Patrick Kielty and A Night in November

Started by Main Street, September 27, 2008, 08:32:53 PM

I must say, the OWC and Unionist arguments have probably done more for this play, sales wise, than any advertising.

I certainly would be interested in seeing the play thats causing all the fuss to be honest.

Me too and only because of the huffing and puffing from certain quarters.

This play not only represents accurately the bigotry and sectarianism at Windsor Park but goes beneath the skin to explore the reasons for it,,ie the British Xenophobia of unionists and the superiority complex that leaves a lot of them surprised to discover that fenians do not in fact house pigs in the parlour or keep coal in their baths.

Also the contrasts in being a North of Ireland fan at a game (grim faced, wear your political allegiance on your sleeve, in contrast with the craic as a real Ireland fan, where you leave your political allegiances outside the gate) are also dramatically and accurately portrayed.

Saw it in Dublin, in the Tivoli, about ten years ago and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Quotebeing a North of Ireland fan at a game (grim faced, wear your political allegiance on your sleeve

Surely you can recognise that Tony, a hardy veteran from the Republic's soccer path of bigotry redemption, has evolved into a better rounded man just like we have to assume Kenneth did when he came home after his USA trip.

if you want to test the non biggoted nature of the average irish soccer fan try going to the the shamrockrovers or fai team match in a linfield jersey .
Probably best to use your mobile to update this site on your progress

Jaysus the poor auld Rovers fans get an awful hard time on here  ;D

I don't know rosnarun,  you could nearly compete with them all, just on your own.

fred the red

is there anywhere to watch this show?

is it worth catching?

A fascinating insight into how this was put together and the background of the main players. What came across was the shame of Marie Jones' (as if she was to blame for the bigots at Windsor Park just be coming from the same background) and Kielty definitly came across in a new light, an extremely talented and thoughful performer. He actually faced a dilemma performing this play (the Loughinisland massacre is referred to at the end) in Dublin on the 20th anniversary of his own father's assassination at the hands of unionist paramilitaries and spoke very well about this. I defy anyone to watch this and not see Patrick Kielty in a whole new light. He is unquestionaly a very talented and intelligent individual and from the excerpts shown he could make it easily as a serious actor.

Jones talent as a playwright also shone through. The end of the play when the character has watched Ireland beat Italy in Eamon Doran's bar in New York was drawn from her own experience (she watched the game there herself) then goes out into the streets of Manhatten full of joy with other Irish people to be told by a New York Cop about the Loughinisland massacre. As Jones said in the interview she expereinced in 5 minutes the extremes of the joy Irish people could bring and the shame and horror of what the lowest form of life can visit on this island

Also a new one on me was the chants at the 1993 game itself of Greysteel 7 Ireland 0. I had heard all about Trick or Treat but surely this 7-0 chant is the lowest form of scumbaggery one could get. >:(

much and all as i disliked the show at least when  i saw dan gordon in it, i could half believe he was a unionist . but Kielty has so much public baggage it impossible to take it seriously .  a play pretending to be a social commentary has a duty to b honest instead what we get a natioanalist pretendiing to be a unionist who doesn't like unionists . alarm bells should ring  when you see names like robert ballagh involved. this is basicly a dishonest play about a turncoat bandwagon jumper but its greatest offence is that it is poorly written

Tony, the Greysteel chant was a new one to me also, was the background sounds for the play taken from the actual game?

Don't know. During last nights documentary they showed footage from the game and this chant was clearly audible. Marie Jones more or less said that it was this chant that motivated her to write the play

iluvni

Clealry audible you say?
What tune was this Greysteel 7 Ireland 0 based upon?

Help us all out here, Mr Bigot.