Aidan O'Mahony = Pathetic

Started by Tankie, August 24, 2008, 05:21:53 PM

RadioGAAGAA

Anyone that believes that episode yesterday was worthy of a red card needs to go away and grow a set of balls...

or f**k off and watch the ponces play soccer.

i usse an speelchekor

Frank Casey

As a Kerryman I was less than impressed by Aidan's oscar winning performance yesterday. I'm in no way excusing or diverting attention from it by saying he's not the first to try this sort of s**te and unfortunately will not be the last. Some of the rules experts might correct me but I this that his actions could have attracted a yellow card if the ref determined that he was attempting to get another player sent off. However the only thing that his actions have attracted are ridicule and the attentions of a couple of Hollywood agents.

I have found the comments of a few posters regarding Aidan's off field life and that of Declan Quill be be as low as Aidans acting on the Croke Park pitch.
KERRY 3:7

Muzz

Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 25, 2008, 02:58:59 PM
Anyone that believes that episode yesterday was worthy of a red card needs to go away and grow a set of balls...

It was a red card!!!  He shouldn't have lifted his hands.  We cannot have a law now where the referee can decide on the punishment a player should get determined by the force of his slap/punch.  They find it hard getting anything else right.

The reaction of Aidan is bad.  But I cannot blame him.  I've asked before and I will ask again - If he had of stood his ground would the ref have taken the same action?  It is the inconsistency with refs that cause players to take the law of the game into their own hands or act like they do to ensure that the correct action is taken.

Quote from: Muzz on August 25, 2008, 03:17:29 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 25, 2008, 02:58:59 PM

It was a red card!!!  He shouldn't have lifted his hands.  We cannot have a law now where the referee can decide on the punishment a player should get determined by the force of his slap/punch.  They find it hard getting anything else right.

The reaction of Aidan is bad.  But I cannot blame him.  I've asked before and I will ask again - If he had of stood his ground would the ref have taken the same action?  It is the inconsistency with refs that cause players to take the law of the game into their own hands or act like they do to ensure that the correct action is taken.

Tell me, what would the problem be with the ref NOT taking the action he did. Lets say O'Mahony stood up like a man and walked away. What advantage have Cork gained? What disadvantage are Kerry at? This wasn't a fella going down to win a cheap free. This was a fella going down with one intention alone. To get the Cork man sent off. The ball was dead while this was going on. O'Mahony wasn't hurt. He'd even instigated the incident himself by roaring in O'Connors face like an escaped mental patient. Do you actually genuinely think it would have been an injustice if O'Mahony had just walked away after the little slap and O'Connor had stayed on the field? Would the CCC be looking at the incident this morning with a view to suspending O'Connor? No, they wouldn't. Because it was nothing.

easytiger

Just another auld fogey here - does anyone remember the late, great Mick Holden and his own thoughts on diving - reefing Barney Rock up off the ground?

In my own playing days showing any kind of weakness or going down was completely disdained - you wouldn't want to give your man any ideas.

O'Mahoney was a joke - and as someone has already said, it may just be our very own Rivaldo moment. The irony is that the fuss this is causing is in part fueled by Kerry's own tradition of "pure football". We might use this moral outrage to maybe get a new rule in specifically dealing with simulation. It's the worst thing in the game at the moment.

The funny thing is, anyone who knows Kerry, knows they were never that pure to begin with.

Also the amount of goading going on yesterday was brutal - I know the Dubs have been castigated for it in the past, but I've thought over the last two seasons it has become widespread. I noticed Kerry lads at it in the semi final last year as well. You'd think that they. of all counties, would have least need of it.

i think there is a bigger discussion in all this - when does the will to win override sportmanship, and should we tolerate it? As a Dub, i have more experience than most with crushing disappointment, but if the hallowed day does come, I'd like to think we'll win with a style of football distinctive to dublin, and with a fair amount of grace. I think the 1995 team embodied the character to overcome disappointment, and win eventually, with an amount of humility - though I'm sure some Tyrone posters will disagree. In our pursuit of evermore professional standards, are the Corinthian ideals of the GAA being lost? I really can't imagine too many of yesterday's players putting their differences aside off the pitch after the result is decided, unlike say Dublin/Meath 1991.

The qualifier system throws counties together again and again - the amount of bitterness this can generate is unreal. I'd hate to think of us nearing a soccer mentality both on and off the pitch. There's a lot to be said for the old championship format - not the least of which was having a summer consisting of only one match gave a bit of perspective to it - leave nothing behind on the day and put away the disappointment afterwards.

Big Mickey

i dont care what you say,o'connor shouldnt get sent off,people have got to start using abit of common sense here and start apllying the rules in the correct way,a striking action for me is with the closed fist,and perhaps a hard slap around the ear with the open hand (just like ur mother would do!! ;)) these offences deserve red. referees have got to start applying the rules better and using abit of cop on. another thing,this thing about lift ur hands and ur off is a load of rubbish,thats come from across the water pansy football.

and as regards overreacting,palyers needa toughen up.personally,when if i get a knock or heavy hit,i wont lie down as no1 shows the fella im hurt which i wouldnt like and secondly,means that if he does get sent off i dont ave a chance to get the b*****d back before the end of the game.

oh finally,if omahony (or any other player for that matter) screamed in my face like that,id ave buried him and made sure he stayed down.

Quote from: Big Mickey on August 25, 2008, 03:40:01 PM
i dont care what you say,o'connor shouldnt get sent off,people have got to start using abit of common sense here and start apllying the rules in the correct way,a striking action for me is with the closed fist,and perhaps a hard slap around the ear with the open hand (just like ur mother would do!! ;)) these offences deserve red. referees have got to start applying the rules better and using abit of cop on. another thing,this thing about lift ur hands and ur off is a load of rubbish,thats come from across the water pansy football.

and as regards overreacting,palyers needa toughen up.personally,when if i get a knock or heavy hit,i wont lie down as no1 shows the fella im hurt which i wouldnt like and secondly,means that if he does get sent off i dont ave a chance to get the b*****d back before the end of the game.

oh finally,if omahony (or any other player for that matter) screamed in my face like that,id ave buried him and made sure he stayed down.
[/b]

Good one Mickey - you'd have got a yellow card for that then ! Good job you're not playing for the seniors !  ;D ;D

RadioGAAGAA

i usse an speelchekor

feetofflames

With Hardys new rule to implement perhaps O Mahony could be retrospectively punished for his indiscretion.  The discipline guros must make their choice now.  Do they want players to be going down as quickly and as dramatically as a modern day Linda Lovelace or are they for acting on it. 
Chief Wiggum

A referee gets one look at an incident. Its a bit much to expect him to be able to accurately evaluate the ferocity of the slap or punch and to make a decision based on that. A prohibition on all types of strike, no matter how apparently harmless, as appears to exist now, is the best and most simple answer. If you don't want to get sent off, then keep your hands (or feet or elbow or whatever) to yourself. If a referee interprets an apparent strike as an over-zealous or careless attempt at a tackle and only awards a yellow card, that is a different issue.

Quote from: J70 on August 25, 2008, 04:09:53 PM
A referee gets one look at an incident. Its a bit much to expect him to be able to accurately evaluate the ferocity of the slap or punch and to make a decision based on that. A prohibition on all types of strike, no matter how apparently harmless, as appears to exist now, is the best and most simple answer. If you don't want to get sent off, then keep your hands (or feet or elbow or whatever) to yourself. If a referee interprets an apparent strike as an over-zealous or careless attempt at a tackle and only awards a yellow card, that is a different issue.

Agreed. The rule book is fine in this case and the ref was correct.

Some of the arguments here are gas. One enlightened poster wants the Kerry manager to drop him for diving. Did you ever do anything remotely competitive in your live? Despite the odd diplomatic posting here will any Kerry poster give a fiddlers about this next year if Kerry lift Sam?

The high moral ground being adopted here by some is hypocritical in the extreme. In an attempt to vilifiy a player for a ridiculous dive some are condoning striking a player. One even calls anyone against this position 'rulebook heroes'. I take it Jinksy you advocate no rulebook?

If the refs were all like yesterday that would put an end to pointless slapping or striking. Then you can deal with the divers but if you try to argue that it is ok in some cases to strike an opponents head, off the ball, then you will have to life with the consequences which will be either a retaliatory punch, a mass brawl or a stupid dive.

Despite the race to the high moral ground not a single poster yet has suggested O'Mahoney that should have just taken the slap and walked away quietly.

Quote from: muppet on August 25, 2008, 04:45:32 PM

Agreed. The rule book is fine in this case and the ref was correct.

Some of the arguments here are gas. One enlightened poster wants the Kerry manager to drop him for diving. Did you ever do anything remotely competitive in your live? Despite the odd diplomatic posting here will any Kerry poster give a fiddlers about this next year if Kerry lift Sam?

The high moral ground being adopted here by some is hypocritical in the extreme. In an attempt to vilifiy a player for a ridiculous dive some are condoning striking a player. One even calls anyone against this position 'rulebook heroes'. I take it Jinksy you advocate no rulebook?

If the refs were all like yesterday that would put an end to pointless slapping or striking. Then you can deal with the divers but if you try to argue that it is ok in some cases to strike an opponents head, off the ball, then you will have to life with the consequences which will be either a retaliatory punch, a mass brawl or a stupid dive.

Despite the race to the high moral ground not a single poster yet has suggested O'Mahoney that should have just taken the slap and walked away quietly.

Why do any of these things have to happen? Could you define striking for me? Do you consider slapping a players arm as he runs past a striking offence?

So lets get this straight

You think that slapping a man in the face is a straight Red card but how many times have we saw players grab other players by the neck and hold them for ages and then just describe it as hand bags

Surely you can seriously hurt a man by grabbing his throat but a open hand slap is like a sign of disapprovable if nothing more.

The Fact remains that simulation has crept into our game more and more over the past few years and the GAA have done nothing to address the issue.

Its not gonna go away by itself if players don't think there is any punishment for it and so I think it needs to be looked at by the CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC after a match when the Referee reviews the video of the match he has just officiated.

We have a win at all costs now and that's even when there is no money involved.
Isn't that right Oisin?

QuoteWhy do any of these things have to happen?

They dont have to happen, but we have seen often enough that each illegal action seems to draw an unequal and usually greater reaction until we have the brawl or whatever. 

QuoteCould you define striking for me?

As defined in the rulebook. It was posted here earlier.

QuoteDo you consider slapping a players arm as he runs past a striking offence

My argument refers to off the ball. Your question needs context. If the player running past has the ball and the 'slapper' was making a reasonable attempt at a tackle then no obviously.

The rulebook isn't great and we have had many threads about how it should be amended but we are stuck with it until it is amended.

If all the rules contained within the GAA rulebook were evenly and consistently applied yesterday and play stopped for every single punishable indiscretion, what would the game ( which ws hard enough to watch ) have looked like ??

How many could have been sent off ???????