McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

If Penrose was bigger every one of his tackles would be given as fouls. Not that they are, but gaelic being such thats its hard to determine what is and isnt, its always at the refs discretion.

For eg O'Neill last night was blown up for at least three tackles that looked perfectly fair to me.

Family guy

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 31, 2010, 12:58:31 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 30, 2010, 10:19:08 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on January 30, 2010, 10:17:56 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 30, 2010, 10:09:35 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 30, 2010, 10:08:28 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on January 30, 2010, 10:05:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2010, 09:07:09 PM
On this form Donegal for an all Ireland run

U are a complete slabber you know that,your happy to see a fella break his arm or get injured,how can anyone take pleasure in seeing someone get injured and spend all the time in rehab and running to hospital and physios while trying to gomto work etc,get a life milltown homo would you you spide

wise up.

I seriously doubt if he was being serious! :D

And in the unlikely event he was, we got relegated and lost to Antrim after winning the McKenna cup last year!
Milltown knows that. Sure he was your no.1 supporter last year.
You never let go of anything, do ya?
No, ye feckin tout.

;D ;D ;D

the way Tyrone played Antrim have a chance, SON is out so all good

Just as a matter of interest, how many of Donegals team last night played in last years championship?

Quote from: Carmen Stateside on January 31, 2010, 02:09:31 PM
Just as a matter of interest, how many of Donegals team last night played in last years championship?

About nine or ten I think, including Neil Gallagher who was kicked off the panel after the Antrim game and Leo McCloone who featured a bit in the qualifiers. Six of that team last night played against Cork in the quarter final. Some of those new lads could start this year though - I thought Hanlon did well up front, particularly winning ball and losing his marker, although his finishing left a little to be desired, but then that was the story across the two forward lines! It will be interesting to see if he can make it to the championship panel. The major omissions for Donegal last night from recent seasons would be Lacey, Kavanagh, Toye, Dunnion, Monaghan, Eamon McGee and, depending on who they decide to go with this year in nets, Michael Boyle. Bonner and Roper are gone, and I'm not sure if Kavanagh or Eamon McGee will be available this season. Conal Dunne I've never been convinced about at this level (although he was very good at times last year), but he may return to centre forward.

Looked like Tyrone had a similar number of championship performers playing. Obviously Sean Cavanagh being the stand-out absentee.

Any craic

http://www.youtube.com/user/UlsterGAA// - there's a few bits of video here from Saturday night. You can certainly tell that the Donegal lads interviewed were delighted to put one over on Tyrone.

Quote from: Any craic on January 31, 2010, 10:08:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/user/UlsterGAA// - there's a few bits of video here from Saturday night. You can certainly tell that the Donegal lads interviewed were delighted to put one over on Tyrone.

And why not? As Cassidy says, they're the yardstick. But, as he also says, matching them in the middle of the summer is when it counts.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Couple of posters being a bit harsh on Tyrone IMO. Led until the 79th minute and only lost to a rather fortunate goal which came pretty much out of nowhere. Plenty of the younger lads have shown up well and its an exciting prospect to take the best of the McKenna Cup panel and add the likes of McMenamin, Harte, Jordan, Cavanagh, Mulligan and Mulgrew. Quite hopeful this will be the season Mulgrew kicks on. Harte has a tough task ahead in cutting some good players but if he can get it right and the key men avoid injury then there are plenty of reasons for optimism.

Just watching clips from 03 there. Footage of McGuigan, Hub, McAnallen etc lifting the cup while they still looked like cubs. I'm looking forward to players from the 08 minor team making the breakthrough. Exciting times ahead.

Agree with you totallly there Lamh Dhearg Alba.

MH will be happy that we secured maximum games from the competition, the final result is almost a complete irrelevance from his perspective. He now has all the game time he could have asked for to make his calls in respect of who exactly will make the cut.

Joxer

Dr. McKenna Cup 2011
All Sunday games at 2.00 p.m.:

All midweek games at 7.30 p.m.

(Extra time to be played in Semi finals & Final)

Section A: UUJ, Fear Manach, Tír Eoghain, Dún na nGall

Section B: QUB, An Cabhán, Doíre, Muineachán

Section C: Naomh Mhuire, An Dún, Ard Mhacha, Aontroim
9th Jan:  Roinn 1: Section A

UUJ v Fermanagh at Brewster Park

Tyrone v Donegal at Healy Park

Section B           
                              QUB v Cavan at Kingspan Breffni Park

Derry v Monaghan at Celtic Park

Section C

St. Mary's v Down at Pairc Esler

Armagh v Antrim at Athletic's Grounds

16th Jan: Round 2: Section A

Fermanagh v Tyrone at Brewster Park

Donegal v UUJ at MacCumhaill Park

Section B

Cavan v Derry at Kingspan Breffni Park

Monaghan v QUB at Clones

Section C                               
                              Down v Armagh at Pairc Esler

Antrim v St. Mary's at Casement Park

19th Jan: Round 3: Section A                             

UUJ v Tyrone at Healy Park

Donegal v Fermanagh at MacCumhaill Park

Section B

Monaghan v Cavan at Inniskeen

Derry v QUB at Celtic Park

Section C                                                         

Antrim v Down at Casement Park

Armagh v St. Mary's at Athletic's Grounds

22nd / 23rd Jan:  Semi Finals: (1) Winner of Section C v Winner of Section B
                                                 (2)  Winner of Section A v 4th Placed Team

29th Jan: Final:  1 v 2

Down v Armagh in the Mc Kenna cup, National League and the championship next year. They'll be sick of the sight of eachother!

QuoteArmagh v Antrim at Athletic's Grounds

Why does the Athletic ground have a 's after it?

Will it be open for games in January in any case?

Quote from: armaghniac on October 14, 2010, 07:05:50 PM
QuoteArmagh v Antrim at Athletic's Grounds

Why does the Athletic ground have a 's after it?

It doesn't

SHEEDY

armagh will be sick of the sight of down next year.cant believe we play in mckenna cup as well.prepare for 3 spankings lads.the future is red and black.roll on 2011
nil satis nisi optimum