Kyle Coney set to reject Aussie Rules?

Started by Over the Bar, September 29, 2008, 12:06:49 PM

The reason I feel AFL fans feel free to rip into players and abuse them is because of professionalism. Its the same in all pro-sports the detachment of the players and the supporters and they feel they have the right attack them for poor performances etc.

Im sure if I went to the other section of this site to read the soccer threads there will be players getting called all sorts of things. We dont have that in the GAA so much because we may know or work with county players. OK there does be a fair amount of calling a lad a bollox on game day but thats considered a pleasentry in some corners of Ireland.

Anyway, Kennelly is probably being a "cute-hoor", he see's Tyrone as the team that will be standing in his way when he tries to come back and win sam with Kerry. So if he could get them all down to Australia by the time he returns he would!  ;)

Quote from: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 02:02:09 AM
Sydney Swans star Tadhg Kennelly believes fellow Irishman Kyle Coney could still return to Australia and resume his AFL career after failing to come back to the club following the Christmas break.

The Tyrone minor star returned to Ireland for Christmas after spending six weeks training with the Swans after signing a two-year rookie contract in November.

Having played with his club, Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa, while at home he chose not to return to Australia at the beginning of January and his future with the club now looks in serious doubt.

However, Kerry native Kennelly insists that Coney could return to the AFL side. Speaking to realfooty.com.au, he said: 'We're still trying to get him back out here, it's not clear cut yet that he's not going to come back. He's indicated he's still thinking about it, so we're still working on it.

'I know it's so hard for an 18-year-old to be on the other side of the world for so long and the thing with Kyle, he'd have a lot of people trying to convince him to stay, and do this and do that, because he's probably the best Gaelic football player in Ireland.

'He was fantastic last year in the Under-18s. He's the next big thing, so why wouldn't they try their best to keep him there?'

The 27-year-old added: 'I haven't spoken with him, I will just leave it to the club. I don't want to sway him either way, and he'll buzz me himself when he's ready. I don't want to step on his toes.'

'I know what it's like, it's that time of the year, and you're with your family and friends, and I remember when it was hard for me to come back when I was in Kyle's situation quite a few years ago,' Kennelly said.

Speaking to RTÉ earlier this month, Coney revealed: 'I'm staying in Ireland for the time being. I was scheduled to go back on 2 January but the time came to make a decision and I decided not to go back. I weighed up my options when I was in Australia. Now I want to keep my options open and I want to be playing football for Ardboe and Tyrone.'

Easy tiger.

At Minor level that statement is probably true!

Quote from: Zapatista on January 20, 2009, 08:36:55 AM
Has Kennelly become Irelands official spokesperson in Austraillia or is it due to lack of options we always get his opinion on these matters?
Aye, pure ridiculous to ask an Irish Sydney Swans player for his opinion on Kyle.

Quote from: Hound on January 20, 2009, 01:01:04 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on January 20, 2009, 08:36:55 AM
Has Kennelly become Irelands official spokesperson in Austraillia or is it due to lack of options we always get his opinion on these matters?
Aye, pure ridiculous to ask an Irish Sydney Swans player for his opinion on Kyle.

It's not just this topic. I don't really care either way I just think his opinion on GAA matters get more air time than his GAA career has earned him. Perhaps we should ask Niall McGinn to hear his point of view too.

Quote from: screenexile on January 20, 2009, 01:00:14 PM
At Minor level that statement is probably true!

I'd take Donie Kingston or Aidan O'Shea ahead of him.

carol6

I dont think he was even the best minor in Tyrone last year. Highly skilful and scorer of spectaular scores yes, but best minor no. That was Peter Harte and there were several others who performed more  consistently than Kyle. The press made him into something he isnt. Nice lad though and a talent worth watching. Great news for Ardboe that he has opted to remain at home

If Harte was the red haired lad then I would agree that he was Tyrones most important player in the drawn game and the replay.

Quote from: Jinxy on January 20, 2009, 02:45:50 PM
If Harte was the red haired lad then I would agree that he was Tyrones most important player in the drawn game and the replay.

Niall Mc Kenna I'd say you're thinking of -- leaping midfielder?

QuoteQuote from: Jinxy on Today at 02:45:50 PM

Niall Mc Kenna I'd say you're thinking of -- leaping midfielder?

No, I'd say he means Harte and I'd agree with him. He has serious pace and was definitely Tyrone's best player over the two matches against Mayo in my opinion. His runs through the middle tore open the Mayo midfield and defence. 

sam03/05

anyone else think that its time the media left this lad alone?
he is afterall just an 18 yr old, who would still be at school if he hadnt went to australia.
time to give the boy a break and allow him to progress through to the Tyrone set up in a year or two.

Quote from: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 02:02:09 AM
Sydney Swans star Tadhg Kennelly believes fellow Irishman Kyle Coney could still return to Australia and resume his AFL career after failing to come back to the club following the Christmas break.

The Tyrone minor star returned to Ireland for Christmas after spending six weeks training with the Swans after signing a two-year rookie contract in November.

Having played with his club, Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa, while at home he chose not to return to Australia at the beginning of January and his future with the club now looks in serious doubt.

However, Kerry native Kennelly insists that Coney could return to the AFL side. Speaking to realfooty.com.au, he said: 'We're still trying to get him back out here, it's not clear cut yet that he's not going to come back. He's indicated he's still thinking about it, so we're still working on it.

'I know it's so hard for an 18-year-old to be on the other side of the world for so long and the thing with Kyle, he'd have a lot of people trying to convince him to stay, and do this and do that, because he's probably the best Gaelic football player in Ireland.

'He was fantastic last year in the Under-18s. He's the next big thing, so why wouldn't they try their best to keep him there?'

The 27-year-old added: 'I haven't spoken with him, I will just leave it to the club. I don't want to sway him either way, and he'll buzz me himself when he's ready. I don't want to step on his toes.'

'I know what it's like, it's that time of the year, and you're with your family and friends, and I remember when it was hard for me to come back when I was in Kyle's situation quite a few years ago,' Kennelly said.

Speaking to RTÉ earlier this month, Coney revealed: 'I'm staying in Ireland for the time being. I was scheduled to go back on 2 January but the time came to make a decision and I decided not to go back. I weighed up my options when I was in Australia. Now I want to keep my options open and I want to be playing football for Ardboe and Tyrone.'

I have seen in different places that were people connected with Sydney have said Coney is being pressured by people in Ireland to stay including Mickey Harte. They dont seem happy with this but seem to think its ok for them to pressure the lad to go back to Austraillia. Not that impressed with Kennelly, he should be letting the lad make up his own mind. Does anyone seriously believe Kennelly will ever play gaelic football for Kerry?

maybe Coney will go straight into the team and Tyrone will buck recent trends and actually win back 2 back AI

then again, maybe Coney will be sitting on the bench a couple of years from now, in the pissing rain at a Tyrone v Fermanagh McKenna cup game. The economy will be in shite and, even though he has a job through the football, it not something that he likes but, as he is constantly told, he should be glad of it and should shut up as he doesnt know how lucky he is, there's thousands on the dole. Mickey Harte isnt looking him in the eyes these days since the bust up but, "f**k it" he says to himself " I train like a dog and I gave up a career in Australia..so what if I had a few pints...I'm only 20..amn't I entitled to some enjoyment". Then again, maybe he doesnt want to play, not after the barraking he got the last day..."Coney you useless whore" they roared, just because he missed a few points. That was a low point alright, though not as bad as when an inter-county "teammate"  laid him out in a club game He can still hear the rival fans now.."gwan off back to Australia ya bollix" they crowed as he was stretchered off, and his family in the crowd listening to it all.
                     Yes, its a hard auld station, he thought to himself....and turned his face back toward the play.The rain had turned to sleet now and was driven into his face by the cold northern wind. His mind wandered to a farway place where a golden sun was setting on what might have been.

....and no,  I dont want Tommy Walsh to leave either but I recognize that is due to my own selfish desire to see my county succeed and not any great concern for the professional, personal or sporting prospects of Tommy Walsh.

time ticking away

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 20, 2009, 07:56:04 PM
maybe Coney will go straight into the team and Tyrone will buck recent trends and actually win back 2 back AI

then again, maybe Coney will be sitting on the bench a couple of years from now, in the pissing rain at a Tyrone v Fermanagh McKenna cup game. The economy will be in shite and, even though he has a job through the football, it not something that he likes but, as he is constantly told, he should be glad of it and should shut up as he doesnt know how lucky he is, there's thousands on the dole. Mickey Harte isnt looking him in the eyes these days since the bust up but, "f**k it" he says to himself " I train like a dog and I gave up a career in Australia..so what if I had a few pints...I'm only 20..amn't I entitled to some enjoyment". Then again, maybe he doesnt want to play, not after the barraking he got the last day..."Coney you useless whore" they roared, just because he missed a few points. That was a low point alright, though not as bad as when an inter-county "teammate"  laid him out in a club game He can still hear the rival fans now.."gwan off back to Australia ya bollix" they crowed as he was stretchered off, and his family in the crowd listening to it all.
                     Yes, its a hard auld station, he thought to himself....and turned his face back toward the play.The rain had turned to sleet now and was driven into his face by the cold northern wind. His mind wandered to a farway place where a golden sun was setting on what might have been.

....and no,  I dont want Tommy Walsh to leave either but I recognize that is due to my own selfish desire to see my county succeed and not any great concern for the professional, personal or sporting prospects of Tommy Walsh.

Thats actually very witty. You're bitterness doesn't usually let this intelligence shine through.

Pity about the climbing on the high moral ground at the end though
canavan is the man canavan is the man ee aye adi ooh.......

Or he could be sitting in Austraillia with sun stroke and not made the breakthrough at the swans. He's had to constantly put up with jibes from aussie players and supporters about him being an Irish softie etc and has suffered from home sickness. Sydney have now released him and he he has no idea were his future lies. Back home some of the players he played at minor with have now graduated to the u21's and seniors picking up all irelands at both levels. They are close to completing a degree and have got numerous job offers for the next year on the back of this. They've balanced playing football with plenty of nights out at uni and have no real worries.