New house - Furniture

Started by supersarsfields, October 07, 2008, 05:20:57 PM

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 07, 2008, 05:20:57 PM
Well lads I've just finishing the build of a new house and am now starting to look for Furniture. Main problem being a suite for the living room.
I've tried most of the bigger stores in Belfast ( Harvey's, Reids, LOL, DFS) but haven't seen much value to be honest and I was wondering if anyone had any reccommendations? Also any tips for tiles and wooden floors would be appreciated aswell lads?

How much does it cost to build a house, I know it is a case of how longs a piece of string beacause no house is the same. but a 3-4 bedroom bungalow, nothing overly fancy, ball park how much would you be talking,

Well roughly speaking the way things are at the minute and if you weren't purchasing a site you could prob pay something between 75-110 depending on size, detail etc. I know that's a pretty wide scale but it's hard to put an excate figure on it. Somebody with more contacts may get things done cheaper than others but for the average joe I'd say somewere in between those two figures. 

still a whole lot cheaper than buying, cheers, now if them wankers in stormont would get the planning sorted, it would get a whole lot of builders back to work,

Pretty much furnished our house out of Direct furniture @ Kennedy Way, Eugene will do you a great deal and the stuff we bought is all top quality and will probably outlast us!  ;)
Seriously though, great choice in beds and most furniture, you won't have a massive range in the suites but still good, also the more you buy there the bigger thte savings.

As for IKEA cheap shite, you get what you pay for!

Also with Direct they have great customer service, any probs sorted out quickly, very helpful.

Also looked everywhere for kitchen electricial and best prices and savings to be had where in Grimleys in Andytown, bought everything there, priced it cheaper in Currys etc then they matched the prices, would recommend them as well

With both I found that after you get their best price, come back with a "so how much for cash?" always gets me a further reduction.

Hank Everlast

Wat about 'big John the Gypo'... a black leather suite 3-2-1 would cost around £400 off the back of his lorry!

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 10:27:41 AM
Well lads I've just finishing the build of a new house and am now starting to look for Furniture. Main problem being a suite for the living room.
I've tried most of the bigger stores in Belfast ( Harvey's, Reids, LOL, DFS) but haven't seen much value to be honest and I was wondering if anyone had any reccommendations? Also any tips for tiles and wooden floors would be appreciated aswell lads?

How much does it cost to build a house, I know it is a case of how longs a piece of string beacause no house is the same. but a 3-4 bedroom bungalow, nothing overly fancy, ball park how much would you be talking,

are you building Onion Bag? 

Furnished our small bedroom from Direct Furniture and had absolutely no complaints, they came and built the wardrobes and stuff there.  Saw the furniture deal in the Irish News which is why we went up, hadn't considered it otherwise.

Despite what someone on here said earlier, I quite liked Dekko, we got a good enough deal for furnishing two bedrooms and paid for the building for handiness sake.  It looks well too.  
The final bedroom was furnished from a place on Andersonstown Rd, can't remember the name, but we actually went hunting for it because they stocked a certain type of furniture.  So we've been round them all!

Regarding the moisture content of the cement floor, our joiner measured it, and we found we had to treat it for a couple of days before laying the wood down.  It wasn't very expensive.

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on October 08, 2008, 01:50:51 PM

Not in a position to build, the old planning permission is proving to be a sticky hurdle to get over,

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 08, 2008, 10:55:54 AM

With both I found that after you get their best price, come back with a "so how much for cash?" always gets me a further reduction.

Are you my old man in disguise?

Quote from: Puckoon on October 08, 2008, 01:57:08 PM

I do it every time, the other half is embarassed to go into any shop with me,   

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 01:56:26 PM

Not in a position to build, the old planning permission is proving to be a sticky hurdle to get over,

Oh right, I was wondering about that.  thought u maybe had your fingers in other pies

Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 01:59:08 PM

Check. I still cant haggle. I still have to leave a shop when my old man starts it.

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on October 08, 2008, 02:01:57 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 01:56:26 PM

Oh right, I was wondering about that.  thought u maybe had your fingers in other pies

No, just snooping, coz i know it would be a whole lot cheaper now with the building game fucked

Quote from: Puckoon on October 08, 2008, 02:02:57 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 08, 2008, 01:59:08 PM

Check. I still cant haggle. I still have to leave a shop when my old man starts it.

Jez lads, it's the best bit, learned well from my father. The wife normally walks off when I start, but thats because she trusts I'll get the best deal going.
There's no better feeling then getting a great deal on something (well relatively speaking anyway!).  ;D

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 08, 2008, 02:08:05 PM

Jez lads, it's the best bit, learned well from my father. The wife normally walks off when I start, but thats because she trusts I'll get the best deal going.
There's no better feeling then getting a great deal on something (well relatively speaking anyway!).  ;D

never a truer word spoke.  Reminds me of 'The Life of Brian'.........."Don't ye wanna aggle?"  (english accent)  :D