Barriers to keep the dubs in.

Started by Mid Mon, August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM

Heard McKenna on Newstalk this morning and wasn't convinced by his arguments - He actually said that the main reason for the barriers was to limit the number of people that would subsequently exit through the Hogan onto Jones Road from the pitch and that as part of their exit strategy that this could cause a problem. All the arguments here re fences etc are correct. This seems like a plan that wasn't thought through properly

DoireGael

Would it be that tough to organise moving people onto the pitch in an ordered fashion, there must be enough stewards?? The HQ has to admit defeat here and structure this before someone is actually hurt by caging people in, i suppose the ticket prices will be going up to pay for it.

I personnally have a sneaking suspiciton its down to preventing damage to the pitch and more about €€€€€€'s.

On another note was actually doing the stadium tour the other week, and an ole boy walked in on to the pitch (He said he had played back in the 60's for Clare), not even on over the sideline, some english guy starts screaming 'GET OFF THE PITCH,GET OFF THE PITCH'  Ole boys reply 'theres gonna be 50000 on her in Septemeber. Whole show was laughing there heads off!  :D :D

Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:00:54 AM
Talking to a lot of supporters, their view is that the erection of the fences is an absolute disaster waiting to happen as soon as Down, Kildare, Dublin or Cork win this year's football All Ireland or if Waterford / Tipp win the hurling.

It seems that Peter Mc Kenna reckons he'll be able to "deal" with the supporters in the other parts of the stadium apart from the Hill by bringing in a few more bouncers.

AZ had put forward a good suggestion. I'd back that one.
Doubt the Kilkenny fans will stay off if they do the 5 in a row either!!

Quote from: Declan on August 09, 2010, 11:03:28 AM
Heard McKenna on Newstalk this morning and wasn't convinced by his arguments - He actually said that the main reason for the barriers was to limit the number of people that would subsequently exit through the Hogan onto Jones Road from the pitch and that as part of their exit strategy that this could cause a problem. All the arguments here re fences etc are correct. This seems like a plan that wasn't thought through properly

Yeah - forgot to mention that. Another major point of his supporting case was the need for ambulances to have access to the pitch, which would be compromised by people on the pitch. Sounded a bit bogus to me. I think any crowd would get fairly quickly out of the way of an ambulance with a siren. (Even a Louth crowd  ;D)

Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 11:00:24 AM
A genuine question AZ, do you have any lateral thoughts on the issue yourself.
Personally I think supporters have no place on the pitch for all sorts of reasons and just because it is tradition doesnt mean its good. I dont think additional stewards or Gardai will stop a mass invasion any more than fences will.
Whats to be done ?

I made a suggestion before fear, the cheek of you not to read all my posts and remember them :D

Basically the major issue I have with ptich invasions is the potential hassle, and trouble, that can be caused to players (winners and losers) and officials. However I do understand the desire of people to be out on the hallowed ground in triumph, and to look up at their captain accepting the cup in the Hogan Stand, a mass of colour and flags down below.

So... What I would suggest is the following. Rather than the Orwellian 'Pitch Invasions Bad, Fences and Barriers Good' I would do the following if I were the GAA.

Publish a piece in the newspapers and TV on the day up to the game, and in the program on the gameday itself, backed up with the following announcement before the start of the national anthem for the senior game.

'A Chairde Gael. The GAA values and respects the wishes of supporters to enjoy celebrations on the pitch after the match, however it is the GAA's primary concern that players, officials and spectator safety is paramount.

Therefore there will be a 5 minute delay after the end of the game, to allow players and officials to leave the pitch. After this all gates will be opened to allow an orderly exodus onto the field for those who wish to take advantage.

Please obey all announcements and stewards in this regard.

Please note, any person who ignores this policy, and invades the pitch before the alloted time, will be escorted from the stadium, disqualified from purchasing GAA tickets, and fine €500. '

That'd be my lateral thinking on it.

Quote from: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 11:03:47 AM
Would it be that tough to organise moving people from onto the pitch in an ordered fashion, there must be enough stewards??

I personnally have a sneaking suspiciton its down to preventing damage to the pitch and more about €€€€€€'s.

On another note was actually doing the stadium tour the other week, and an ole boy walked in on to the pitch (He said he had played back in the 60's for Clare), not even on over the sideline, some english guy starts screaming 'GET OFF THE PITCH,GET OFF THE PITCH'   Ole boys reply 'theres gonna be 50000 on her in Septemeber. Whole show was laughing there heads off!  :D :D

I know of a certain county manager who was told by this same english guy when they came up to have a run out on it in the run up to an AI semi final, that it was HIS PITCH and that he could only get 10 minutes on it with his team and when they overstayed their welcome, the english boyo turned on the sprinklers on one side of the pitch and sent the grass cutters out on the other side.

Would that English guy be the caretaker of the pitch? I think I read somewhere that they had hired some lad who was used to that grass etc from the Premiership.

If so, then it's not unusual that he'd be protective of it in fairness, and it's a good thing he sees it as 'his' pitch. That's professional pride.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:14:17 AM
Would that English guy be the caretaker of the pitch? I think I read somewhere that they had hired some lad who was used to that grass etc from the Premiership.

If so, then it's not unusual that he'd be protective of it in fairness, and it's a good thing he sees it as 'his' pitch. That's professional pride.

The head groundsman is English, I seem to remember.

Edit - googled him - previously head groundsman at Huddersfield soccer ground.

DoireGael

Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:10:53 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on August 09, 2010, 11:03:47 AM
Would it be that tough to organise moving people from onto the pitch in an ordered fashion, there must be enough stewards??

On another note was actually doing the stadium tour the other week, and an ole boy walked in on to the pitch (He said he had played back in the 60's for Clare), not even on over the sideline, some english guy starts screaming 'GET OFF THE PITCH,GET OFF THE PITCH'   Ole boys reply 'theres gonna be 50000 on her in Septemeber. Whole show was laughing there heads off!  :D :D

I know of a certain county manager who was told by this same english guy when they came up to have a run out on it in the run up to an AI semi final, that it was HIS PITCH and that he could only get 10 minutes on it with his team and when they overstayed their welcome, the english boyo turned on the sprinklers on one side of the pitch and sent the grass cutters out on the other side.

Saw the Clare minor hurlers there as well, same story but they were only allowed to walk around the perimeter of the pitch, one of the young lads made a dash across the pitch for he craic, English guy, to the manager,  "thats it round it up". The whole show was sent packing

I've no problem with him taking pride in the pitch - that's only natural and to be expected. But to say it was "his" pitch and to turn on the sprinklers after having spent 10 minutes on it and having travelled over 100 miles for the privilege was disrespectful. He was told as much.

Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2010, 11:01:11 AM
With my life-long phobia about heights it used to spoil my enjoyment of the match looking at them.

I can empathise with this. I can't look at people sitting on top of the prom in Tramore without recoiling in horror.

Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:22:34 AM

I've no problem with him taking pride in the pitch - that's only natural and to be expected. But to say it was "his" pitch and to turn on the sprinklers after having spent 10 minutes on it and having travelled over 100 miles for the privilege was disrespectful. He was told as much.

Sounds like the treatment the Dubs get up in Healy park for league games - your minors probably got hot water in the showers though!

fearglasmor

Is it just me or have the GPA gone awfully quiet since they were embraced into the fold of the GAA hierarchy.
Are pitch invasions not an issue affecting player welfare. Were the numerous incidents around the Leinster football final not related to player treatment and player welfare.
Are Dessie and the boys too busy counting the coppers.

Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 01:35:34 PM
Is it just me or have the GPA gone awfully quiet since they were embraced into the fold of the GAA hierarchy.
Are pitch invasions not an issue affecting player welfare. Were the numerous incidents around the Leinster football final not related to player treatment and player welfare.
Are Dessie and the boys too busy counting the coppers.

I dunno what the reasons for it, but I think you are right. If the GPA were outside the tent, they'd be doing some pissing inwards about this issue.

I suppose they will say their input is part of the process for these GAA policies. I know there was some half hearted ad with a few players about pitch invasions recently on the Jumbo screen.