Aidan O'Mahony = Pathetic

Started by Tankie, August 24, 2008, 05:21:53 PM

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 24, 2008, 07:18:44 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:10:16 PM
From the rules it would appear always.

No it wouldn't.

"Strike" as a term is defined as "hit sharply" or deliver a "sharp blow". The quantification does not need to be defined by the rulebook, the word itself defines it.

Yer man was dismissed for a playful slap. That is not a strike.

If your interpretation is the one the GAA uses, fine, I'll accept that. I have seen no evidence to suggest that it is though, and one would expect to see some mention of referee discretion discretion when it comes to interpreting the gentle slap to all-out strike continuum in the rule book

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:24:46 PM
If your interpretation is the one the GAA uses, fine, I'll accept that. I have seen no evidence to suggest that it is though, and one would expect to see some mention of referee discretion discretion when it comes to interpreting the gentle slap to all-out strike continuum in the rule book

"My" interpretation?

I suggest you go get hold of a dictionary.
i usse an speelchekor

JMohan

Quote from: gorm agus bui on August 24, 2008, 07:06:33 PM
Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 05:54:12 PM
He really should be banned (and anyone else who acts like that) for the sake of the game.

He's a Garda isn't he?
Wasn't he suspended form the Garda for a while a couple of years ago.Maybe not as white as white the lad
Was he?
Don't remember that .... was that not Declan Quill?

He was sent back to repeat his training after an incident in a bar

Duine Eile

Ah lads seriously, yes he acted the twit today but leave his private life out of it.

Tatler Jack

Quote from: Uladh on August 24, 2008, 07:39:10 PM

He was sent back to repeat his training after an incident in a bar

Accurately and delicately put!!

whatever about the merits of the slap/strike, would anything have happened if O'Mahony hadn't dived to the ground?

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 24, 2008, 07:27:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:24:46 PM

"My" interpretation?

I suggest you go get hold of a dictionary.

I'm obviously going to have to spell this out: if the GAA use an interpretation based on a dictionary-definition of the word "strike", as you seem to think they either do or should, then I will accept that. Once again, I have not seen anywhere where this is stated. Have you?

Having just looked at an online dictionary, there are numerous different definitions of the word for its various uses. One of them is "to hit". A slap, playful, gentle or not, is a hit, as far as I am aware. And the same source, freedictionary.com, defines "to slap" as "To strike with a flat object, such as the palm of the hand."  

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: ludermor on August 24, 2008, 07:45:50 PM
whatever about the merits of the slap/strike, would anything have happened if O'Mahony hadn't dived to the ground?

I highly doubt it.

His dive got the man sent off.
i usse an speelchekor

QuoteShades of wee Peter gettin Rooster Mc Cusker sent off in the '95 ulster semi final.

My abiding memory of that game was Pascal using Barton's head as a speedball.......

Quote from: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 07:33:34 PM
He really should be banned (and anyone else who acts like that) for the sake of the game.

He's a Garda isn't he?
Wasn't he suspended form the Garda for a while a couple of years ago.Maybe not as white as white the lad
Was he?

O'Mahoney was charged with two counts of breach of the peace and interfering with a guard in Killarney  - he was found not guilty on all counts.

Declan Quill was charged with assault of a woman and was also acquitted..

Quote from: heffo on August 24, 2008, 07:50:04 PM

He's a Garda isn't he?
Was he?

O'Mahoney was charged with two counts of breach of the peace and interfering with a guard in Killarney  - he was found not guilty on all counts.

[/b]

Take this shiter somewhere else and talk about the football Heffo and the rest of ye !

rory

The rule is under the heading 'Aggressive Fouls' and includes the word striking.  So I would imagine this is for aggressive striking, which a slight slap certainly isn't.

If you want to read the rule literally and think any contact using the hand is a strike and a red card, then every time you attempt to tackle and do not hit the ball , you would get sent off.

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:47:49 PM
I'm obviously going to have to spell this out: if the GAA use an interpretation based on a dictionary-definition of the word "strike", as you seem to think they either do or should, then I will accept that. Once again, I have not seen anywhere where this is stated. Have you?

What the f**k else are they gonna use? Strike = hit repeatedly with a baseball bat?  ???

If they are going to make their own definition of strike, then they are going to have to define it. They don't, therefore the standard dictionary definition applies.

Quote from: J70 on August 24, 2008, 07:47:49 PM
Having just looked at an online dictionary, there are numerous different definitions of the word for its various uses. One of them is "to hit". A slap, playful, gentle or not, is a hit, as far as I am aware. And the same source, freedictionary.com, defines to slap as "To strike with a flat object, such as the palm of the hand."  

"To hit sharply, as with the hand, the fist, or a weapon."
"To inflict (a blow)"
"To deal a blow or blows with or as if with the fist or a weapon; hit."

Do you still think the word "strike" means any kind of contact at all?
i usse an speelchekor

Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 07:53:14 PM
Quote from: heffo on August 24, 2008, 07:50:04 PM

He's a Garda isn't he?
Was he?

O'Mahoney was charged with two counts of breach of the peace and interfering with a guard in Killarney  - he was found not guilty on all counts.

[/b]

Take this shiter somewhere else and talk about the football Heffo and the rest of ye !

Both cases are a matter of public record - I pointed out that they were both acquitted.