FERMANAGH V DOWN Preliminary Round USFC

Started by imagine, October 08, 2008, 08:39:05 PM

Joe Umbrella (hey)

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 14, 2009, 02:49:56 PM
Quote from: buglebhoy on May 13, 2009, 10:43:27 AM
The Down team for Sunday is really anyones guess and i'm sure ross is still chopping and changing. I imagine he'll announce it tonight though! I think Down will have this team out.

McVeigh
Howard
Peter Turley
Monk
Carr
Conor Garvey
Rooney
Dan
Kearney
Carr
Benny
Fegan
Danny
Murtagh
McComiskey

Has Ross declared himself available

No, its Alan the comedian - as instructed by RTE to tell some jokes when Fermanagh start thier shite negative defensive tactics and bore us all to death!

Can't wait until sunday evening when the Sunday Game Project goes out on air, who's replacing Justin Lee Spillane anyway? Such a funny show!

DownFanatic

Quote from: FermGael on May 14, 2009, 10:27:57 AM
Who is the Down minor manager??
He gave an interview to our local paper at home(The Fermanangh Herald).
If the fermanagh players read it, they will need no more motivation

QuoteDown management confident of the win

BY GARETH MCCULLOUGH

After a less than inspiring Ulster Minor League where Down only managed one win from five outings to finish bottom of their section, manager Dessie Kennedy is remaining confident ahead of Sunday's Ulster Championship opener against Fermanagh in Brewster Park (throw-in 1.45pm).

A win for Kennedy's side in this preliminary round tie will set up a clash with Cavan in Armagh on May 30th but Kennedy is naturally not looking that far ahead.

In fact, while Kennedy is confident that his side can do the business at the weekend, he wishes that he had more time to spend with the players; a gripe that all Minor managers would appear to have.

"The powers that be at Croke Park didn't permit us to train collectively prior to the first of March," explained Kennedy.

"With Minor, you only get three or four months with them. It's not like the Senior panel where you have them for three, four, five or six years. When you're not allowed to train collectively, it makes things very difficult for you.

"We were like a lot of other counties in that we used the league as a trial basis.

"Everybody was the same in that we don't know who is strong and we don't know a lot about other counties.

"We don't know anything about Fermanagh but anyone you meet in the Ulster Championship is going to be formidable opposition."

The unpredictability of the Ulster Minor Championship means that it's an extremely hard level to predict at this early stage but Kennedy feels that, despite the short time that the squad has been training together, he knows that Down can make the most of the talent they have at their disposal.

MINEFIELD

"It's a total minefield out there, anybody can win on any given day," he said.

"If you look at any records for the Ulster Championship, you will see that there are only usually a few points between the two sides," he said.

"We have to go and play in the Preliminary round, which makes it that bit more difficult. It's psychological getting through the first one but all we can do is prepare the lads physically and mentally on the day and I think we're getting there.

"We had maybe over a hundred players to look at in a very short space of time in the league, so hopefully we've got the right blend and the right guys."

Kennedy, who has pinpointed Ryan Doran, Ross McGarry and Mattie Bagnall as his men to watch, knows what his side is capable.

"You have to be confident (as a management team). If we're not confident then that will run off on the players. We've every confident in the players we have picked and we're confident that the players can do the job," the Down manager said.

"No disrespect to Fermanagh, but if you had looked at the draw on paper, the team we probably would have wanted would have been them. Now that we've got that draw,we have to go out and do the business of beating them.

"No Ulster Championship match is easy but we'll prepare the lads and hope on the day that everything goes right. After that, who knows what could happen."

Kennedy is the selector. Turley is the manager. I think Kennedy is being very honest in this peice. Of course Down were happy that they pulled Fermanagh out of the hat for the MFC. Fermanagh have done next to nothing in the Minor grade for quite a while now and they would of been the team that most counties probably would have wanted to draw in Ulster.

Caid

Quote from: DownFanatic on May 14, 2009, 05:20:33 PM
I think Kennedy is being very honest in this peice.

I would agree with that.  It's the same as say Tyrone drawing Antrim in the Seniors and Mickey Harte saying "on paper it's the draw we would have wanted but we still have to go out and beat them and no game is easy in Ulster".   F

ew manager's show this honesty and in actuality Mickey Harte is more likely to say "Antrim would have to be favourites with their league form being better than ours, but with luck our side, and if God allows it, we'll give them a good game"
When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth...then may my epitaph be written

Dangerous Person

I think the Down team will show a few surprises and should line out as follows:

1) Brendan McVeigh
2) Ciaran McGovern
3) Peter Turley
4) Luke Howard
5) Declan Rooney
6) Conor Garvey
7) Kevin Duffin
8) Aidan Carr
9) Dan Gordon
10) Ronan Sexton
11) Benny Coulter
12) Danny Hughes
13) Paul McComiskey
14) Peter Fitzpatrick
15) Stephen Kearney

This would be the best Down team for a number of reasons. Aidan Carr at midfield for the simple reason that he can't defend, but is still Downs best playmaker in the absence of Liam Doyle, so at midfield he will have a greater influence and can roam where he wants without the additional pressures of marking a man. Kearney would obviously be played out around the middle, as Fermanagh are likely to crowd the middle third, and on a potentially wet day, his extra physicality will be important. With Fermanagh playing a blanket defence, Benny should be lined out at half forward, where he can't be double marked as easily. He will also be a big presence from kick-outs, and will help Down gain primary possession, particularly if marking the much smaller McCluskey. Sexton and Hughes are both foragers, who will get through a mountain of work between the 50's, and this will also help combat Fermanaghs running game, as both Hughes and Sexton have the fitness to keep up with anyone in the country, and are strong tacklers, despite their size. Fitzpatrick at full forward offers the long ball option if things get slowed up around the middle, while still being well capable of taking a score off either foot. Really hope Murtagh doesn't start, one of the greediest players I've seen in a long time, and against 12 Fermanagh defenders, this would get severly exploited just like it was against Armagh last year. Duffin should start at 7. Terrific passer of the ball, and unlike Carr, is more than capable of defending. All in all I think this is Downs best team for Enniskillen. Any thoughts?

FermPundit

I only heard this today. I'm surprised I didn't know it already.

From today's Impartial Reporter

"If the sides are level at the end of normal time then two ten minute periods will be played after which if they still can not be separated there will be a replay. The same also applies to the minor game which will commence at 1.45pm"

We'll win Ulster some day, not sure when.

DownFanatic

Quote from: FermPundit on May 14, 2009, 09:33:00 PM
I only heard this today. I'm surprised I didn't know it already.

From today's Impartial Reporter

"If the sides are level at the end of normal time then two ten minute periods will be played after which if they still can not be separated there will be a replay. The same also applies to the minor game which will commence at 1.45pm"

From Down website:

Fermanagh v Down Brewster Park, Enniskillen (Replay 23rd May - Extra Time must be played if needed in all games up to and including the quarter finals. Replay if needed will take place the following Saturday in all cases apart from the Semi Finals & Final).

dodgy umpire

Quote from: Dangerous Person on May 14, 2009, 09:20:03 PM
I think the Down team will show a few surprises and should line out as follows:

1) Brendan McVeigh
2) Ciaran McGovern
3) Peter Turley
4) Luke Howard
5) Declan Rooney
6) Conor Garvey
7) Kevin Duffin
8) Aidan Carr
9) Dan Gordon
10) Ronan Sexton
11) Benny Coulter
12) Danny Hughes
13) Paul McComiskey
14) Peter Fitzpatrick
15) Stephen Kearney

This would be the best Down team for a number of reasons. Aidan Carr at midfield for the simple reason that he can't defend, but is still Downs best playmaker in the absence of Liam Doyle, so at midfield he will have a greater influence and can roam where he wants without the additional pressures of marking a man. Kearney would obviously be played out around the middle, as Fermanagh are likely to crowd the middle third, and on a potentially wet day, his extra physicality will be important. With Fermanagh playing a blanket defence, Benny should be lined out at half forward, where he can't be double marked as easily. He will also be a big presence from kick-outs, and will help Down gain primary possession, particularly if marking the much smaller McCluskey. Sexton and Hughes are both foragers, who will get through a mountain of work between the 50's, and this will also help combat Fermanaghs running game, as both Hughes and Sexton have the fitness to keep up with anyone in the country, and are strong tacklers, despite their size. Fitzpatrick at full forward offers the long ball option if things get slowed up around the middle, while still being well capable of taking a score off either foot. Really hope Murtagh doesn't start, one of the greediest players I've seen in a long time, and against 12 Fermanagh defenders, this would get severly exploited just like it was against Armagh last year. Duffin should start at 7. Terrific passer of the ball, and unlike Carr, is more than capable of defending. All in all I think this is Downs best team for Enniskillen. Any thoughts?

i think there is some merit to what you suggest but trying this out for the first time in the championship would be too risky
The Boys in Red and Black are back

Fermanagh team to play Down in the Ulster SFC at Brewster Park, Sunday, 3.30pm:

Chris Breen,
Peter Sherry, Shane Lyons, Hugh Brady,
Damien Kelly, Shane McDermott, Tommy McElroy,

Martin McGrath, James Sherry,

Ryan Keenan, Ciaran McElroy, Mark Little,
Daryl Keenan, Ryan Carson, Eamon Maguire,

O'Rourke has picked a good mix of youth and experience in the starting line-up, good choice having Carson in full forward although if Daryl Keenan is gonna be the free taker can he stand up to the pressure now associated with this responsibility in the Fermanagh senior team?

McCluskey, Shane Goan, Enda Ferris on the bench gives some limited options

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

Quote from: Down Gael on October 09, 2008, 10:23:22 AM
The team that cant score v the team that cant defend. Then Cavan in the next round.

spot on

western exile

Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on May 15, 2009, 09:42:06 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on October 09, 2008, 10:23:22 AM
The team that cant score v the team that cant defend. Then Cavan in the next round.

spot on

or put another way... 
The team that can score v the team that can defend. Then Cavan in the next round.

YogiBear

Both these teams are clean useless.  Down will win and then beat Cavan who are also crap then 75% of Down will lose the run of thenselves dreaming of Ulster finals and the glory days of 91 & 94 only for the team to go out with a whimper against an average Donegal team and be beaten by another average team in the qualifiers.  Same shite every year!
Hopefully the minors win on sunday as they have some good young players even though the management selections leave you scratching your head!

Quote from: sammymaguire on May 15, 2009, 08:53:03 AM

Chris Breen,

O'Rourke has picked a good mix of youth and experience in the starting line-up, good choice having Carson in full forward although if Daryl Keenan is gonna be the free taker can he stand up to the pressure now associated with this responsibility in the Fermanagh senior team?

Whats wrong with Ronan Gallagher? f**k sake, only one week in and boys off my fantasy football team are already getting dropped. I hope Down score 7 goals now.

Chris Breen,
Peter Sherry, Shane Lyons, Hugh Brady
Damien Kelly, Shane McDermott, Tommy McElroy
Martin McGrath, James Sherry
Ryan Keenan, Ciaran McElroy, Mark Little
Daryl Keenan, Ryan Carson, Eamon Maguire

Interesting selection. Surprised Gallagher hasn't made it but Breen is a top class keeper so wouldn't be too concerned ther. Would have concerns about the full-back line and centre half back as regards pace though. Very surprised Goan isn't there, especially with Danny Hughes in decent form. Would have thought he's an ideal man to pick him up, if Benny doesn't play. We know what we'll get from Frog at No 6. Seriously strong, will carry the ball out and a decent passer, who will be at No 11 for Down and what would his game be? I'd still be amazed if Clucker isn't in there somewhere come Sunday (maybe depending on Down team).
Two wing backs are excellent and good for an odd score. Half-forwards are all work horses but hopefully a few of them maintain some position in the attacking half to give us a decent platform to attack. Really like the look of the full-forward line, we could cause them real problems with a combination of pace, brains and a little power in there. A lot of it will come down to midfield, people are billing it as Dan v Marty but Sherry will have the bigger say I think. Just depends on whether he's up for it on the day and gets stuck in. It's been said a hundred times but he's definitely good enough for this level, O'Rourke has played him all year and he needs to believe it now too and repeat some of his from of old and start doing the ugly things right.
We can win this, narrowly.

FermGael

Quote from: sammymaguire on May 15, 2009, 08:53:03 AM

Chris Breen,

why does o'rourke even bother giving out a team to the press? Goan will start.sherry and kelly have both been carrying injuries and cannot see both them starting..nice to see breen getting his chance in goals.McCluskey should start because he is a class act but may have to make do with a place on the bench due to his soccer committments.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

Trevor Hill

Down team for Sunday, no Coulter, though it would be a shock if this team actually starts as lined out.

B McVeigh
L Howard
K McKernan
D Rafferty
A Carr
C Garvey
D Rooney
D Gordon
A Rogers
B McArdle
J Boyle
S Kearney