weekend breaks in ireland

Started by kinghen, September 09, 2008, 02:30:27 PM

HiMucker

Quote from: sheamy on April 17, 2012, 03:48:40 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 17, 2012, 03:43:24 PM
Lough Eske castle near donegal town is doing some good deals at the minute.  Lovely spot.  You may be on a promise if you take her there  ;)

Good auld mucker...thinking with the gonads again! Were you at the hairdressers recently?  :D
Short, back and sides is hard to beat...

Hairdresser: short enough?
Mucker: Nah, do another wee bit there....

I got it cut at the weekend, just in time for the start of the new season:)
Your some craic Sheamy!  Sure yous culchies all have that same Mark Lynch marine style hair cut  :D

Hair Dresser:  Is that short enough?
Sheamy:  Aye, just give the nostril and ear hair a trim now
;D :P

Heading to a nice country retreat in Wicklow the weekend, should be great to unwind and get away for a wee break.

Some great deals on pigsback for breaks in Ireland.

Quote from: Bingo on April 17, 2012, 05:11:52 PM

True that. They had a good deal for one of them Blue Book hotels recently.

Take advantage of the supervalu get away breaks deal

Looking to head down to Mullingar for the Antrim match 19th May. Any decent Hostels around that area? Would be a few lads heading, so rough and ready is fine :o
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Bingo on April 17, 2012, 05:11:52 PM
Heading to a nice country retreat in Wicklow the weekend, should be great to unwind and get away for a wee break.

Ring Conal Keaney and tell him you are a Gael and he will cut you a deal.  www.avonri.com

Minus15

Heading down to Cork next weekend with the girlfriend. Any suggestions of things to do during the day / spots to hit in the evenings?

Quote from: Minus15 on April 29, 2012, 08:54:12 PM
Heading down to Cork next weekend with the girlfriend. Any suggestions of things to do during the day / spots to hit in the evenings?

Give Larry Tompkins a shout. Great pub, great host and he'll talk football all night. Dunno what the girlfriend will do though ;)

Quote from: Minus15 on April 29, 2012, 08:54:12 PM
Kartworld in Watergrasshill is a good spot if your Mrs. likes that sort of thing.
http://www.kartworld.ie/

Hard to beat a drive out to Kinsale for a walk about the town and a nice meal, no shortage of fine eateries about. Continue on to Glandore and across the bridge to Union Hall, beautiful little villages with a quaint wee bar that you can pass the evening in.
http://www.unionhall.ie/

City is small enough to walk about, St. Finbarrs cathedral I was impressed with, was a good display in the Crawford art gallery in city centre. http://www.crawfordartgallery.ie/visit.html

Lot of late night bars along Oliver Plunkett St ?? Good drinking places abound.

Meant to say also that Cork people are IMHO the most friendly people in the country...unlike their cagey cousins across the border in Kerry....takes a while to get to know the hoors but after that friends for life...

You'll have a great time in Langerland.

glens abu

Heading to Carton House in a few weeks for golf break,heard its fairly quiet at night ,anyone ever been and could suggest where to eat etc;

maggie

Quote from: Mac Eoghain on May 02, 2012, 11:29:28 AM
Quote from: glens abu on May 02, 2012, 11:25:19 AM
Heading to Carton House in a few weeks for golf break,heard its fairly quiet at night ,anyone ever been and could suggest where to eat etc;

I think it is USUALLY a quiet place at night, although we were down 2 years ago for wedding anniversary, complete wrecking session in the next room for most of the night. Turned out to be a Corrie 'star' who ended up paying for our weekend break. The bolix.

Who was it?

Minus15

5 sams / spuds thanks for the info heading tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.

give her dixie

Can't recommend this place highly enough.

If you are looking for an alternative to hotels, why not stay in a Mongolian Yurt in the heart
of Co. Westmeath.

Mention my name for a discount.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Boutique-Camping-Ireland/130795103667457

http://boutiquecamping.ie/
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

gawa316

Heading to the Mount Wolseley in Carlow in June for the sister's 40th with the whole family (6 kids). We are renting the houses out. Seems like a great spot for families as there is loads to do for kids. Anyone ever been?