Huns in trouble after song mocking the famine

Started by T Fearon, September 16, 2008, 10:40:37 AM

The bard of dunclug

As far as Im concerned the song states a very simple question the famine is over go back to your own country?

What is wrong with that? ;)

Quote from: Evil Genius on September 16, 2008, 08:47:58 PM
Once again you fail entirely to respond to my main point, which was that one set of fans complainging about the other is not going to achieve a damned thing.
I am not interested in your agenda or how important you think your point is.
I am not interested in your opinions of Celtic or Rangers fans behaviour.
The facts are that this was a public televised event with national focus.
And the simple fact is that you cynically derided the Irish Embassy for calling to public attention this disgusting racially abusive song as a venture into cheap politiking.

QuoteP.S. Something you forget when having a go at me for apparently not having the "correct" opinion on this anti-Irish abuse by Rangers fans is that I am actually Irish myself. And if my ancestors might not have suffered starvation and emigration themselves during the Famine (and I've no idea, either way), I'm pretty damned sure they weren't living in big Castles and eating big feasts all day, either.
I have a go at you for your nonsensical cynical opinions supported by a whimsical, meandering and deflective style of debate, ie slithering and sliding.
Being an Irishman of mysterious ancestry doesn't absolve you from being confronted by my opinions on all that.

Did Northern Ireland not used to play in Blue? I'm nearly sure they did.

Baile an tuaigh

Quote from: Evil Genius on September 16, 2008, 08:36:05 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on September 16, 2008, 06:06:39 PM
Just while were on the subject of Soccer I was flicking through the channels just the other night. Came across highlights of a N. Ireland Soccer game on Setanta. Now I have to admit that I haven't seen the six County team play in quite a few years. Probably the last time I seen them was that infamous night when they tied 1-1 with the 26 County team in the qualifiers.
So you haven't actually seen anything of the team since a game many years ago. Indeed, you can't even remember how many years ago (1993 was 15 years back, not 13). In fact, you almost certainly weren't even at the original game in question. Yet still you feel qualified to comment on the changes - or lack of - since that time, all on the basis of a set of TV highlights of a recent game...
However, I decided to watch it for the craic, just to see if much had changed in 13 odd years. But it was just the same old same old. More flags than people. British flags and English flags galore and big empty terraces. Now I thought a bout it for a while and I just wondered, why do they even bother playing in green? It is without doubt a very British occasion when these lads play. (which is OK with me) So why not play in blue jerseys or something at least it would match the Countries flag who they claim allegiance to.
More flags than people, eh? Well, having been at the game myself, I can guarantee that the fans were not each carrying two or more flags, so that's total crap, for a start. As for the "British flags" (I assume you mean Union flags), as someone who has been attending NI matches in person for decades now, I can testify that only very few NI fans bring Union Flags to games now, certainly compared with, say, 15 years ago. In fact, these have been replaced by NI flags, or Green and White, or IFA flags etc, this being the NI team, after all. And the only time I've ever seen an England flag at an Ni game is when England are the opposition.
As for the empty terraces, it is years since FIFA banned standing on terraces at competitive international matches. And it is hardly the fault of the NI team or fans if Slovakia were unable to sell even a quarter of their seated capacity. They did, however, move the game to a bigger stadium, since it would easier accommodate the near 2,000 travelling fans which NI brought away with them - in itself a massive change from 15 years ago.
As for our wearing green jerseys, why on earth should we change something we have been doing for the best part of a century? Green is a colour traditionally associated with Ireland and all things Irish, and as a proudly Northern Irish team, this is why it is entirely appropriate for us to continue4 to wear our traditional emerald Green shirts, and with a Celtic Cross and Shamrock design for a badge, at that.
As for "matching our flag", Red and White might do that, but there is no blue in the NI flag. Were you watching in Black and White, by any chance?  The outdated technology would be apt for your outdated views, if you were ::)
Anyhow, I look forward to you firing off an e-mail to the Italian team when they play in Dublin, reminding them that their famous "Azurri" shirts don't match any of the colours on their flag, either...
Just a thought thats all.
Possibly the most crass, ignorant and ill-informed post, cobbled together on the flimsiest of "evidence", I can recall reading since I first had access to the internet.  ::)

The point I was making "evil genius" was that somethings don't change. Time and a more peaceful environment has help softened up old hard attitude's, however slightly though. Which, if there's any improvement at all, in my view is a step in the right direction.

The reason I threw a few thought provoking line's at you was to see your reaction. Your response was interesting which  ended up getting personal was a sure sign I touched a nerve. I know the North Eastern Ireland Soccer team is your passion, which you will defend at all costs. In all fairness fair play. I wouldn't expect any different. However in all honesty it dose not represent me as an Antrim man. Nor dose the twenty six County team either for that matter.

The point I am making is the Northern Irish Soccer team represents the British influence in Ireland. Any negative undertones  are vigorously defended by those who follow them. The green jersey's, Celtic crosses, shamrocks, are by the way  more of an acceptable disguise for what they really stand for. That  this team is a British-Irish team. Something whom many people in this Island hold on to with two hands. For it is one of the last thing's they feel truly represents them and their unique culture. The other team in this Island will use the tri-colour claiming it represents both traditions. And with in that lies the "core" of this debate.   

Yes you are right I am ignorant. But I have yet to meet a human who didn't have some form of ignorance and I am smart enough to know that I never will. 

For those who are interested check out Irish holocaust.org

Turlough O Carolan

Quote from: ziggysego on September 17, 2008, 02:08:05 AM
Did Northern Ireland not used to play in Blue? I'm nearly sure they did.

Ireland played in blue back in the late 1800s.

As disgusting and all as this Huns aria is it surely still doesn't compare to the "Trick or Treat" chants mocking the Greytsteel massacre, by North of Ireland fans in 1993

Final Whistle

Tony, its pr*cks like you that are holding this country back. If the bigots on one side were ignored by the bigots on the other then you would find that the bigots would not have their say anymore. You are a bigot with tunnel vision glasses on. Get a grip of your life instead of coming on here spouting comments intended to get people at each other's throats. Get a girlfriend, f*ck it...get a ride, pay for one if you have to. I know you dont have croker to keep your mind occupied but by keeping your little petty mind fascinated with sectarianism and stoking the flames of mistrust and hatred you are not only ruining your own life but are dragging everyone else down with you.

P.s seen you the other day again. you nearly knocked my car down.

Oh right, so its all my fault then. >:(

Four your info I never shouted trick or treat, nor forced a player into premature retirement by giving him sectarian abuse etc etc.

PS It should have been I saw you the other day, not I seen you. I abhor both sectarianism and bad grammar >:(

Final Whistle

QuoteT Fearon

Re: Huns in trouble after song mocking the famine
« Reply #38 on: Today at 10:29:34 AM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh right, so its all my fault then.

[/b]Four[/b] your info I never shouted trick or treat, nor forced a player into premature retirement by giving him sectarian abuse etc etc.

PS It should have been I saw you the other day, not I seen you. I abhor both sectarianism and bad grammar 

Good grammar there tony. Learn how to spell before opening your venom filled mouth.

No Tony you did not do those things. But you are not letting the wounds heal, get over it. Northern Ireland has changed for the better. Its people like you and the small minded equivalents on the other side that are holding the country back.
I pity you. No life, spiteful, overweight, unbelievably bad dresser whose only highlight on the third sunday in september is the number 16 out of the Thai place on the Garvaghy.

Quote from: Main Street on September 17, 2008, 12:19:47 AM
I am not interested in your agenda or how important you think your point is.
Does this mean you're not interested in debating issues generally, then? Or just not with me (or people who think like me)? Or merely not when I or someone else raises a point which you find difficult to refute?
I am not interested in your opinions of Celtic or Rangers fans behaviour.
The behaviour of Rangers and Celtic fans is what this thread is all about, so in posting on that very topic, I can hardly be accused of deviating from the subject. And since you repeatedly refuse to address my main point (i.e. that Celtic fans complaining about Rangers fans behavior and v.v. will actually achieve little or nothing), then I can only assume that your unwillingness to engage in debate with me is a personal thing. Fair enough, I suppose. But my opinions are at least as valid as yours or anyone elses and if I choose to participate in a forum such as this I will, so you'd better get used to it.
Besides, it is interesting that other posters (J70, Tankie, donalmac99 and GNevin) have expressed opinions which are nearer my side of the debate than yours, yet you do not take issue with them, or show equal disdain for their posts.
The facts are that this was a public televised event with national focus.
It was hardly a "public" event, since the only witnesses either paid to get into the ground, or subscribed to a pay-TV channel. And none of those involved in any way represent any public body, either in Scotland, or the rest of the UK or in the Irish Republic. In fact, these are two private clubs and even if you feel, as I do, that members of one or both of those clubs behaved in a disgusting manner, unless the Police consider that such behaviour constituted a potential breach of the peace, then that is how it should be treated. In which case, the Irish Government might well have an interest, but since these are essentially private events, imo they would have been wiser in reacting accordingly. Oh, and the phrase "with national focus" is pretty meaningless. Jade Goody, for example, is a matter of "national focus"...
And the simple fact is that you cynically derided the Irish Embassy for calling to public attention this disgusting racially abusive song as a venture into cheap politiking.
I am not a politician, so I fail to see how my expressing an opinion constitutes "politickiing", whether cheap or otherwise. Whereas the Irish Embassy is the overseas representative of the Irish Republic Government, so when they take a matter like this into the public forum, it is they who might be accused of "politicking", rather than me. As for the nature of such politicking, I did not say it was "cheap", rather that it was "gesture" politics and futile. Nothing I have heard since on the matter has caused me to revise that opinion.
I have a go at you for your nonsensical cynical opinions
"Nonsensical", eh? Maybe, so why not try addressing them, then, rather than having a pop at me. "And "cynical" as well? Guilty as charged, since my reaction to observing the antics of some of the dregs who attach themselves to the Old Firm clubs is to shake my head and wish a plague on both their houses, and I see no sign of either club making a concerted and effective effort to rid themselves of this disease. Unfortunately, the only alternatives to cynicism which I can see are either naivity or complicity, neither of which appeals to me.
a whimsical, meandering and deflective style of debate, ie slithering and sliding.
A post or two ago you derided me for responding to your post line-by-line. Now I'm being "whimsical", "meandering", "deflective" and "slithering and sliding". Which is it, then, since it can hardly be both?
And speaking of "deflection", is there any chance that you will address my main point, at the third time of asking, which is that in the absence of any genuine attempt to set their own house in order, each set of fans complaining about the others serves no useful purpose whatever?
Being an Irishman of mysterious ancestry doesn't absolve you from being confronted by my opinions on all that.
Whether my responses have been well thought out or not, nowhere have I avoided addressing your opinions - quite the contrary, in fact. You, on the other hand, have responded to a challenge to your opinion with an essentially ad hominem attack on me.
Oh well.  

Quoteif my ancestors might not have suffered starvation and emigration themselves during the Famine (and I've no idea, either way), I'm pretty damned sure they weren't living in big Castles and eating big feasts all day, either.

If you've no idea, why do you think they weren't living in big castles etc?  You've no idea, or you've some idea - which is it?

donalmac99

Quote from: T Fearon on September 17, 2008, 10:29:34 AM
Oh right, so its all my fault then. >:(

Four your info I never shouted trick or treat, nor forced a player into premature retirement by giving him sectarian abuse etc etc.

PS It should have been I saw you the other day, not I seen you. I abhor both sectarianism and bad grammar >:(

nope, but you continue to use sectarian laguage such as 'hun's and describing towns with a majority unionist population as 'black holes'

you and the loyalist bigots deserve each other

thats one of the few the things that unites most right minded nationalists and unionists..........their dislike of  bigots  like yourself.

you are  sick  tony, you really do cut a sad lonely figure to be honest.

(btw what an ironic thread, tony posting with regard to a sick song and using sectarian language in the title whilst he himself penned quite a sick little ditty with regard to an innocent football fan having his jaw broke last week) ::).

who are your next targets tony..........the blacks, the eastern europeans, the romas???? who next Grand Wizard?

Quote from: Evil Genius on September 17, 2008, 11:04:56 AMThe behaviour of Rangers and Celtic fans is what this thread is all about, so in posting on that very topic, I can hardly be accused of deviating from the subject. And since you repeatedly refuse to address my main point (i.e. that Celtic fans complaining about Rangers fans behavior and v.v. will actually achieve little or nothing), then I can only assume that your unwillingness to engage in debate with me is a personal thing. Fair enough, I suppose. But my opinions are at least as valid as yours or anyone elses and if I choose to participate in a forum such as this I will, so you'd better get used to it.
Besides, it is interesting that other posters (J70, Tankie, donalmac99 and GNevin) have expressed opinions which are nearer my side of the debate than yours, yet you do not take issue with them, or show equal disdain for their posts.
I answered Gnevin and in particular the moronic post of Tankie.  Donalmac is an owc troll. I didn't read J70.

You are stuck on that it's Celtic fans complaining, therefore it's a pox on both their houses.

To repeat
I am of the opinion that the song The Famine Song is racially abusive song being sung in a public domain, televised live with national interest.
Any person is within their rights to make a complaint about this song and have it adjudicated upon.
The Irish Embassy have remarked upon it for what appears to me, obvious reasons.
Maybe you are struggling with the idea how a disgusting racially abusive song, reminiscent of those Punch "cartoons", sung by 10k people can be held offensive and insulting by a wider community.
Just as bananas thrown onto the pitch against black footballers is insulting to a wider community outside football.
I'm also of the opinion that the atmosphere is less racially hostile when bananas are not thrown on to the pitch.

As a direct result of the Irish embassy's action, which you derided, this issue has been brought out into the public domain and received extensive publicity.
I predict that if this song is continued to be sung, UEFA will issue a banning order on it and a fine to the club.

Quote from: Main Street on September 17, 2008, 12:59:05 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on September 17, 2008, 11:04:56 AMThe behaviour of Rangers and Celtic fans is what this thread is all about, so in posting on that very topic, I can hardly be accused of deviating from the subject. And since you repeatedly refuse to address my main point (i.e. that Celtic fans complaining about Rangers fans behavior and v.v. will actually achieve little or nothing), then I can only assume that your unwillingness to engage in debate with me is a personal thing. Fair enough, I suppose. But my opinions are at least as valid as yours or anyone elses and if I choose to participate in a forum such as this I will, so you'd better get used to it.
I answered Gnevin and in particular the moronic post of Tankie.  Donalmac is an owc troll. I didn't read J70.

You are stuck on that it's Celtic fans complaining, therefore it's a pox on both their houses.

To repeat
I am of the opinion that the song The Famine Song is racially abusive song being sung in a public domain, televised live with national interest.
Any person is within their rights to make a complaint about this song and have it adjudicated upon.
The Irish Embassy have remarked upon it for what appears to me, obvious reasons.
Maybe you are struggling with the idea how a disgusting racially abusive song, reminiscent of those Punch "cartoons", sung by 10k people can be held offensive and insulting by a wider community.
Just as bananas thrown onto the pitch against black footballers is insulting to a wider community outside football.
I'm also of the opinion that the atmosphere is less racially hostile when bananas are not thrown on to the pitch.

As a direct result of the Irish embassy's action, which you derided, this issue has been brought out into the public domain and received extensive publicity.
I predict that if this song is continued to be sung, UEFA will issue a banning order on it and a fine to the club.

Cop on mainstreet, as i said before the Irish embassy would be constantly complaining about the prods up the north if we are to work on your logic. this is stupid shite that goes on a british soccer games which many of you attend and i'm sure have anti- rangers songs too so dont try make it as simple as black and white. if Irish Celtic fans are so upset maybe they should boycott going to Scotland for soccer match and watch Irish league or rugby or something.

QuoteDonalmac is an owc troll.

Is his post about the songs true though? Ive never heard about celtic fans singing about 6 million jews and prods before