Patrick Kielty and A Night in November

Started by Main Street, September 27, 2008, 08:32:53 PM

If the FAI team played at Windsor Park tonight you would see little change since 1993.

Until the IFA divorces itself from political unionism and loyalism there will be no change.

iluvni

Must ask the opinion here...

would the GAA allow Northern Ireland to play at Croke Park?

Would that be harder to swallow than GSTQ when England rugby team played?

If the Republic was playing the North why would there be a problem?

Quote from: iluvni on October 01, 2008, 05:18:15 PM

would the GAA allow Northern Ireland to play at Croke Park?

They have already allowed it, all that needs to happen now is for them to arrange the match. There was no specifications when opening as to who can and cant play.

By the way, what makes you think it was so "hard to swallow" when GSTQ was played?
For many many GAA folk this wasnt a problem at all. Its is Englands national anthem after all! :o

iluvni

Of course many had their issues with the England anthem that day.  Watching yer man McGurk and the RTE rugby coverage before the game you would have thought that the world was about to end...but it was played and the Republic gave itself  a pat on the back for respecting GSTQ.

Not sure Northern Ireland would be accepted at GAA HQ though. I think that might be a step too far, given the official support for the struggle for national liberation (or whatever the exact wording was).

I suppose you'd have to see Kielty do it in the theatre. Looking at it on the TV, I thought he overplayed Kenneth.
Listening to Marty Maguire speak Kenneth's lines, he brought a bit more wisdom to the acting of that character.

Marie Jones sounds an interesting lively person.

Quote from: iluvni on October 01, 2008, 07:26:49 PM
Not sure Northern Ireland would be accepted at GAA HQ though. I think that might be a step too far, given the official support for the struggle for national liberation (or whatever the exact wording was).

Iluvni, it already has been "accepted" by the GAA.
Otherwise they would have put a stipulation that NI couldnt play there, they didnt. So as much as you would like to think them big bad republicans in the GAA wouldnt have your sort there, you are wrong.

Quote from: iluvni on October 01, 2008, 05:18:15 PM

would the GAA allow Northern Ireland to play at Croaker Park?

as hh already said the gaa in essence have allowed it. in all honesty i had no problem whatsoever with gstq or england playing in cp, hope they do it regularly. personally i would however have a major problem with ni playing there. i'm not going to be arsed debating the rights or wrongs of that but thats how i would feel

Big difference with GTSQ in England is that it is THE National Anthem there and everybody is content with that.
In the 6 NE Counties of Ireland 45% of the poulation have A na bFhiann for a National Anthem yet the (NE)IFA insists on using the National Anthem of the other 55% as their team's anthem.

Anyway you couldnt have the 6 Cos team in Croke Park - the size of the crowd would cause them all to die of fright. I think the RDS would do in the unlikely event of the situation arising.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

MW

Quote from: Donagh on October 01, 2008, 09:37:33 AM
Quote from: MW on September 30, 2008, 09:52:34 PM
By the way on the whole "Kenneth being so shocked at the chant he walked out" thing...

It occurred to me watching the documentary that here's an odd case of 'art' imitating life in a twisted form here.

I remember reading the fanzine 'Arconada...Armstrong' at the next NI game, and the editor (really decent guy who basically ran the fanzine as a one-man show) said that he didn't hear the chant that was alleged to have happened. He said that if he had, he liked to think that he would have left the stadium there and then.

Occurred to you or someone else on OWC?

No, to me. You've read my post on OWC then?

MW

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 28, 2008, 07:50:59 PM
Quote from: MW on September 28, 2008, 05:41:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 27, 2008, 08:32:53 PM
The torture never stops :)

BBC NI Mon 21.00  Patrick Kielty and A Night in November
Blurb:
"A behind the scenes look at the 2007 production of Marie Jones  one-man play, based on events ;D surrounding the 1993 WC Qualifying match."

I'm glad to hear that they are behaving themselves these days. Fortunately throughout those bad old days (before that atmosphere was totally transformed) the good reputation of the Republic fans never suffered by (name) association. Rather, it was enhanced by comparisons.

Though the RoI's team's choice of, ahem, musical entertainment does spring to mind...

See, two can stir that pot of yours if you want to :P

Seriously MW is that the best you can come back with.
Admit the obvious you have a bigotted support (and this shite about it being a small section is bollocks, I´ve been around the University area pre-match and it at isn´t nice!),.
Yes you are trying to change, but it´s a slow process and youse have a hell of a lot of loyalist hangers on baggage.

I won't admit we "have a bigotted support". It is a small section who are a problem, and they have been silenced at matches for the last few years - and hopefully at least some of them have actually seen the error of their ways.

Quote from: MW on October 01, 2008, 10:11:20 PM
they have been silenced at matches for the last few years

Look its easy to be silent playing the Czech republic, the only way to know if things have changed will be for the Republic to play a game of similar importance to the infamous one in WP. Only then can we actually compare.

MW

Quote from: his holiness nb on October 01, 2008, 10:40:50 PM
Quote from: MW on October 01, 2008, 10:11:20 PM
they have been silenced at matches for the last few years

Look its easy to be silent playing the Czech republic, the only way to know if things have changed will be for the Republic to play a game of similar importance to the infamous one in WP. Only then can we actually compare.

I can't conjure up hypothetical situations into reality.

I know this though - in the "normal" games back then there was sectarian singing, and there isn't now.

And even by a year later when NI played the RoI again, things were nowhere near as bad.

reddgnhand

Quote from: Rossfan on October 01, 2008, 08:44:00 PM
Big difference with GTSQ in England is that it is THE National Anthem there and everybody is content with that.
In the 6 NE Counties of Ireland 45% of the poulation have A na bFhiann for a National Anthem yet the (NE)IFA insists on using the National Anthem of the other 55% as their team's anthem.

Anyway you couldnt have the 6 Cos team in Croke Park - the size of the crowd would cause them all to die of fright. I think the RDS would do in the unlikely event of the situation arising.

Is GSTQ England's national anthem. I was told by an English man that the proper anthem is Land of Hope and Glory. l

MW

Quote from: reddgnhand on October 01, 2008, 11:25:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 01, 2008, 08:44:00 PM

Is GSTQ England's national anthem. I was told by an English man that the proper anthem is Land of Hope and Glory. l

I wouldn't think England specifically has an official anthem. 'Land of Hope and Glory' is played for England's Commonwealth Games gold medallists.