*****G" Murray!!!
Post by: thebigfella on April 22, 2010, 03:52:04 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on April 22, 2010, 03:49:39 PM
Murray has been announced as the new presenter of MOTD2 taking over from Adrain Chiles... I thought things were bad when he ruined the darts coverage on BBC but this is taking the biscuit!!! He is one annoying man!!!

Better than Chiles though..... and I quite like him on fighting talk and that other sports show he does for 5 live on a friday night.
Post by: the colonel on April 22, 2010, 03:56:44 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 22, 2010, 03:52:04 PM

Better than Chiles though..... and I quite like him on fighting talk and that other sports show he does for 5 live on a friday night.

No way bigfella. Chiles is good, Murray is an absolute idiot. His accent wrecks my head. His knowledge of football doesn't even seem that good either
Post by: mountainboii on April 22, 2010, 04:02:04 PM
I don't mind him. MOTD2 is more about having the craic with whatever clueless ex-pro is in for the night and stupid pieces on what club have the best pies in the league than actually analysing football, so I wouldn't worry too much about his football knowledge. Better choice than Gabby Logan or that boring f**ker Manish anyway.
Post by: Orior on April 22, 2010, 04:02:44 PM
Yea, but why exactly does he annoy you?

He annoys me because he knows feck all about the largest participation sport in Ireland - Gaelic football
Post by: Massey-135 on April 22, 2010, 04:09:11 PM
Natural enough replacement, will keep the same sort of '3 lads down the pub' atmosphere as Chiles. I like murray, would to have had his career, jammy bastard.

Why does him not knowing anything about the GAA annoy you? He's a protestant so why would he? Plus he's not presenting a GAA show, so who gives a shite if he knows his ballinderrys from his ballinascreens?
Post by: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 04:15:19 PM
Quote from: Massey-135 on April 22, 2010, 04:09:11 PM
Natural enough replacement, will keep the same sort of '3 lads down the pub' atmosphere as Chiles. I like murray, would to have had his career, jammy b**tard.

Why does him not knowing anything about the GAA annoy you? He's a protestant so why would he? Plus he's not presenting a GAA show, so who gives a shite if he knows his ballinderrys from his ballinascreens?

Well that's controversial...
Post by: gorm agus bui on April 22, 2010, 04:16:09 PM
Must agree. Irritating tit. Was a prat on R1 but his knowledge of football is scant.The Mid Atlantic accent drives me mad
Post by: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 04:25:20 PM
I thought he was going to host it

(http://www.ducomedy.com/images/events/colinmurphy.png)

until i discovered it was Murray & not Murphy  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 05:19:12 PM
Quote from: gorm agus bui on April 22, 2010, 04:16:09 PM
Must agree. Irritating tit. Was a prat on R1 but his knowledge of football is scant.The Mid Atlantic accent drives me mad
How the f**k is his accent "Mid Atlantic"? Are you sure you have the right person?

Don't mind the fella at all. Local lad done good.
Post by: Orior on April 22, 2010, 05:20:28 PM
Quote from: Massey-135 on April 22, 2010, 04:09:11 PM
Natural enough replacement, will keep the same sort of '3 lads down the pub' atmosphere as Chiles. I like murray, would to have had his career, jammy b**tard.

He's a typical little englander
Post by: tyrone girl on April 22, 2010, 05:20:49 PM

Bit like urself then  :o
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 22, 2010, 05:23:13 PM
The only annoying thing about him is that he is a Liverpool fan, enough of a reason to hate him I suppose...
Post by: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 05:24:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 05:19:12 PM
How the f**k is his accent "Mid Atlantic"? Are you sure you have the right person?

What the hell is a Mid Atlantic accent anyway?
Post by: screenexile on April 22, 2010, 05:25:12 PM
Does he need to know a lot about football? Keys doesn't know a pile and he seems to do alright.

I don't mind Murray and used to enjoy his Radio 1 show in the evenings when he had a lot of good stuff on. I've seen him a few times on Channel 5 and various Poker Events and I have to say he's alright and seems a likeable wnough chap who gets on with everybody.

He has done extremely well for himself as a journalist and making the transition from music over to sport hasn't seemed to phase him too much either. More power too him I say!!
Post by: muppet on April 22, 2010, 05:36:03 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 05:24:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 05:19:12 PM

What the hell is a Mid Atlantic accent anyway?

A cross between Michael D. Higgins and Flipper.
Post by: T O Hare on April 22, 2010, 06:03:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on April 22, 2010, 05:20:49 PM

Bit like urself then  :o

;D ;D very good TG.. you were waiting on that for a while!!!!!
Post by: Jimmy on April 22, 2010, 06:07:44 PM
I think he's alright and will do a good enough job. I liked his R1 evening show and have heard him talk about GAA a few times. He mentioned that he lived with a guy who use played for Monaghan when he lived in Belfast. He just comes across as a sports fan. He like football, rugby, NFL and baseball. I'd love to have had his jobs the jammy git.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on April 22, 2010, 06:08:06 PM
Why is Chiles axed does anyone know?

I like Chiles, I like Keown and I like Dixon.  I also like Lineaker, Shearer and Hansen.  The BBC have a great line up for their MOTD programmes.  I like MOTD & MOTD2.  They are good shows, I like them a lot.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 22, 2010, 06:10:20 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on April 22, 2010, 06:08:06 PM

I like Chiles, I like Keown and I like Dixon.  I also like Lineaker, Shearer and Hansen.  The BBC have a great line up for their MOTD programmes.  I like MOTD & MOTD2.  They are good shows, I like them a lot.

He wasnt axed, he left to join ITV and is fronting GMTV and their World Cup coverage! Dont think he was too happy with Chris Evans doing Friday nights One Show either apparantly!
Post by: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 06:12:43 PM

& Yep way better than SKY, RTE,ITV & sentana Coverage! i know which one i'll be switching over too when the world cup is on
Post by: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 06:15:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 06:12:43 PM

& Yep way better than SKY, RTE,ITV & sentana Coverage! i know which one i'll be switching over too when the world cup is on

Oh no they are terrible... what is the point in having 3 men on a panel and the 3 of them rushing to agree with each other everytime!!
Post by: thebigfella on April 22, 2010, 06:20:09 PM

Did you even watch BBC's last world coverage? The pundits they had were shite, Leonardo need I say more and that lazy fat Marcel Desailly  ;)

SKY coverage simple for chris kamara.........
Post by: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 06:23:50 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 06:15:35 PM

Oh no they are terrible... what is the point in having 3 men on a panel and the 3 of them rushing to agree with each other everytime!!

So you rather have Dunphy calling a team either crap or the best ever! never having a in between okey dokey let's switch over to ITV or Sentana zzzzzzzz or let's try Sky 0-0 phew "what a game Andy how did they not score" 
Post by: Main Street on April 22, 2010, 06:24:56 PM
I say chaps, I am sure the British Broadcasting Company will be grateful for all your concern.

Post by: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 06:26:58 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 22, 2010, 06:20:09 PM

Did you even watch BBC's last world coverage? The pundits they had were shite, Leonardo need I say more and that lazy fat Marcel Desailly  ;)

Nope didn't see much of the last world cup was on my Travel's but they have a good looking team this year

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2010/8637613.stm Seedorf is always interesting when he speaks
Post by: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 06:29:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 06:23:50 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 06:15:35 PM

So you rather have Dunphy calling a team either crap or the best ever! never having a in between okey dokey let's switch over to ITV or Sentana zzzzzzzz or let's try Sky 0-0 phew "what a game Andy how did they not score"

Yea I would actually.  Dunphy has gone OTT on numerous times but as least it usually leads to a debate or differing views on the subject.

If I heard Alan Shearer disagree with Lineker or even say that he was asking him a silly question - I'd keel over with the shock
Post by: mountainboii on April 22, 2010, 06:36:21 PM
Any chance the BBC could get Martin O'Neill back for the World Cup?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEcPlgi2s-w
Post by: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 06:36:55 PM
agree about shearer he's Crap, Dunphy "Bayern, Arsenal, Real, Porto, haven't a hope. Chelsea good but won't win it, will struggle. AC Milan are not a top class side, Barcelona lack a bit of steel. If United beat Milan they'll win it"
"I think Chelsea have a great chance"
"I agree with John, I think Chelsea will beat Barcelona and reach the final."  ::)

one more ...."It was like two drunks in a back alley throwing punches at each other."
        - Eamon Dunphy, after a thrilling 4-4 draw between Liverpool and Chelsea

hes worth watching for those type of Comments  :D
Post by: Geoff Tipps on April 22, 2010, 06:51:12 PM
BBC's coverage is sh*te. That smarmy little git Lineker puns his way through the analysis ably assisted by the court jester Lawrenson (he has to be a bender). It was ok for Richard Whiteley on countdown but not for World Cup coverage. Hansen looks so bored anymore I don't even know why he bothers. Garth Crooks, where do you start with him? His sentences are so long by the time he's finished making his point no one can remember what it was.
Their foreign pundits can barely speak English. This year its Adebayor. I'm sure I'm not the only one who struggles to understand what he's saying.
At least they've got rid of Tony Adams. Jesus, what planet was he on??

RTE all the way for me. Best thing about them, they call it as it as and there's no pandering to
any of the English stars.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 22, 2010, 07:28:31 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on April 22, 2010, 06:51:12 PM
BBC's coverage is sh*te. That smarmy little git Lineker puns his way through the analysis ably assisted by the court jester Lawrenson (he has to be a bender). It was ok for Richard Whiteley on countdown but not for World Cup coverage. Hansen looks so bored anymore I don't even know why he bothers. Garth Crooks, where do you start with him? His sentences are so long by the time he's finished making his point no one can remember what it was.
Their foreign pundits can barely speak English. This year its Adebayor. I'm sure I'm not the only one who struggles to understand what he's saying.

RTE all the way for me. Best thing about them, they call it as it as and there's no pandering to

Big point for me too
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 22, 2010, 08:45:11 PM
Said Colin Murray on BBC Radio 5Live 8th February 2010:

"Robbie Keane finally broke his duck for Celtic against Dunfermline."

Yes, Robbie 'finally' scored after one game and 23 minutes of playing time at his new club. Quite the drought.

Oh and he gassed Zoe Salmon on "The Fame Academy".
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 08:52:19 PM
The Beeb will have Crooks and the other black reporters front and centre for this World Cup. I can already picture him reporting from a dusty township with loads of locals dancing around him.
Post by: Minder on April 22, 2010, 08:54:07 PM
Klinsmann and Seedorf confirmed as BBC analysts, so the word "also" should be very prevalent.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 09:07:26 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 22, 2010, 08:54:07 PM
Klinsmann and Seedorf confirmed as BBC analysts, so the word "also" should be very prevalent.
As is Gordon Strachan. Might mix it up a wee bit the way O'Neill used to.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2010, 09:40:43 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 22, 2010, 04:02:44 PM

He annoys me because he knows feck all about the largest participation sport in Ireland - Gaelic football

or the second -hurling ;)

he is good on radio, but is annoying
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2010, 09:44:07 PM
would like to see a panel with Roy Keane and Mick McCarthy!! would be class
Post by: Minder on April 22, 2010, 09:47:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2010, 09:44:07 PM
would like to see a panel with Roy Keane and Mick McCarthy!! would be class

Roy would probably get up and leave at half time.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 22, 2010, 09:48:12 PM

Wheter one likes it or not, the largest participation sport in Ireland is Association football.
Post by: ziggysego on April 22, 2010, 11:51:59 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 22, 2010, 06:20:09 PM

The thing about Kamara is, he'll probably miss half the action.
Post by: gorm agus bui on April 23, 2010, 12:58:39 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 22, 2010, 09:48:12 PM

Wheter one likes it or not, the largest participation sport in Ireland is Association football.
Its actually fishing ;)
Post by: ross4life on April 23, 2010, 01:34:06 AM
RTE World cup coverage  :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaGcW4aU9bw&feature=player_embedded#!
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 23, 2010, 07:58:57 AM
Quote from: gorm agus bui on April 23, 2010, 12:58:39 AM

Its actually fishing ;)

It's actually not fishing.

Unless you are counting the fish themselves.
Post by: J OGorman on April 23, 2010, 10:58:56 AM
Quote from: ross4life on April 23, 2010, 01:34:06 AM
RTE World cup coverage  :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaGcW4aU9bw&feature=player_embedded#!

that is first class
Post by: Hardy on April 23, 2010, 12:05:08 PM
Quote from: gorm agus bui on April 23, 2010, 12:58:39 AM
Its actually fishing ;)

Finally an explanation for why soccer is so boring.
Post by: bingobus on April 23, 2010, 12:14:13 PM

Do you not think that they have got boring now and just put the boot in now for the sake of it and to be heard. Plus the three of them ride each and never disagree and then its snowballs into who can slate someone the most. I know a few mates who would have loved them, now can't have them.

Best pundit is Souness by a mile imho. He's straight down the middle but constructive and weighs everything up. By a country mile a shite manager though!
Post by: mountainboii on April 23, 2010, 01:05:56 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 23, 2010, 12:14:13 PM

Do you not think that they have got boring now and just put the boot in now for the sake of it and to be heard. Plus the three of them ride each and never disagree and then its snowballs into who can slate someone the most. I know a few mates who would have loved them, now can't have them.

Best pundit is Souness by a mile imho. He's straight down the middle but constructive and weighs everything up. By a country mile a shite manager though!

The BBC and Sky lads aren't critical enough, and the RTE ones are too critical. Their analyses are both shite, just at opposite ends of the spectrum.
Post by: sammymaguire on April 24, 2010, 02:46:20 PM
a bigot by all accounts
Post by: The Worker on April 24, 2010, 03:05:35 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 24, 2010, 02:46:20 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?
Post by: Main Street on April 24, 2010, 03:12:16 PM

Yes, one could  come to that conclusion about soccer when participation is defined by including 5-a-side and general kickabouts.
That is a lazy definition which undermines lazy research. A research which compared the numbers involved in GAA Club structured participation versus formal and informal participation in soccer.

Post by: sammymaguire on April 24, 2010, 03:14:16 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 24, 2010, 03:05:35 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

Colin Murray is "allegedly" a staunch loyalist
Post by: The Worker on April 24, 2010, 03:17:25 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on April 24, 2010, 03:14:16 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

leaving his alleged loyalist views to one side, i have no time for him whatsoever. How many sports does he have to ruin before he is out of the public view?
Post by: sammymaguire on April 24, 2010, 03:23:32 PM
Quote from: The Worker on April 24, 2010, 03:17:25 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

leaving his alleged loyalist views to one side, i have no time for him whatsoever. How many sports does he have to ruin before he is out of the public view?

he must be on to his fifteenth now, everything from soccer to American football to poker
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 26, 2010, 03:23:45 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 25, 2010, 11:40:58 PM
Lineker takes the money from Walkers, Hansen & Shearer are on the payroll of Morrisons. 

Colin Murray is the face of Lidl!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwx0BmWNl_M (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwx0BmWNl_M)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lb6oRLnYiB8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lb6oRLnYiB8)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SFgpOCIuOg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SFgpOCIuOg)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuJ9--PtDfw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuJ9--PtDfw)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycds2gPMuqY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycds2gPMuqY)

A complete fanny. A fanny with a wide range of cardigans right enough.
Post by: KT on June 26, 2010, 03:40:16 AM
I watched Murray on Channel 5 one night after Liverpool had played in the Europa League.  Torres must have been injured and Ngog was on and playing reasonably well.  Murray commented that he'd rather watch Dav-EEd N-gough than David Ngoggg! I thought that was quite amusing but obviously much better in audio than written on a discussion board.  He's an absolute twat in those LIDL ads though!!

For me Emmanuel Adebayor is the worst thing about BBC world cup coverage.  Really hard to listen to.  The best thing about it is yer man on Mock the Week taking the piss out of him and the rest of them trying to pretend to understand his shit accent so they don't look racist!!

Mick Mc Carthy runs Adebayor close though, I'd rather listen to Graeme Mc Dowell for ninety minutes!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 26, 2010, 08:23:51 AM
For me Emmanuel Adebayor is the worst thing about BBC world cup coverage.  Really hard to listen to.  The best thing about it is yer man on Mock the Week taking the piss out of him and the rest of them trying to pretend to understand his shit accent so they don't look racist!!
It's not his accent it's the speed he talks at. It's a pity because the bits I do catch he does seem to be talking sense.

ITV coverage is desperate.
Post by: The Forfeit Point on June 26, 2010, 09:42:38 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

funny you say that i remember him saying during some of the world cup coverage something to the effect of him loving to see the french knocked out, him being an irishman and all???
Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 26, 2010, 09:44:51 PM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on June 26, 2010, 09:42:38 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

funny you say that i remember him saying during some of the world cup coverage something to the effect of him loving to see the french knocked out, him being an irishman and all???

Yeah I thought i heard him say that too.
Post by: Minder on June 26, 2010, 10:08:02 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 26, 2010, 09:44:51 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

funny you say that i remember him saying during some of the world cup coverage something to the effect of him loving to see the french knocked out, him being an irishman and
all???

In fairness what he says on tv won't be the same as what his personal beliefs are, he was hardly gonna start singing the Billy Boys on tv.
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2010, 10:13:38 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

How the fcuk would anyone on here know that he's a 'staunch' loyalist??!! Ridiculous statement!!

I didn't mind him on Radio 1 when he first started but hooring himself around baseball, nfl, poker, soccer and lidl has turned me off him this last while I must say.

Even if he is a'staunch' loyalist I fail to see what that has to do with the price of cabbage!
Post by: The Forfeit Point on June 26, 2010, 10:53:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 26, 2010, 10:08:02 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 26, 2010, 09:44:51 PM
a bigot by all accounts

who and why?

funny you say that i remember him saying during some of the world cup coverage something to the effect of him loving to see the french knocked out, him being an irishman and
all???

In fairness what he says on tv won't be the same as what his personal beliefs are, he was hardly gonna start singing the Billy Boys on tv.

but there was absolutely no need for him to comment on the game, yet he did. strange
Post by: redhandluke on June 27, 2010, 01:21:36 AM
Have to say at the start his accent give me the shivvers (in a bad way), but if you can get past his accent, he's actually quite a funny guy.  Prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt for the time-being.
Post by: EagleLord on June 27, 2010, 12:07:41 PM
I thought he was going to be annoyig after seeing him do all the channel 5 games when Liverpool were i nthe Europa League. But I have had a change of heart. I think the mans hilarious. The wee bit he did the other night, spun round in the chair, 'Lee Dixon owes me a fiver' lol! I think hes fun, querky, and a good laugh. Hes a million miles better than ITV's Matt 'I take a day to say a sentance' Smith. Adrian Chiles is great too though, he's querky and fun in the same way as Murray, so I don't want to compare them.
Post by: fitzroyalty on June 27, 2010, 12:15:13 PM
I'm sure if he kicked with the same foot as most of us this thread wouldn't exist.

As soccer pundits go, he's not bad at all.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 27, 2010, 01:36:27 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on June 27, 2010, 12:07:41 PM
I thought he was going to be annoyig after seeing him do all the channel 5 games when Liverpool were i nthe Europa League. But I have had a change of heart. I think the mans hilarious. The wee bit he did the other night, spun round in the chair, 'Lee Dixon owes me a fiver' lol! I think hes fun, querky, and a good laugh. Hes a million miles better than ITV's Matt 'I take a day to say a sentance' Smith. Adrian Chiles is great too though, he's querky and fun in the same way as Murray, so I don't want to compare them.
He's a dose!
Post by: nrico2006 on June 28, 2010, 09:10:35 AM
It says it all when there are people on here saying Adrian Chiles is great, sweet jesus. 
Post by: paco on June 28, 2010, 12:06:34 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 28, 2010, 09:10:35 AM
It says it all when there are people on here saying Adrian Chiles is great, sweet jesus.

I used to like him. As someone said he's more suited to the "pub-style" atmosphere of MOTD2 than a proper live game of football, where he can be quite cringewrorthy.
Post by: snoopdog on June 28, 2010, 04:51:38 PM
Best of Luck to Colin. he has done well and his radio programme on a saturday is brilliant. so good luck on MOTD2.
This thread is a disgrace.
bunch of biggoted p.ricks. Is the lad not allowed to have a different tradition.
Catch yourselves on.
Post by: Santino on June 28, 2010, 05:24:41 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 28, 2010, 04:51:38 PM
Best of Luck to Colin. he has done well and his radio programme on a saturday is brilliant. so good luck on MOTD2.
bunch of biggoted p.ricks. Is the lad not allowed to have a different tradition.
Catch yourselves on.

Spot on!
He was a big loss to afternoons on Radio 1 too and i now have to endure Cool FM.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 28, 2010, 05:55:17 PM
Catch yourselves on.

you tithead... he doesn't know you but he hates you  ::)
Post by: nifan on June 29, 2010, 01:24:55 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 28, 2010, 05:55:17 PM
Catch yourselves on.

Anything to back that up?
Its a fairly harsh comment on someone who ive never seen as coming out with anything sectarian in his career, and when ive met him through a mutual friend on occasion has been far from a "staunch"
Post by: Myles Na G. on June 29, 2010, 06:42:35 AM
Quote from: nifan on June 29, 2010, 01:24:55 AM
Catch yourselves on.

Its a fairly harsh comment on someone who ive never seen as coming out with anything sectarian in his career, and when ive met him through a mutual friend on occasion has been far from a "staunch"
Yeah, but he doesn't play GAA or support the Ra, so he must be an Orange cnut.
Post by: Franko on June 29, 2010, 09:45:13 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on June 29, 2010, 06:42:35 AM
Quote from: nifan on June 29, 2010, 01:24:55 AM
Catch yourselves on.

Yeah, but he doesn't play GAA or support the Ra, so he must be an Orange cnut.

Get the violins out. Cryin' cnut.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 29, 2010, 10:05:49 AM
(http://alllayedout.com/Images/Funny_Posters/graphics/whatever.jpg)
Post by: nifan on June 29, 2010, 10:09:25 AM
Why post several times about the fact that hes staunch etc then feign indifference when questioned about it?
Post by: EagleLord on June 29, 2010, 10:11:45 AM
Exactly! Showed yourself up there!
Post by: haranguerer on June 29, 2010, 11:11:20 AM
Even if he is staunch, which is his own perogative, I've never picked up that impression of him from listening to him - referrals to being Irish and Henrys handball, calls derry derry any time I've ever heard him etc, so hes certainly not forcing it down anyones throat.

I like him - he can be a bit annoying but generally good to listen to. Was certainly the best thing about Murray and Bowmans show on r1 a few years back!!
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 29, 2010, 11:23:55 AM
The highlights show are a bit of craic, the serious analysis (if you could call it that seems to be reserved for the live games), I have enjoyed their highlights show.  Adding John Motson was a good idea IMO also.
Post by: EagleLord on June 29, 2010, 11:33:59 AM
Definatley. The serious stuff seems to be on the live games with shearer, seedorf or whoever it is (most likely because shearer couldnt be good craic if he tried) but the highlights show is light-hearted, the wee montage they done last night, Hansens howlers or whatever it was called, thats what i want to see on the show. Show the football and all, but have the craic too, bit of fun, pick out a couple of funny moments in the game or commentary or something. In which case Colin F*****G Murray, as T O'Hare calls him, fits the bill perfectly. I look forward to the show, and a big reason for that is Murray.
Post by: charlie linkbox on June 29, 2010, 12:06:31 PM
Lads, cut out the shite will yis.......

I was at the BBC darts world championships a few months ago there with a few others. On one of the nights we brought a tri-colour along and one of the lads had an Ireland jersey on so there was no questioning our cultural persuasion (I won't say political because I'm not political). Before the darts went live on TV Colin Murray came out to do a bit of an intro on stage for the telly. On his way back he walked along our table and stopped for a chat and a few photographs. He spent a few minutes in our company despite having to return backstage to prepare for the live programme, and I have to say he was nothing other than friendly, good craic, hospitable and a gentleman. I wouldn't have a bad word to say about him after that encounter.

My point being; if all you have to offer this thread is unsubstantiated, ill-informed bias on account of his tradition your opinion isn't worth a f**k.
Post by: theskull1 on June 29, 2010, 12:44:56 PM
I like Murray

If this was a Stephen "F*****G" Watson thread however ........
Post by: snoopdog on June 29, 2010, 12:46:28 PM
Catch yourselves on.

Once the biggots are cornered they come out with insults.
He used to work with a mate of mine in Belfast and he speaks very highly of him. your as bad as Gregory Campbell. go back to the hole you crawled out of.

Post by: sammymaguire on June 29, 2010, 02:13:56 PM
he can be as staunch as he likes, I was putting it out there as its well known lads, but I really dont give a monkeys about him  ;) its not that important in the big scheme of things, I am more interested in making money  ;D and not giving it to David Prentice Cars Ltd the shower of robbing ba$t@rd$ (which I didn't and fully intend to reclaim loses through them)
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 29, 2010, 07:24:48 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 29, 2010, 02:13:56 PM
he can be as staunch as he likes, I was putting it out there as its well known lads, but I really dont give a monkeys about him  ;) its not that important in the big scheme of things, I am more interested in making money  ;D and not giving it to David Prentice Cars Ltd the shower of robbing ba$t@rd$ (which I didn't and fully intend to reclaim loses through them)

So Murrary is a loyalist and Christine Bleakley has a "wee bit of an opinion of herself whilst out and about in belfast a few years back". 

You do talk some shite. 
Post by: sammymaguire on June 29, 2010, 10:02:39 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 29, 2010, 07:24:48 PM

So Murrary is a loyalist and Christine Bleakley has a "wee bit of an opinion of herself whilst out and about in belfast a few years back". 

You do talk some shite.

listen to yer man... the biggest shit talker on the net  :D  :D love it pints, you have me all sussed. we all love you keyboard warriors  ;)
Post by: Santino on June 29, 2010, 10:43:31 PM
Am 100 % with Pints on this one.
Typical begrudgery!
Post by: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 09:20:02 AM
Quote from: Santino on June 29, 2010, 10:43:31 PM
Typical begrudgery!

good on ya fella, begrudgery - stating that a certain tv celeb had a "wee opinion of herself" thats harsh eh, shoot me down.

As for Mr Murray... its a well known reputation and been well repeated in the County Down area. I DON'T CARE about him or what he does, what he thinks, what he says as long as it doesn't affect me, which I can't ever see happening unless I get into the world of media in which he is doing very well for himself... but on the verge of the marching season and all the paraphernalia being hoisted and flown around the towns/villages of the north, I don't particularly warm to people of this strong political persuasion.
Post by: the colonel on June 30, 2010, 09:39:51 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 09:20:02 AM
Quote from: Santino on June 29, 2010, 10:43:31 PM
Typical begrudgery!

good on ya fella, begrudgery - stating that a certain tv celeb had a "wee opinion of herself" thats harsh eh, shoot me down.

As for Mr Murray... its a well known reputation and been well repeated in the County Down area. I DON'T CARE about him or what he does, what he thinks, what he says as long as it doesn't affect me, which I can't ever see happening unless I get into the world of media in which he is doing very well for himself... but on the verge of the marching season and all the paraphernalia being hoisted and flown around the towns/villages of the north, I don't particularly warm to people of this strong political persuasion.

Why post like a madman on a thread then if you don't care about him?
Post by: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 11:18:33 AM
A madman?  :o  :o  :o mmmmm

I was posting something which is well known on the grapevine.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 30, 2010, 11:44:08 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 11:18:33 AM

You've mad a fool of yourself. Delete the thread and move along :)
Post by: charlieTully on June 30, 2010, 04:22:45 PM

i like your style sammy.keep at the bastids.
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2010, 04:26:31 PM

You do talk some shite.

:D He sure does
Post by: Main Street on June 30, 2010, 06:58:06 PM
For the viewers sake, I just hope he doesn't have to say '8' anytime.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 08:27:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 30, 2010, 04:26:31 PM

You do talk some shite.

another Tyrone man with nothing interesting to say...  ::) c'mon zig  8)
Post by: nifan on June 30, 2010, 09:18:10 PM

Well known? According to who.
Noone else here seems to have heard it.

You sure it wasnt just cos hes from Ballybean and supports Linfield and NI? Maybe the bigots are somewhere else in this story.
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2010, 11:43:28 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 30, 2010, 08:27:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 30, 2010, 04:26:31 PM

You do talk some shite.

another Tyrone man with nothing interesting to say...  ::) c'mon zig  8)

More Monopoly money is printed in a year, than real money printed throughout the world!
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 15, 2010, 04:09:32 PM
Watchin a bit if afternoon tv and this comes up..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH7VFJjDhVU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH7VFJjDhVU)

Tried for ages one day to find the "fighting talk" theme tune but never could find it..