Barriers to keep the dubs in.

Started by Mid Mon, August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM

Quote from: heffo on August 09, 2010, 12:40:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 09, 2010, 11:22:34 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:14:17 AM
Would that English guy be the caretaker of the pitch? I think I read somewhere that they had hired some lad who was used to that grass etc from the Premiership.

If so, then it's not unusual that he'd be protective of it in fairness, and it's a good thing he sees it as 'his' pitch. That's professional pride.

I've no problem with him taking pride in the pitch - that's only natural and to be expected. But to say it was "his" pitch and to turn on the sprinklers after having spent 10 minutes on it and having travelled over 100 miles for the privilege was disrespectful. He was told as much.

Sounds like the treatment the Dubs get up in Healy park for league games - your minors probably got hot water in the showers though!

Didn't youse ?  :D

That's terrible. Tut tut !

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:08:49 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 11:00:24 AM
A genuine question AZ, do you have any lateral thoughts on the issue yourself.
Personally I think supporters have no place on the pitch for all sorts of reasons and just because it is tradition doesnt mean its good. I dont think additional stewards or Gardai will stop a mass invasion any more than fences will.
Whats to be done ?

I made a suggestion before fear, the cheek of you not to read all my posts and remember them :D

Basically the major issue I have with ptich invasions is the potential hassle, and trouble, that can be caused to players (winners and losers) and officials. However I do understand the desire of people to be out on the hallowed ground in triumph, and to look up at their captain accepting the cup in the Hogan Stand, a mass of colour and flags down below.

So... What I would suggest is the following. Rather than the Orwellian 'Pitch Invasions Bad, Fences and Barriers Good' I would do the following if I were the GAA.

Publish a piece in the newspapers and TV on the day up to the game, and in the program on the gameday itself, backed up with the following announcement before the start of the national anthem for the senior game.

'A Chairde Gael. The GAA values and respects the wishes of supporters to enjoy celebrations on the pitch after the match, however it is the GAA's primary concern that players, officials and spectator safety is paramount.

Therefore there will be a 5 minute delay after the end of the game, to allow players and officials to leave the pitch. After this all gates will be opened to allow an orderly exodus onto the field for those who wish to take advantage.

Please obey all announcements and stewards in this regard.

Please note, any person who ignores this policy, and invades the pitch before the alloted time, will be escorted from the stadium, disqualified from purchasing GAA tickets, and fine €500. '

That'd be my lateral thinking on it.

For this to work they must in fact remove the fence fromHill 16 or a crush will build in the intervening 5 minutes, there should be a 2.5 metre space between the pitch edge and the front supporters, there should be a double line of Gardai and Sweards. The Hill shoul be the first stand allowed to funnel on to the pitch, with the stands following 1 minute later.

As AZ said anyone breaking through onto the pitch should be restrcited by a third loose line of Gardai behind. If a Mass push breaks the line, there should be announcement that the Cup will be awarded to the winning team in the dressing rooms. This weill mean less revenue for the GAA due to reduced Hill 16 Capactiy and an extra cost of Gardai, but preserving a tradition and far more importantly ensuring safety is makes it worthwhile.

fearglasmor

How many Gardai standing shoulder to shouder would it take to circle Croke Park three times.

The lads around Sheriff Street will be in their element knowing half the gardai in the country are on duty in or around Croke park.

Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:21:33 PM
How many Gardai standing shoulder to shouder would it take to circle Croke Park three times.

The lads around Sheriff Street will be in their element knowing half the gardai in the country are on duty in or around Croke park.

Sure they'll be on the hill anyway :D

But if you are going to keep them off the pitch, no matter what, you might need 5 lines of Gardai, with Riot Gear if Waterford win the hurling or anyone apart from Cork win the football.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 01:37:44 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 01:35:34 PM
Is it just me or have the GPA gone awfully quiet since they were embraced into the fold of the GAA hierarchy.
Are pitch invasions not an issue affecting player welfare. Were the numerous incidents around the Leinster football final not related to player treatment and player welfare.
Are Dessie and the boys too busy counting the coppers.

I dunno what the reasons for it, but I think you are right. If the GPA were outside the tent, they'd be doing some pissing inwards about this issue.

I suppose they will say their input is part of the process for these GAA policies. I know there was some half hearted ad with a few players about pitch invasions recently on the Jumbo screen.
The GPA are on record as being against pitch invasions. Do people expect them to repeat this ad nauseum?

http://www.gaelicplayers.com/press/560-gpa-appeal-to-supporters

Quote from: Hound on August 09, 2010, 02:28:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 01:37:44 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 01:35:34 PM
Is it just me or have the GPA gone awfully quiet since they were embraced into the fold of the GAA hierarchy.
Are pitch invasions not an issue affecting player welfare. Were the numerous incidents around the Leinster football final not related to player treatment and player welfare.
Are Dessie and the boys too busy counting the coppers.

I dunno what the reasons for it, but I think you are right. If the GPA were outside the tent, they'd be doing some pissing inwards about this issue.

I suppose they will say their input is part of the process for these GAA policies. I know there was some half hearted ad with a few players about pitch invasions recently on the Jumbo screen.
The GPA are on record as being against pitch invasions. Do people expect them to repeat this ad nauseum?

http://www.gaelicplayers.com/press/560-gpa-appeal-to-supporters

In a word Hound, yes. It's a newsworthy topic, so they should be vocal about it, whatever their stance.

In fairness though, as I said, they would probably say that the GAA is reflecting their view now, so there's no need for a separate statement.

mrgaa1

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 11:08:49 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 11:00:24 AM
A genuine question AZ, do you have any lateral thoughts on the issue yourself.
Personally I think supporters have no place on the pitch for all sorts of reasons and just because it is tradition doesnt mean its good. I dont think additional stewards or Gardai will stop a mass invasion any more than fences will.
Whats to be done ?

I made a suggestion before fear, the cheek of you not to read all my posts and remember them :D

Basically the major issue I have with pitch invasions is the potential hassle, and trouble, that can be caused to players (winners and losers) and officials. However I do understand the desire of people to be out on the hallowed ground in triumph, and to look up at their captain accepting the cup in the Hogan Stand, a mass of colour and flags down below.

So... What I would suggest is the following. Rather than the Orwellian 'Pitch Invasions Bad, Fences and Barriers Good' I would do the following if I were the GAA.

Publish a piece in the newspapers and TV on the day up to the game, and in the program on the gameday itself, backed up with the following announcement before the start of the national anthem for the senior game.

'A Chairde Gael. The GAA values and respects the wishes of supporters to enjoy celebrations on the pitch after the match, however it is the GAA's primary concern that players, officials and spectator safety is paramount.

Therefore there will be a 5 minute delay after the end of the game, to allow players and officials to leave the pitch. After this all gates will be opened to allow an orderly exodus onto the field for those who wish to take advantage.

Please obey all announcements and stewards in this regard.

Please note, any person who ignores this policy, and invades the pitch before the alloted time, will be escorted from the stadium, disqualified from purchasing GAA tickets, and fine €500. '

That'd be my lateral thinking on it.
+1 But I'd go even further.  The two finalists who are taking part should pre-record a video message that is played prior to the match and at half-time reminding patrons not to invade the  pitch.  Show pictures of Hilssborough and of fans being stampeded upon as images and let players/past players/managers be the voice of the message.  There are two big screens and a PA sytem.  Also in the build up to the match during the week on Radio and TV do the same. 

All this whining about pitch invasions etc...  Someone is going to get seriously hurt or worse - and when that happens the call for a public inquiry into why the GAA didn't do this, didn't do that will happen.  So lets pre-empt it. 
Personally no-one should be on the field after - lets adopt the Australian practice - $6,000 Aussie dollar fine if you invade and you don't leave jail until its paid.

fearglasmor

The GAA, GPA, participating counties, supporters groups and uncle tom cobley and all shaould all be doing everything humanly possible to put an end to supporters on the pitch. You can be misty eyed as you like about it but it is an incident waiting to happen and when it does, as posted below it will be a case why wasn't more done to prevent this.

Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:55:01 PM
The GAA, GPA, participating counties, supporters groups and uncle tom cobley and all shaould all be doing everything humanly possible to put an end to supporters on the pitch. You can be misty eyed as you like about it but it is an incident waiting to happen and when it does, as posted below it will be a case why wasn't more done to prevent this.

Or else to make the process as orderly as possible. Why is the answer to ban them, which is more confrontational, and more likely to lead to the sort of incident you are talking about. One thing is for sure, fences are not any safer than letting people on the pitch.

fearglasmor

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2010, 02:56:36 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:55:01 PM

Or else to make the process as orderly as possible. Why is the answer to ban them, which is more confrontational, and more likely to lead to the sort of incident you are talking about. One thing is for sure, fences are not any safer than letting people on the pitch.

I agree about avoiding confrontation and trying to impose a ban through fences or gardai or whatever. That will make people more determined and will never succeed.

It has to be a process of persuasion. If every element, as I mentioned, is actively telling supporters they dont want them on the pitch then surely the message would get across to the majority and the stragglers could be dealt with by the authorities.  At the moment it's just the GAA authorities telling people they cant get on the pitch. And we all know how that works in this country.

Any finals I was ever at I always enjoyed the minors celebrations of bring the cup around the pitch.

The Irish News report today said that the first 3/4 rows of seats in the Canal, Hogan & Cusack will be allocated to 'non-competing' counties too in the hope that this will put off invaders. Who makes this crap up?  Generally the majority of these tickets make their way to competing counties in one way or another anyway.

It doesn't matter if they give the first 4 rows to a touring party from the Dr. John Doe school for children with no sporting interest. It's not going to stop those from rows 5 to 105 coming down the steps.

How did they keep people off between 1999 and 2001?

I can't remember but an approach must have been taken which people did respect. The Hill was certainly in use for those finals. Maybe it was the fact that it was the old Hill and had fencing.

I think part of the problem now is the misinformation from Croke Park as to why they need people off the pitch. The reasoning changes all the time. Christy Cooney has zero respect among members and I think this is a last rebellion from members against the changes taking place in the organisation where games are becoming a form of entertainment for many, rather than a passionate quest to win big games; players have never been more removed from supporters, and the more Croke Park say stay off the more there will be a challenge to get on the pitch - which is likely to cause more trouble!

Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2010, 02:21:33 PM

I meant having a row of stewards at the hill, with a loose row of Gardai behind them and a handful of gardai behind them. Maybe I didn't make that clear.

3 rows of Gardai around Croke Park probably would be less than needed up in Bellanaboy.

Quote from: Barney on August 09, 2010, 04:16:26 PM
How did they keep people off between 1999 and 2001?

I can't remember but an approach must have been taken which people did respect. The Hill was certainly in use for those finals. Maybe it was the fact that it was the old Hill and had fencing.

I think part of the problem now is the misinformation from Croke Park as to why they need people off the pitch. The reasoning changes all the time. Christy Cooney has zero respect among members and I think this is a last rebellion from members against the changes taking place in the organisation where games are becoming a form of entertainment for many, rather than a passionate quest to win big games; players have never been more removed from supporters, and the more Croke Park say stay off the more there will be a challenge to get on the pitch - which is likely to cause more trouble!

1999 - AI Champions - Meath - already did it in 1996
2000 - AI Champions - Kerry - already did it in 1997
2001 - AI Champions - Galway - already did it in 1998