Aidan O'Mahony = Pathetic

Started by Tankie, August 24, 2008, 05:21:53 PM

QuoteDidn't take long to be posted on YouTube

I dunno...it looked like a fairly vicious slap to me. Aidan could have lost an eye or something. The ref had no choice really.

No problem with the red card. It was a strike and in the rule books, deserves a red card. A watery slap though. It's O'Mahony's play acting that sickened me and the way Kerry is supposedly the beacon of light showing the rest of the country the way to pure football.

mayoman dan

O Mahoneys antics were a disgrace.Have heard from a reliable source that Paul Galvin will  now be
banned for another 37 years for being from the same county.

Quote from: mayoman dan on August 25, 2008, 02:23:33 AM
O Mahoneys antics were a disgrace.Have heard from a reliable source that Paul Galvin will  now be
banned for another 37 years for being from the same county.

Kevin Smith would love that.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2008, 10:45:53 PM
What O'Mahony did was wrong and has no place in football, but O'Connor slapped him, Red card.
Darragh O'Se walked for a slap, O'Neill made a meal of it and was rolling around the ground holding his stomach.  But if the ref said it was a red card so be it we moved on.

O'Mahony should have stood his ground and taken the girlie slap from O'Connor and laughed in his face. O'Connor would still have been sent off, as the linesman was already turned towards him. If O'Mahony had laughed at him it would have been seen as arrogance. Every team does this playacting nowadays and it is ruining our game.

Anyway Frank Murphy will probably get this overturned.

Most sensible post  of the day... why is everyone looking for Kerrymen to slag off their own team?

O'Se digged a man straight in front of the ref and deserved to go, O'Connor however light his slap was shouldn't have done it (Droga in Champion's League Final Anyone? At least Vidic was more of a man about it. Is soccer harder than Gaelic Football now? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEnDHwMh8-o&feature=related) and deserved to go.

O'Mahoney is a dickhead for doing what he did and I'm sure he realises it at this stage and if not there will be plenty to remind him of it this week. At least his and Clancy's shame have been highlighted which should hopefully stop others from following suit.

Anyway fair play KM for telling it like it is... that's all any reasonable person can expect although we have our fair share of lads who are looking blood for the latest incident but don't worry about them!

T Toatler

Whilst i agree that there is an " O Mahoney" element in most successful teams it seems more prevalent this year. Ref got it right though on the two yellows. He got it wrong with the two peno incidents. Donaghys was, Cantys to draw wasnt or at best was very harsh.

The referee got both decisions correct with the red cards. Any man who strikes has to go.
Some here are saying it wasnt a 'hard' slap  ::) . Are we going to check how hard every player punches before we define a hard slap?
Regardless of the strength of the slap, it is a slap.....
O' Mahoney must be feeling like some cnut this morning. Diving like that on one of the biggest stages on Ireland, nothing short of a disgrace - fcuk me ye would die of embarassment.
His reaction almost reminded me of the ref diving when Di Canio pushed him when he was playing for Sheff Wed (think it was Alcock).

Keepthefaith93

What did they say about it on the Sunday game?

Muzz

Not condoning anyones actions but from where I see it - Players act in such a way to ensure that the referee follows the rules to the letter of the law.  If Aidan had of laughed of the slap turned around and ran off would the ref still have sent him off?  I suppose we will never know but I for one is sceptical.

Have to agree with most posters here and declare that O Mahony should be ashamed of himself for Diving like that. Also agree that there are plenty of other players (Dooher versus W'Meath springs to mind) that have also been guilty. It is time for the GAA to step up to the plate and put rules in place that allow referees to yellow card players for play acting and also to allow video evidence to be used after matches for the same purpose. Gaelic Football is a mans game and people that dive on the ground and get players sent off are anti-men. If I were O Mahonys manager I drop him for the next game for that.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on August 25, 2008, 09:16:24 AM
Have to agree with most posters here and declare that O Mahony should be ashamed of himself for Diving like that. Also agree that there are plenty of other players (Dooher versus W'Meath springs to mind) that have also been guilty.

Hate going off topic but this has to be continuously challenged. Dooher received a hefty swipe to the gut and was bowled over. There is absolutely no comparison.

We see this sort of slap every week and nothing is done about it. That is the problem.

We should see a red card every time for any strike particularly to the head. Would we debate whether a kick to the head was hard enough to warrant a red card? It should be the same with a slap, pat or punch as indicated in the rules.

I dont condone what O'Mahoney did in any shape or form, but I understand it. 9 referees out of 10 would have ignored the slap if he hadn't gone down.

Also, less of the personal attacks here on O'Mahoney. He gives his services as an amateur and deserves to be treated as an amateur. The Cork player deserves criticism for letting his team down but again it should be in the context of an amateur game.

Dooher is probably one of the main offenders when it comes to diving, even if ONeill tries to defend him.
As someone said, the only way to eradicate this from our game is to use video evidence & ban players.
Interesting that some Kerry posters are going on the attack & mentioning Tyrone players diving in an attempt to almost make a joke out of it. Reminds me a bit of the OWCers. FFS call a spade a spade & leave it at that

O Mahony only confirmed what we always knew, the kingdom are no different from any other county except their PR machine is better.  When I think of that mouth Sean Walsh and his galling smugness talking about Kerry football in 2004,  I feel he in particular must bear major responsibility on the inevitable media and public opinion histrionics that the kerry players are going to take this week.  Yesterday confirmed my suspicions that the current kingdom set up from Donaghy giving fingers to the Mayo crowd, to Gooch sent off in the national league final, to Paul Galvin fiasco, Dara O Ses dirty punch off the ball yestrerday, to O Mahony and Coopers diving yesterday as well as incessant mouthing at referees that this team are the most cynical and dirty team I have ever seen from Kerry.  I believe that their indiscipline deserves to cost them dearly and they are a poor shadow of any previous Kerry team and a very poor example to kids playing our games. If they are 3 in a row winning team then Gaelic Football as a sport is fcuked.