Lyng's goal on Sunday, better than Mulligan's 2005 effort?

Started by T Fearon, September 02, 2008, 09:19:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AZOffaly

The rule

1.4 When a player is in possession of the ball, it
may be:-
(a) carried for a maximum of four consecutive
steps or held in the hand(s) for no longer
than the time needed to take four steps;
(b) played from the foot to the hand(s)
-toe-tapped.
(c) bounced once, and once after each toe-tap;
(d) changed from one hand to the other once,
with the original holding hand maintaining
contact until the change is completed;

(e) struck with the open hand(s) or fist,
provided there is a definite striking action;
(f) tossed for a kick, a toe-tap or a pass with
the hand(s).
The ball may be knocked from an opponent's
hand(s) by flicking it with the open hand.

Mulligan didn't throw it. (Did he change hands more than once though? - The rule is explicit about bouncing once, and once after each solo, but doesn't say anything like that re changing hands).


AZOffaly

He did change hands twice, but he certainly didn't throw it.

Hardy

I should know better than to participate in Fearon's playground drivel but on the Mulligan goal, the way I see it is that he never changed hands at all. As far as I can see, he has both hands on the ball, then takes his right hand off it and extends his left arm, holding the ball in his left hand, then returns to holding it with both hands. He does this twice. But  the rule only mentions changing from one hand to the other. There's nothing about changing from two hands to one.

Another question arises. When it says you can only do this once, what does this mean? Once in what period? Presumably not once a game or once a week. I presume it means once per possession, but what is a possession? I would assume each time you play the ball (solo, hop) it's a new possession. But who can say for sure? It's just another example of how badly written the rule book is.

[Edit] Sorry - just re-read the rule and it's clear it applies "when a player is in possession of the ball". The fact that the hop, solo etc come under that heading as well would seem to imply that each solo or hop does not start a new possession.

Anyway, what's the purpose of this rule? I can see some logic in banning throwing it to yourself, but why can you change hands only once? To prevent people selling dummies - one of the great skills of the game?

T Fearon

Only fools buy dummies, and only two Dublin fools buy the same dummy in quick succession.

Personal likes, dislikes, prejudices or other factors do not come into it. Quite simply Lyng's was the better goal, in terms of bravery, foresight, quality of defender evaded, comparitie time on the ball and clinical execution....in my opinion of course.

orangeman

Quote from: T Fearon on September 02, 2008, 01:05:18 PM
Only fools buy dummies, and only two Dublin fools buy the same dummy in quick succession.

Personal likes, dislikes, prejudices or other factors do not come into it. Quite simply Lyng's was the better goal, in terms of bravery, foresight, quality of defender evaded, comparitie time on the ball and clinical execution....in my opinion of course.

You're 100% right Tony ! And everyone here thinks you're right as well !

full back

And we all know about your opinion Tony........ ;)

Lyng had the whole net to aim at as the keeper went to ground well before he kicked it.
Poor goalkeeping contributed to it

the green man


Over the Bar

Quotethe greatest GAA goal of all time belongs to Seamus Darby, .

Greatest impact yes, but not greater technique or individuality.  Had he scored it at the start of the game it would barely be shown again. 

Quotebut id say the track of the nappy wasnt even on yer hole when that happened

Some of us on the board watched football before 1999.  You'll be telling us Armagh that were the greatest team of the last 10 years next.

lynchbhoy

Quote from: man in black on September 02, 2008, 10:47:43 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 02, 2008, 10:45:07 AM
Quote from: man in black on September 02, 2008, 10:43:27 AM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on September 02, 2008, 10:36:47 AM
Quote from: man in black on September 02, 2008, 09:45:28 AM
mulligans goal was illegal

doesn't it show you how stupid some of the rules are when you have a ref here telling us it was illegal...thank god you were not in charge of that game...fussy p***k

You cannot throw the ball from one hand to the other. Yellow card for Maximus Dickamus
he didnt throw the ball from one hand to the other

fantastic and legitimate goal.


Yes he did, and the number of steps taken was dubious also.
well we will never agree on this then.
Ball never thrown between hands and steps not contentious either.

I hope that you are NOT a referee !
..........

his holiness nb

As a "Dub/victim" of Mulligans goal, I would like to state that its pretty clear that Mulligan did NOT throw the ball from hand to hand. Totally legal.
Ask me holy bollix

his holiness nb

Quote from: Over the Bar on September 02, 2008, 02:09:09 PM
QuoteAs a "Dub/victim" of Mulligans goal, I would like to state that its pretty clear that Mulligan did NOT throw the ball from hand to hand. Totally legal.

2 fat-headed Armagh posters disagree  ..... now there's a surprise!

Fat headed Armagh poster  ???

I've been called several things on here, but thats definately a new one  ;D
Ask me holy bollix

ziggysego

Just a little reminder for you Tony ;)

Quote from: T Fearon on August 18, 2008, 03:04:18 PM
If they win this year's All Ireland title I will acknowledge the achievement and accord full credit.
Testing Accessibility

ziggysego

Testing Accessibility

Canalman

I've said this before.....Mulligan's goal looked better on TV than in CP that day. Basically, when Christie was beaten to the ball and slipped the goal was a definite as Tyrone had a  2 man overlap. Mulligan's dummies were effective as a result of this overlap, which TV barely picks up. Imo this was a goal that would have been scored in any event. Was seated in lower Hogan Stand and had a great view of the whole move. No agenda here just giving my opinion.

The best goal I ever saw in CP is a toss up betweem Liam Hayes' (I think) v Dublin in 1988 League final replay or Keith Barr's v Kildare in (once again I think) 1993 Leinster final or the earlier Lgue final.
Have also a soft spot for a goal scored by Meath against Armagh when a Meath player on the ground brilliantly dispossessed an Armagh back of the ball leading to a goal. Really liked it as it epitomized the saying that you should never give up in the game of football.
The Meath boys will no doubt correct me but I think the tackle was made by Giles in a lgue fiinal.