Aidan O'Mahony = Pathetic

Started by Tankie, August 24, 2008, 05:21:53 PM

think that omahoney was a disgrace for falling over as if hot.
That kind of rubbish could very well mean that video evidence is to be used to try and eradicate that kind of thing from the GAA.
I'd be in favour of video evidence to try and demonstrate to players that they will be seen and they will be suspended.
Same for Dara o'se's punch.

The linesman obv communicated to the ref that oconnor had 'slapped' omahoney' - therefore the ref had to send him off.
I thought it was harsh enough, but this does go on all too frequently in gaelic games, and you should never lift your hands.
In saying that, I think omahoney pushed oconnor back into the hoardings before starting his goading tirade.
Also I thought it should have been a line ball to cork, but oconnor was wrong to raise his hand.
The only problem I have with this sending off is that its not consistent throughout the GAA. Plenty of players from every county do likewise and dont get sent off, some do. Consistency might be useful here.
Part of the game is keeping your discipline, so oconnor can have no complaint as again its the interpretation of the ref in this case
and you know as a player you can get the line for this kind of thing, no matter how harsh.

I'm 'old school' (hedge school) and deplore the kind of thing omahoney did. Old school stuff like punching off the ball though is out in the modern game. Dara O'se loked like a man that knew his season was over when the camera panned onto him sitting in the stands.

Edit - yes this whinging like a bitch to a ref etc is also getting on my wick, while donaghy and co are bad at it, I have seen plenty of others including my beloved Derry do it on occasion and I dont like that at all. Yellow cards for offenders. Reds for repeat offenders.

Did the so-called "Star" not shout at O'Mahony to go down?

QuoteDara O'se loked like a man that knew his season was over when the camera panned onto him sitting in the stands.

Make that "his career". Thankfully if Kerry beat Cork the next day he will have another game.

D4S

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D  Jesus everyone that knows him must have been mortified watching that, deadly bit of play acting it's hilarious...i'd be humiliated if I was caught out at that craic!
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 25, 2008, 12:21:23 PM
think that omahoney was a disgrace for falling over as if hot.
That kind of rubbish could very well mean that video evidence is to be used to try and eradicate that kind of thing from the GAA.
I'd be in favour of video evidence to try and demonstrate to players that they will be seen and they will be suspended.
Same for Dara o'se's punch.

The linesman obv communicated to the ref that oconnor had 'slapped' omahoney' - therefore the ref had to send him off.
I thought it was harsh enough, but this does go on all too frequently in gaelic games, and you should never lift your hands.
In saying that, I think omahoney pushed oconnor back into the hoardings before starting his goading tirade.
Also I thought it should have been a line ball to cork, but oconnor was wrong to raise his hand.
The only problem I have with this sending off is that its not consistent throughout the GAA. Plenty of players from every county do likewise and dont get sent off, some do. Consistency might be useful here.
Part of the game is keeping your discipline, so oconnor can have no complaint as again its the interpretation of the ref in this case
and you know as a player you can get the line for this kind of thing, no matter how harsh.

I'm 'old school' (hedge school) and deplore the kind of thing omahoney did. Old school stuff like punching off the ball though is out in the modern game. Dara O'se loked like a man that knew his season was over when the camera panned onto him sitting in the stands.

Edit - yes this whinging like a bitch to a ref etc is also getting on my wick, while donaghy and co are bad at it, I have seen plenty of others including my beloved Derry do it on occasion and I dont like that at all. Yellow cards for offenders. Reds for repeat offenders.

But it's ok for example for Cussen, just to pick one incident, to raise and elbow and hit an opponent on the head and NOT get sent off ??????

I'm being devil's advocate here by the way.

The rules are not evenly and consistently applied.

There should be an acceptable level of a slap that you can administer to an opponent before you get sent off. As Dara O'Cinneide said last night, O'Connor will feel sick today at getting sent off as he "got no value" out of the sending off. Really what Dara was saying was, that he should have taken the head of O'Mahony and he'd have felt a lot better about it !!  ;D

O'Mahony is a disgrace, I was genuinely amazed at his antics.

O'Se is blessed he will only miss the replay now and probably play in this years final.
Good to see the ref finally catch him in the act, not sure how many times over the years he has got away with this sort of stuff.

All in all, the antics of some Kerry players are quickly turning them into one of the most disliked teams around. Which is a shame as they are a fantastically talented team.

We have all the bad points mentioned about other teams all rolled into one. Goading, dirt, shameful diving, screaming in the refs face.
Some of the ex Kerry players should let these guys know, this isnt how Kerry teams are meant to behave.

Perhaps they want this three in a row so bad it really is win at all costs, including the abandonment of your principles?

I was watching the game as a 100% neutral yesterday, but leapt around the living room when Cork equalised have been turned off by the Kerry carry on.

How did ye think The Sunday game panelists handled it?

I thought they didn't make a big enough of deal of it and in fairness to Pat he asked them the Open question but nobody took the bait
I'd say if Tohill had been there we would have got a more honest opinion

I think the biggest punishment O'Mahoney will receive will be the lack of respect he'll get now everywhere he goes and I can see in the future people like Spillane coming out with lines like...

"Kerry were purists for years but they had to MIX it with Armagh and Tyrone in the Noughties so when you lie down with dogs you get up with fleas"

How many times have we saw a man get decked off the ball. The Ref runs over talks to the linesmen. Ref speaks to the player for 3 mins waving his finger and gives him a yellow card.
I  know the rule says if you lift your hand at all but the ref also has to look at the bigger picture and the goading before the slap does give it some justification.
I think it should be recinded to a yellow and that Kerry should be thrown out of the AI for the next 5 years

For those of ye who are still badgering on about Dooher's "DIVE" when blantantly punched I don't know what you want a man to do when he gets a punch into the Gut
Do you want him to stand up straight, smile and say HA HA that didn't even hurt at all. Get a grip lads

Before you come out with a mouthful of Tripe think how would I feel it that was a player from my team who you know is getting special treatment cos he has such an influence on the game.

Quote from: Fuzzman on August 25, 2008, 01:22:00 PM

I thought they didn't make a big enough of deal of it and in fairness to Pat he asked them the Open question but nobody took the bait

I think the biggest punishment O'Mahoney will receive will be the lack of respect he'll get now everywhere he goes and I can see in the future people like Spillane coming out with lines like...

"Kerry were purists for years but they had to MIX it with Armagh and Tyrone in the Noughties so when you lie down with dogs you get up with fleas"

How many times have we saw a man get decked off the ball. The Ref runs over talks to the linesmen. Ref speaks to the player for 3 mins waving his finger and gives him a yellow card.
I  know the rule says if you lift your hand at all but the ref also has to look at the bigger picture and the goading before the slap does give it some justification.
I think it should be recinded to a yellow and that Kerry should be thrown out of the AI for the next 5 years

For those of ye who are still badgering on about Dooher's "DIVE" when blantantly punched I don't know what you want a man to do when he gets a punch into the Gut
Do you want him to stand up straight, smile and say HA HA that didn't even hurt at all. Get a grip lads

Before you come out with a mouthful of Tripe think how would I feel it that was a player from my team who you know is getting special treatment cos he has such an influence on the game.

I don't think so - if Kerry go on to win the All Ireland, his dive will be but a memory, just like some of Tyrone's indscretions. Fans won't really remember - Cork ones will, but most people move on to the next episode.

The sad thing for me is I can remember a time (old fogey alert) when lads were told to stay on their feet at all costs, or to get up quickly, 'And don't show the bastards they hurt you'.

God be with the days.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 25, 2008, 01:29:39 PM
The sad thing for me is I can remember a time (old fogey alert) when lads were told to stay on their feet at all costs, or to get up quickly, 'And don't show the b**tards they hurt you'.

God be with the days.

Now it's lie down and we'll get him sent off !

What's worse is that we've seen signs of it coming into the purset of all sports, hurling - remember Wee Davy Fitz last week against Tipperary showing the referee the corner back and imploring a sending off ?

The sad thing for me is I can remember a time (old fogey alert) when lads were told to stay on their feet at all costs, or to get up quickly, 'And don't show the b**tards they hurt you'.

God be with the days.

Yes it is disgraceful that we are following the route of soccer and starting to dive and cheat our fellow players....

Cussen should have been taken off, not sent off.

God be with the days.

Me too. For our vintage, this stuff is completely unstomachable.

I don't know what you want a man to do when he gets a punch into the Gut
Do you want him to stand up straight, smile and say HA HA that didn't even hurt at all.

Yes.

peterquaife

Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2008, 09:28:34 AM
Quote from: full back on August 25, 2008, 09:23:05 AM
Dooher is probably one of the main offenders when it comes to diving, even if ONeill tries to defend him.

If you can give me one example of this I'll accept it. Til then it'll remain the urban myth, a bit like Francie's brutality.

watch the Wexford game this weekend and you'll see a few

I dont believe Dooher dived.

and YES, thats exactly how a lad should espond to getting hit.....he can quite easily get revenge if he has to,  later on in a game when he or his opponent has the ball. Its quite easy done.

and yes if cussen or anyone else elbowed with intent, they has to get sent off. Consistency.