New house - Furniture

Started by supersarsfields, October 07, 2008, 05:20:57 PM

Well lads I've just finishing the build of a new house and am now starting to look for Furniture. Main problem being a suite for the living room.
I've tried most of the bigger stores in Belfast ( Harvey's, Reids, LOL, DFS) but haven't seen much value to be honest and I was wondering if anyone had any reccommendations? Also any tips for tiles and wooden floors would be appreciated aswell lads?

Got my sofa in Rite Price on York St/Shore Road and thought their selection was the best in Belfast.  We prob paid a good bit for it but it's nice.  Once you get past the fear of Tigers Bay it's OK, I promise, they even made curtains for us and I used my real name!

Got a wooden floor from a friend of a friend who bought it in the Wooden Floor Company on Boucher.  Got a solid wood floor in my living room, including treating of the cement underneath, for about £700 all in. 

SidelineKick

what would be the area of your living room rois out of curiosity?
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

see you've got me there, I'd say it's about 4.7m by 4.8m (just looked at dimensions of a similar house on propertynews)

Did I get done?

Edit: that included the laying of the floor and some new skirting. 

SidelineKick

no i dont think it rois. that actually sounds quite reasonable. its something im considering getting done unfortunatley i have a large enough living room and have a feeling it will cost a bomb to do. really dont want to put down the laminate stuff.
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

mournerambler

Be sure to get a professional to take a reading of the moisture content in the floor screed before laying a solid wood floor, if you lay a solid wood floor too soon in a new house the moisture in the screed will be absorbed into the wood which will then in extreme cases cause the floor to swell.

Land of Leather is very reasonable if you want to spend the money - I bought a 3-2-1 for 700 about 5 years ago now - I think they were even cheaper than that afterwards

Quote from: supersarsfields on October 07, 2008, 05:20:57 PM
Well lads I've just finishing the build of a new house and am now starting to look for Furniture. Main problem being a suite for the living room.
I've tried most of the bigger stores in Belfast ( Harvey's, Reids, LOL, DFS) but haven't seen much value to be honest and I was wondering if anyone had any reccommendations? Also any tips for tiles and wooden floors would be appreciated aswell lads?

Floored a house in Dublin 2 years ago using a shop in Banbridge called Wooden Floor something or other. Straight up the main st, cross the bridge and turn left and they are on the right. No complaints, good lads all of them.

I got some good stuff in Creations (whenever they have a sale on it's worth a look). Have you tried Ikea - they have some nice stuff too - and not too expensive.

Don't go near Dekko on Boucher Road - very expensive and crap quality.

comethekingdom

when's the Ballymun IKEA opening?

mc_grens

I heard they were reconsidering entering the market. If they are still coming they have gone on record as saying it wont be until the M50 "upgrade" is finished.

We trawled all the usual suspects like Harvey's, Land of Leather, Reid's etc for leather sofas and never found one I liked. I thought they were a bit plasticy. Eventually found really soft leather sofas in a local furniture shop and googled the supplier and got them a good few hundred quid cheaper on the internet.
The country is coming down with tile shops and they're all prepared to bargain hard. We dealt mostly with Portadown Tiles and Armatile in Armagh.
I sealed all my floors with unibond before anything went down to keep any moisture at bay. As previously mentioned moisture in your screed will mangle your floor.

Quote from: mc_grens on October 07, 2008, 10:15:44 PM
I heard they were reconsidering entering the market. If they are still coming they have gone on record as saying it wont be until the M50 "upgrade" is finished.
Was that not always a stipulation of obtaining planning in the first place - they'll be regretting their little bit of f**king around a few years ago now.

kinghen

depending on how much stuff you are looking to buy, but there are some bargains to be had in america, in this regard the interweb is your friend, if you are planning on kitting out the full house, ie living room suite, beds and bedroom furniture etc etc, then it can actually turn out to be quite a saving to ship a full container from america. You should be acble to ship a container for around a grand!

I understand that this option isnt viable for everyone, and really it depends on how much stuff you are looking to buy. Also when makin such purchases, alot of people would be unwilling to trust things they see on the internet and would much rather see the goods in person.

anyway its just an idea, the aul pair are considering it for the new gaff, although tbh i think my ma is just looking for a wee trip to the states herself!!

Cheers for the tips there lads. Regarding the floors I hope to get the wood itself for around £1600 for living room, hallway and 3 bedrooms. Then it should be easy enough picking up a joiner now the way things are going. Regarding the moisture content, who would I get to do that? I'm assuming the joiner wouldn't do it? I'd heard about the floors warping and all that. Going to have the wood in the house for 3 weeks with the heating on before they start to lay it.