Aidan O'Mahony = Pathetic

Started by Tankie, August 24, 2008, 05:21:53 PM

Don't think people will remember it beyond this season. I'm glad there is uproar about it for the moment though. Next weekend I'd say everyone will be on their best behaviour.
Even Dooher. ;)

As a nordie, we should be supporting the Tyronies on Sunday
But I have a slight concern, because of the hype over the O' Mahoney incident, that Jordan & Dooher wont be able to play their natural games  ;)

Should make Sundays game a lot tighter

I'd expct that in the same way that a soccer player missing an open net from 1 yard is now known as doing a "Ronnie Rosental",  GAA fans forevermore will refer to a dying swan theatrical dive an "O'Mahoney". 

On reflection, I feel sorry for him in a way too, while still being outraged at what he did. It's an old-fashioned idea, but we should concentrate on condemning the sin, not the sinner.

I can understand how constant exposure to this sort of carry on gradually causes it to seep into the consciousness as the standard response. People who wouldn't dream of doing it if they had time to think about it, find themselves doing it spontaneously because it seems to be what you do in this circumstance. It's a bit like the way people copy other modes of behaviour without thinking about it, like saying "you know" in every sentence, or something like that.

It's no excuse, of course, just like saying "I was drunk, yer honour" doesn't get you off a criminal charge, but I sort of understand it. But he will have done the game a service if the widespread revulsion at his behaviour alerts players to the need to cut this shite out. In time, I hope he can console himself that that's a positive legacy.

On_the_Couch

Someone up above referred to the Mickey Ned O'Sullivan incident in the 70s and I wonder if like Hardy above AOMs behaviour is essentially learned.  Without harping back too much to be past has this sort of behaviour crept in as a result of the introduction of the personal foul rules in the mid-80s and the black, yellow and red cards of the 90s? 

Prior to that it was left to the referees discretion and as can be seen from the Mickey Ned incident that was pretty lax.  In todays game all four Dublin players involved would have been yellow carded and at least 1 sent off.   Perhaps it is time to loosen the shackles on the referees and let them be the final arbiter rather than over-reliance on a strict interpretation of the rule book and recourse to the CCCC and DRA and Central council, etc, etc.  Or is that too risky?

crossfire

I wonder will O' Mahony have "fully recovered" in time for the replay.?  :) :) :)

Quote from: On_the_Couch on August 26, 2008, 11:34:29 AM
Perhaps it is time to loosen the shackles on the referees and let them be the final arbiter rather than over-reliance on a strict interpretation of the rule book and recourse to the CCCC and DRA and Central council, etc, etc.  Or is that too risky?

Far too risky IMHO
It might not be too bad at county level but at club level there would be anarchy (in my county anyway)
Imagine giving referee's that sort of power :D

On_the_Couch

Far too risky IMHO
It might not be too bad at county level but at club level there would be anarchy (in my county anyway)
Imagine giving referee's that sort of power :D

I doubt there'd be anarchy - I just think that now referees are too involved in counting the precise number of personal fouls collected by players rather than using their judgement on the tempo of a game and the seriousness of a particular foul - hence you get the ridiculous situation where a quick tug on a jersey can ultimately have the same sanction as punching the head off your opponenet, i.e being sent off.  I know the personal foul rule was introduced to reduce the amount of persistent fouling that takes place - but I don't know if it is really working as intended and I bet there has been no serious analysis within the GAA heirarchy to determine if it is. 

I also think that the more public the warning, i.e. the yellow card, the more open a player is to being baited into a reaction to earn the second yellow card.  Surely the less bureaucracy a referee has to administer during the game can only improve their handling of the game.

With some of the referee's in our county there would be anarchy

Dooher: 'diving' in GAA not a problem

By Donnchadh Boyle

Tuesday August 26 2008

TYRONE captain Brian Dooher has denied that 'playacting' and diving is creeping into Gaelic football.

His comments follow Cork's Donnacha O'Connor's dismissal against Kerry in Croke Park on Sunday when Aidan O'Mahony went down dramatically after an altercation between the pair.

And Dooher himself also came in for criticism for his reaction after a clash with Westmeath's Doran Harte which saw the Leinster man receive his marching orders. However, the forward played down the issue.

"It doesn't concern me," he said. "I don't think it is creeping into the game. Things happen but I wouldn't be reading too much into it.

"Nobody wants to see any cheating of any sort," he agreed. "It's up to the referee to deal with it. If he thinks there is something underhand going on then he should get it sorted out there and then."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dooher-diving-in-gaa-not-a-problem-1463107.html

:o

JMohan

This is much the same as the Fergal Doherty & Rory Kavanagh incident

Ironically there was a similar incident with Doherty vs Clerkin in Clones and I saw the best bit of refereeing that day ... the ref told Clerkin to get up and get on with it!

I know the referee has to abide by the rules but more common sense from referees would help stamp it out too. For example now we know (courtesy of O'Mahony) that if you lie down you can get a man sent off - rather if the ref had told O'Mahony to get up (or booked him) there would be a lot less incentive to lie down!

I wonder would McEnaney have sent him off?

News just in - Cork's Donncha O'Connor is going to appeal his sending off !!!!!

Will he get a reprieve ??

Will O'Mahony get punished instead ??

We haven't heard the last of it yet !

Thank God for Frank Murphy !  ;) :D

feetofflames

Fair play to Dooher for leading from the front on this.  I hope all other captains take the same stance.  
Chief Wiggum

Quote from: Uladh on August 26, 2008, 04:04:27 PM

Dooher: 'diving' in GAA not a problem

By Donnchadh Boyle

Tuesday August 26 2008

TYRONE captain Brian Dooher has denied that 'playacting' and diving is creeping into Gaelic football.

His comments follow Cork's Donnacha O'Connor's dismissal against Kerry in Croke Park on Sunday when Aidan O'Mahony went down dramatically after an altercation between the pair.

And Dooher himself also came in for criticism for his reaction after a clash with Westmeath's Doran Harte which saw the Leinster man receive his marching orders. However, the forward played down the issue.

"It doesn't concern me," he said. "I don't think it is creeping into the game. Things happen but I wouldn't be reading too much into it.

"Nobody wants to see any cheating of any sort," he agreed. "It's up to the referee to deal with it. If he thinks there is something underhand going on then he should get it sorted out there and then."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dooher-diving-in-gaa-not-a-problem-1463107.html

:o

Who from? He took a hefty swipe from the Westmeath player.....

As far as I am concerned Dooher is a persistent diver, feighner of injury. He got a light clip from the w'meath player but it was his reaction that was the problem. He lay down like he had been knifed. Funny how it is mainly Tyrone people who defend him. Its not the first time hes done it either. Now Peter Canavan took some serious abuse in games and to the best of my knowledge he never lay down. That is why Canavan is one of the players I most admired and if Dooher started relying on his sizeable talent instead of messing I would admire him too. However, as it stands - asking a serial diver what is he thinks diving is an issue in GAA is a bit ridiculous.