Quote from: heffo on August 24, 2008, 07:58:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 07:53:14 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 24, 2008, 07:50:04 PM
Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 07:33:34 PM
Quote from: gorm agus bui on August 24, 2008, 07:06:33 PM
Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 05:54:12 PM
He really should be banned (and anyone else who acts like that) for the sake of the game.

He's a Garda isn't he?
Wasn't he suspended form the Garda for a while a couple of years ago.Maybe not as white as white the lad
Was he?
Don't remember that .... was that not Declan Quill?

O'Mahoney was charged with two counts of breach of the peace and interfering with a guard in Killarney  - he was found not guilty on all counts.

Declan Quill was charged with assault of a woman and was also acquitted..
[/b]

Take this shiter somewhere else and talk about the football Heffo and the rest of ye !

Both cases are a matter of public record - I pointed out that they were both acquitted.
[/b]

I know but still not relevant !

I must say, this rightgeous indignation is very entertaining  :D

I cant condone what Aidan O'Mahony did and I think someone in the Kerry camp needs to take him aside and tell that these Tyrone tactics have no place in Kerry's game.

Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:01:09 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 24, 2008, 07:58:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 07:53:14 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 24, 2008, 07:50:04 PM
Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 07:33:34 PM
Quote from: gorm agus bui on August 24, 2008, 07:06:33 PM
Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 05:54:12 PM
He really should be banned (and anyone else who acts like that) for the sake of the game.

He's a Garda isn't he?
Wasn't he suspended form the Garda for a while a couple of years ago.Maybe not as white as white the lad
Was he?
Don't remember that .... was that not Declan Quill?

O'Mahoney was charged with two counts of breach of the peace and interfering with a guard in Killarney  - he was found not guilty on all counts.

Declan Quill was charged with assault of a woman and was also acquitted..
[/b]

Take this shiter somewhere else and talk about the football Heffo and the rest of ye !

Both cases are a matter of public record - I pointed out that they were both acquitted.
[/b]

I know but still not relevant !

It's not relevant in terms of the match or anything else, but rather than have allegations floating the thread, I clarified the matter.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2008, 08:01:37 PM
I must say, this rightgeous indignation is very entertaining  :D

I cant condone what Aidan O'Mahony did and I think someone in the Kerry camp needs to take him aside and tell that these Tyrone tactics have no place in Kerry's game.

They'll probably bring him in front of Master Galvin in the morning instead !!  ;) ;D :D :D :D

It was pathetic indeed, perhaps a few suspensions handed out for this type f behavior would cut it out. It makes me sick to see talented players acting in this manner. It makes me even more sick to see people of my own county do it.

QuoteI think someone in the Kerry camp needs to take him aside and tell that these Tyrone tactics have no place in Kerry's game.

No player in the history of the game from any county has ever carried out as shameful an act of cowardice.

Mike, along with your 35 or whatever All-Ireland's your county now has the ultimate Hall of Shame award!  Well done!

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 24, 2008, 07:56:16 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:47:49 PM
I'm obviously going to have to spell this out: if the GAA use an interpretation based on a dictionary-definition of the word "strike", as you seem to think they either do or should, then I will accept that. Once again, I have not seen anywhere where this is stated. Have you?

What the f**k else are they gonna use? Strike = hit repeatedly with a baseball bat?  ???

If they are going to make their own definition of strike, then they are going to have to define it. They don't, therefore the standard dictionary definition applies.

Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:47:49 PM
Having just looked at an online dictionary, there are numerous different definitions of the word for its various uses. One of them is "to hit". A slap, playful, gentle or not, is a hit, as far as I am aware. And the same source, freedictionary.com, defines to slap as "To strike with a flat object, such as the palm of the hand."  

"To hit sharply, as with the hand, the fist, or a weapon."
"To inflict (a blow)"
"To deal a blow or blows with or as if with the fist or a weapon; hit."

Do you still think the word "strike" means any kind of contact at all?

You're the one sending people to the dictionaries, but then complaining when the definitions therein don't agree with what you think they should mean.

"Strike", as understood by me, in terms of the rules of the game, means any kind of intentional slap or blow with the hands, arms, feet, head or whatever. You give someone a slap on the face, gentle or not, that is a strike to me. You obviously feel differently, and as I said, if the GAA interpret it the same way you do, I will accept that.

Ahem - Brian McGuigan in the drawn 2003 ulster final after greg McCartan threw the ball at him?
- Phillip Jordan in the 2003 AI final after Marsden swatted him off him?

He should at least have been Yellow Carded,  idiotic behaviour which could have provoked a reaction

JMohan

Quote from: Duine Eile on August 24, 2008, 07:42:05 PM
Ah lads seriously, yes he acted the twit today but leave his private life out of it.
Agreed

Hand wringing should be an olympic sport,the GAA Board would clean up. Maybe they will get it introduced for 2012

Quote from: Uladh on August 24, 2008, 08:10:47 PM
Ahem - Brian McGuigan in the drawn 2003 ulster final after greg McCartan threw the ball at him?
- Phillip Jordan in the 2003 AI final after Marsden swatted him off him?

I suppose you could add to the list if you wanted to and Armagh would have their fare share.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 08:09:54 PM
You're the one sending people to the dictionaries, but then complaining when the definitions therein don't agree with what you think they should mean.

Where was I complaining?

If your on about the first part of the post - that was clearly in reference to your question of what definition are they going to use - and it will obviously be the dictionary definition (obviously because the GAA don't define their own).

Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 08:09:54 PM
"Strike", as understood by me, in terms of the rules of the game, means any kind of intentional slap or blow with the hands, arms, feet, head or whatever. You give someone a slap on the face, gentle or not, that is a strike to me. You obviously feel differently, and as I said, if the GAA interpret it the same way you do, I will accept that.

Fair enough.
i usse an speelchekor

tyroneStatto

i know its a different code but today's strike/slap (whatever you wish to call it) was the same kind of contact dida received from the celtic supporter in last years champions league. dida received a ban (not a large one by any means) but he still got banned for bringing the game into disrepute. it's time for the GAA to make an example of O'Mahony.

The incidents like Jordan, Bellew, McGuigan, Padraig Clancy etc you see every year in championship games in some shape or another.

O'Mahoney has taken it to a whole new leverl and makes all those incidents look like criminal assaults.

Thankfully this one belongs to Spillane's own Kerry.  The sanctimonious crap they have spouted for years has been nullified by one of their own disgracing his team, the GAA, Croke Park and himself.   It should be played during the opening credits of the Sunday Game for eternity.