Linfield/IFA Manager's no to Sunday Football

Started by T Fearon, October 06, 2008, 12:38:30 PM

MW

Jeffrey is a mouthy loon as far as I'm concerned.

Speaking out of turn again since it's not up to him to decide Linfield's policy on Sunday football.

I'd just like to thank him for the Glens getting that extra rest over the weekend, worked wonders last night :)

So Jeffreys is just a mouthy loon and  Linfield fc just tolerate his occasional loud irrational outburts because he is a good football man.
So Linfield FC will issue a statement or take an internal board decision that they have no problem with fulfilling a Sunday fixture? Something to indicate that Jeffreys is obliged to follow the rules of the game. And that Linfield will in no way try to obstruct the IFA scheduling a Sunday fixture for them to fulfill.

Leo

Try arranging an inter-county GAA game for Good Friday and test what is and is not sectaraian.
Jeffrey esposes a certain Christian belief - to do so is not sectartain - to deny him that right is.
If he wants to try influence others (including his club) to his beliefs, well lads, that is what all Christains are supposed to do.
The number of people on this board who seem to go out of their way to be offended beggars belief. The threads themselves are sectaraian.
Fierce tame altogether

Quote from: Leo on October 08, 2008, 01:42:58 PM
Try arranging an inter-county GAA game for Good Friday and test what is and is not sectaraian.
Jeffrey esposes a certain Christian belief - to do so is not sectartain - to deny him that right is.
If he wants to try influence others (including his club) to his beliefs, well lads, that is what all Christains are supposed to do.
The number of people on this board who seem to go out of their way to be offended beggars belief. The threads themselves are sectaraian.

You offended at this?  ::)

"The threads themselves are sectaraian"

Gotta laugh, the same guy slagging people for being offended too easily is offended by them being offended  :D

How about Christmas day? 2 days in the year

QuoteJeffrey esposes a certain Christian belief - to do so is not sectartain - to deny him that right is.
Who is denying him his right to have a belief?

QuoteIf he wants to try influence others (including his club) to his beliefs, well lads, that is what all Christains are supposed to do.
You appear to have assumed a knowledge about good christians.
You regard preaching his religious beliefs as okay when it is a form of blackmail to his club to contravene IFA regulations on Sunday football, not only that but is it part of a good christian's belief to attempt to overide the the process of democracy inside the club and inside the IFA.
If it is as you say, then we can safely say the IFA and Linfield fc is run by dictatorial religious nuts.

this reminds me of trying to get food in Dubai during ramadan !

You are not allowed eat or drink in public as it offends muslims.
This is a bit bizarre as 5 years ago you could !

Read a report at the time saying how a non muslim lebanese guy was arrested for being seen to drink a bottle of 'juice' in a petrol station forecourt after buying the bottle insde in the shop.
He got jailed and fined.

we might be bad, but we are not that bad , not even linfield and jeffrey !

Maiden1

Quote from: nifan on October 06, 2008, 05:58:33 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 06, 2008, 02:29:51 PM
one particular sect's weird beliefs

Is it that weird a belief in the grand scheme of religion?
Do you find any of the catholic Church's teachings weird?

I agree with nifan, when you get down to surely all religious beliefs could be described as weird to someone without faith. To a non believer that water turns into wine or only eating Halal meat could be described as weird.

Is persecuting someone for there religious beliefs not a form of sectarianism?
There are no proofs, only opinions.

Edwards initially refused to participate on a Sunday but he he changed his mind.  But as you say, whether one persons views should affect a whole sport is a different matter - I would say the majority would be in favour of playing on Sundays.

Leo

Quote from: Main Street on October 08, 2008, 02:03:48 PM
How about Christmas day? 2 days in the year

QuoteJeffrey esposes a certain Christian belief - to do so is not sectartain - to deny him that right is.
Who is denying him his right to have a belief?

QuoteIf he wants to try influence others (including his club) to his beliefs, well lads, that is what all Christains are supposed to do.
You appear to have assumed a knowledge about good christians.
You regard preaching his religious beliefs as okay when it is a form of blackmail to his club to contravene IFA regulations on Sunday football, not only that but is it part of a good christian's belief to attempt to overide the the process of democracy inside the club and inside the IFA.
If it is as you say, then we can safely say the IFA and Linfield fc is run by dictatorial religious nuts.

I have assumed nothing about Christians "good" or otherwise. I was taught the basic Christain ethos that included the "go out to the world and preach to all nations" bit. Jeffries, no less than you or I, can preach all he likes. We don't have to agree but we do have to cherish his right to do so.
In your view the vigorous way he expressed his view is "blackmail"; that comment suggests you feel threatened by someone's views that differ from yours.
As to over-riding the process of democracy within the club, the essence of democracy is the right to hold and espouse individual views and try to encourage others to agree. If the majority decide something else then you abide by that and get on with it. If however it offends your religious beliefs you are entitled to opt out. Nothing new there except you seem to have a very poor grasp of how these things work and instead go hollering to the barricades - "down with everything I dont agree with".

I knoww very little about the IFA and Linfield and who runs them. If Linfield is a club run by dictatorial religious nuts then it is not a democractic club so your argument is a little bit circular (make that confused).
Take a wee whisky to yourself and go and lie down for a while. There will still be mad boys with different views to you when you wake up but you are due a rest.
Fierce tame altogether

Quote from: Rossfan on October 07, 2008, 08:38:47 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 07, 2008, 10:02:29 AM

... attempts to highlight supposed "sectarianism" are getting more and more desperate. :-\

Have you any comment on the Linfield shitebags behavious in Derry last night?
Or is that "supposed" too?  >:(

You are lucky you are dealing with him and not sammyg, by the time he was done it would all be the Doire ones fault and the Lingfielders would have been blameless in the whole thing.

Linfield and Glentoran have some of the worst supporters in western europe, they are a disgrace altogether.

Tonto

... attempts to highlight supposed "sectarianism" are getting more and more desperate. :-\

Well, this being a thread about Sunday football rather than the trouble after the match the other night I was commenting on that particular "supposed" sectarianism.

But, seeing as you ask, I have no bother condemning the sectarian behaviour of either sets of fans at the recent match in Londonderry ;)

Edit: Just so it's clear, I hereby declare the actions of a minority of Derry City and Linfield fans duly condemned!

bignifanatic

Quote from: Tonto on October 08, 2008, 05:55:13 PM

Well, this being a thread about Sunday football rather than the trouble after the match the other night I was commenting on that particular "supposed" sectarianism.

But, seeing as you ask, I have no bother condemning the sectarian behaviour of either sets of fans at the recent match in Londonderry ;)

Edit: Just so it's clear, I hereby declare the actions of a minority of Derry City and Linfield fans duly condemned!

Well said tonto. Took the words right out of my mouth.

Has there been any reports of misbehaviour from DC fans?

No but sure why let the truth get in the way of the blinkered beliefs of Tonto and th'other eejit.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.