Tyrone v Armagh - Ulster Championship 2009

Started by Kerry Mike, October 08, 2008, 08:39:02 PM

Superb one-handed catch by Stephen O'Neill which led to his goal.

Doohicky

Quote from: Orior on June 01, 2009, 09:16:34 AM
Superb one-handed catch by Stephen O'Neill which led to his goal.

Very much so. Even moreimpressive as I honestly don't believe that was even a pass to him.  :D

Quote from: ONeill on May 31, 2009, 11:08:14 PM
That was a fairly typical Tyrone May performance. Ring-rusty, lacking sharpness - you know they'll improve. Most of the team played well at times although Penrose found it hard to get going. O'Neill's free taking was a bit off but, as is the sign of a great player, he didn't sink his head into his chest. That was a great battle between him and Mallon - reminded me of Canavan/McKeever.

The likes of Cavanagh, Gormley, Mugsy, Ricey etc played well at times but also had their hairy moments. I thought Mickey would have rotated Gormey off Clarke around 55-60 mins although Justy looked shot in that heat. That was a great run from McMahon when he outpaced O'Rourke. He's a splendid footballer. McGinley just oozes class and that game will bring them on. Dooher and O'Neill the defender did well when they came on. Harte and Jordan have started well although Davy can still find himself bottled up. PJ was assured.

I wasn't impressed with Armagh at all. I think if they meet a decent side first time out, it could be lights out for them. Tyrone had something like 20 scoring chances in the first half (seems a bit high, maybe I'm wrong there) and it could have been embarrassing for Armagh. They hung in because they were allowed to.

All-in-all, a good run out before the Derry game.

I would agree with that, Armagh may have finished within three points of the all ireland champions but we never really looked like being closer.  Tyrone always seemed to have a higher gear and what we have to remember is that as previous years tend to show this may well have been a Tyrone team that is not even close to its best, with a lot of room for improvement.  As a lot have said if we were going to take Tyrone at any stage this year then it was this game.  As we didnt manage it, it seems highly unlikely we will be able to do it later in the championship and now it looks like we are out of the only tournament we might have a chance of winning this year.

As far as the referee went yesterday, I have no problem that he got decisions wrong but Jarlath Burns in attempting to praise him, showed exactly what was wrong with yesterdays performance.  Burns said in relation to the Clarke goal something along the lines of "that was great refereeing the way he allowed the advantage there, theres nothing about that in the rule book but hes playing to his own rules there."   Any referee playing to their own rules in order to let a game flow is not a good referee as there always going to be inconsistent (the calling back of the O'Neill chance the prime example of that inconsistency).  Yesterday I can think of 4 or 5 times when the referee decided something was a foul but when the same thing happened later in the game decided it wasnt or vice versa.  Again though I am one of these people who doesnt think a referees job is to let a game flow but rather to enforce (as near as possible to how they are written) the rules others disagree.  I would much rather have a referee who enforces the rules consistently than one who lets the game flow.

Quote from: Onion Bag on June 01, 2009, 08:50:10 AM
MOR, he def should have been the first man called a shore, (btw when he actually was took off, everyone round me was cheering at the relief, so im assumming im not the only one here)

Anyone who actually "cheers with relief" is not a supporter of Armagh and nothing more than a gobshite. He was nowhere near as bad as people are making out anyway, SK gave four balls away in the time he was on the field yet plenty are saying he did well. Go figure.

Heart was poor. A few of the high balls he dealt with were purely down to luck. Penrose, the smallest man, pushed one against his head. God knows what jhe was doing with the flick up. I don;t know, never thought he was great, still don't. McEvoy and McKinney are the best two keepers in the county by a distance.

Mallon had a hard day, partly at fault for both goals.

Donaghy is a class act,thi man will be a star.

The game passed Shannon and Penrose by, which, for a debut, would suit Shannon. He dealt well with the ball when it came their way. Steady and decent debut.

Aaron - poor by his standards. Gave as much ball away as anyone, especially in first 20 minutes. FKs were flawless as usual.

McKeever - very impressive second half. Need to get him on the all as much as possible.

Finn Mo - not great, couple f nice runs up field though.

Toner - never imposed, but did his fair share.

Lavery - Delighted for him. Great first half.

Mallon - Two points from play and a busy performance. Good sign.

MOR - Nowhere near as bad as people made out. Plenty of poor passes but was directly involved in about 1-4. As for the "skinning" from McMahon's run. Watch it again and Marty is obviously favouring the ankle he hurt minutes previous, so I wouldn; be too bothered.

Duffy - Couldn;t get into the game.

O'Rourke - thought he was doing well. Smart passing.

Clarke - quiet bar 15 minutes, yet totally destroyed Gormely in that spell.

McDonnelll - Poor, poor game. Needs to stay at the posts.

David McKeown, I would agree with what you said regarding the ref blowing up for a foul for one incident while not blowing again for the same incident later on.  I thought the ref gave Armagh alot of handy frees in the 2nd half, he seemed to be giving frees for any type of minimal unlawful contact yet further out the field Tyrone players were taking shipping alot more yet were not getting frees.

Quote from: Orior on June 01, 2009, 09:12:30 AM
There were quite a number of dangerous high balls in today which Hearty dealt with well. His kick-outs were huge and all contested (none direct to a redhander). He didnt have much of a chance against the two goals, so on this occasion I'm giving hearty a thumbs up.

The sun must have distracted the Armagh minor keeper - it looked an easy enough ball to field.

Don't know about that Orior. He kicked one straight over the end line immediately after conceding the 14 yard free and I remember another kick out that he landed over the top of the Armagh midfield and straight to the Tyrone half back line for an easy catch. Those were the 2 that stuck out for me though to be fair if the rest of the kick outs were ok, its not a terrible return.

talktothehand

i thought mceneaney gave armagh frees a lot easier when they were far behind in an attempt to 'make a game of it'. this really annoys me to be honest. he should never have a bearing on it. armagh looked dangerous for a little spell but tyrone should have been out of sight at half time without playing particularly well. poorest armagh team in a while but some bright points.

Whats the bets Armagh Down meet in the qualifiers then?!?

Goats Do Shave

My thoughts, for what it's worth!

Good decision to bring on SK when he did. The game was stretched which suits him & whatever about his lack of ball winning attributes... he is a good distributer & when opens the legs he can carry the ball into the opposition half well.

I would have liked to have seen the midfield freshened up in the 2nd half with McKenna... think Lavery put in a fine shift, but was punctured at the end which showed from that shot.

I can't understand the introduction of Aidan O'Rourke when chasing the game. If we were ahead, then maybe he would help, bringing that bit of experience, coolness & distribution to the team... yesterday we needed fresh legs, pace... it was a time for the young fellas!

It's funny how people's views of the games differ... I thought Stevie had a fine game, & I'd use him at centre forward these days (ala P Joyce) His distribution is good, as he knows the type of ball he would like!

MOR is a dilemma. We need him. He was on the ball more than any other Armagh player yesterday. But he needs to practice his kicking, both shooting & passing. Maybe he should be winning & laying it off simple... preferably to a half back running at pace!

I think if Armagh's half forward line is going to come so deep, then wee need more attacking from our defenders, much like Tyrone actually.

I thought Ciaran McKeever was a bit wasted on mugsy, who is not the player he used to be... Finn Mo could have handled him, with McKeever playing his natural CB position or marking O'Neill (who was just that bit strong for Andy Mallon, yet did an admirable job on him.)

Pleased for Brendan Donaghy, who had a great tussle with Sean Cav all day.

A bit of a run in the qualifiers will do this young team the world of good!

Benny Barnaveld

I thought McEvoy deserved to start based on his previous performances. Hearty did not do too bad having said that.

I thought the full back line did very well, Andy was unfortunate for the goal, it was a miss hit shot, followed by some real magic from O'Neill.

I was disappointed during the week with the team, Duffy is a good player, but he is a half back, MOR plays as a half back, which left Mallon carrying the HFL on his own, at which he did his best. This resulted in Clarke and McDonnell having to run miles to look for untidy ball.

I think for the several news faces in I was very disappointed by the performances of some of the old hands, namely; A.Kernan, MOR and Stevie.
I am sure they will be back to their best next match.

I felt Tyrone were much the better side, the fact they did not beat us by more was more to do with their play than ours.

ogshead

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2009, 08:28:03 AM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on May 31, 2009, 11:12:36 PM
Best team won today, to be honest I'm very pleased with the Armagh lads who busted themselves to get that close. I thought Tyrone were 10 points better than us today and should have won by more.

I see someone said Hearty did well, are you f**king serious? He is terriblle, no way is he Armaghs best keeper.

I thought we looked rudderless to be honest, I would get rid of McDonnell right now to be honest if were going to do anything in the qualifiers. Obviously its not going to happen but he is not going to take that team anywhere.

This is a joke yes?? Whats the f**king deal with people clambering to get rid of managers halfway through the season, you have to let them finish what they started.

Though I guess you are just winding.

Shouldn't have been there in the first place. Everyone in Armagh deep down knows that. Some might not admit it out loud but there was a better option and that got f***ed up.

Quote from: corn02 on June 01, 2009, 09:36:46 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 01, 2009, 08:50:10 AM
MOR, he def should have been the first man called a shore, (btw when he actually was took off, everyone round me was cheering at the relief, so im assumming im not the only one here)

Anyone who actually "cheers with relief" is not a supporter of Armagh and nothing more than a gobshite. He was nowhere near as bad as people are making out anyway, SK gave four balls away in the time he was on the field yet plenty are saying he did well. Go figure.

Heart was poor. A few of the high balls he dealt with were purely down to luck. Penrose, the smallest man, pushed one against his head. God knows what jhe was doing with the flick up. I don;t know, never thought he was great, still don't. McEvoy and McKinney are the best two keepers in the county by a distance.

Mallon had a hard day, partly at fault for both goals.

Donaghy is a class act,thi man will be a star.

The game passed Shannon and Penrose by, which, for a debut, would suit Shannon. He dealt well with the ball when it came their way. Steady and decent debut.

Aaron - poor by his standards. Gave as much ball away as anyone, especially in first 20 minutes. FKs were flawless as usual.

McKeever - very impressive second half. Need to get him on the all as much as possible.

Finn Mo - not great, couple f nice runs up field though.

Toner - never imposed, but did his fair share.

Lavery - Delighted for him. Great first half.

Mallon - Two points from play and a busy performance. Good sign.

MOR - Nowhere near as bad as people made out. Plenty of poor passes but was directly involved in about 1-4. As for the "skinning" from McMahon's run. Watch it again and Marty is obviously favouring the ankle he hurt minutes previous, so I wouldn; be too bothered.

Duffy - Couldn;t get into the game.

O'Rourke - thought he was doing well. Smart passing.

Clarke - quiet bar 15 minutes, yet totally destroyed Gormely in that spell.

McDonnelll - Poor, poor game. Needs to stay at the posts.

I have to completely disagree with you Corn, McMahon was involved in at least 1-6 of tyrones scores and absolutely roasted MOR every time he attacked, the pass for Clarke's goal came when he was in an acre of space having not in anyway followed his man who had been making life difficult for the Armagh defence immediately prior to the Armagh goal.  MOR had an extremely poor game and I would usually be one of his biggest fans.  Yesterday was not the game for him.  The fact that McMahon had such a good game and that PMCD seemed totally unable to deal with the problem compounded things but MOR was still imo very very poor yesterday.  I suppose though it shows the differences in opinions as I thought Andy Mallon had a very good game

ogshead

Quote from: Benny Barnaveld on June 01, 2009, 10:01:53 AM
I thought McEvoy deserved to start based on his previous performances. Hearty did not do too bad having said that.

I thought the full back line did very well, Andy was unfortunate for the goal, it was a miss hit shot, followed by some real magic from O'Neill.

I was disappointed during the week with the team, Duffy is a good player, but he is a half back, MOR plays as a half back, which left Mallon carrying the HFL on his own, at which he did his best. This resulted in Clarke and McDonnell having to run miles to look for untidy ball.

I think for the several news faces in I was very disappointed by the performances of some of the old hands, namely; A.Kernan, MOR and Stevie.
I am sure they will be back to their best next match.

I felt Tyrone were much the better side, the fact they did not beat us by more was more to do with their play than ours.

Hearty has always been a bit of a liability. Yesterday proved that. Fair enough he did block the ball out well after dropping the ball once but there was too many unforced errors. It has been bad management letting McKinney leave. I hope the other keeper on the panel is not treated in the same way. Two years ago in Ballybofey, if McKinney had have been doin nets against Donegal and dropped the ball in the net he would have been dropped for the next game. Some players seem to be untouchable on the Armagh team

Abble

Quote from: corn02 on June 01, 2009, 09:36:46 AM

if i was peter mcdonnell last night i'd be straight on to the blower to ciaran mckinney, a 100% reliable man.