2008 Ulster Club Championships

Started by Our Nail Loney, August 22, 2008, 11:22:14 AM

billy the kid

I dont be at as many Amagh Harps or Ogs League games but do always manage a few each year, Im talking about championship games Both clubs games against Cross this year being particuarly bad.
If it moves hit it
If it doesnt hit it anyway!!

goh4205

Quote from: The GAA on December 17, 2008, 11:03:24 AM

He's a player all right. always seems to be sitting in wee nook or cranny which allows him to see things in cross games that noone else in the ground sees
Oh shit, I'm found out ::)  who could i be, Larry kerains perhaps ;D!!!   if you seen the size of me, you'd know I wasn't

Quote from: crossfire on December 16, 2008, 08:53:26 PM
Quote from corn 02 on Dec 15
The Cross fans would have a reputation for being a bad bunch.

This is not the general consensus in the county. You are the only Armagh poster who continually criticises the Cross support.
I am not going to pretend that they are perfect as every club has a few "eejits" but they are far from being the worst behaved in the county.
Mind you there are a good few slobbers among the Dromintee faithful.

That aside, i have been watching football for over 30 years and Ballinderry have the worst behaved  supporters i have ever witnessed.
I moved at half time in both the drawn game and the replay to get away from foul mouthed supporters but each time it was a case of out of the frying pan and into the fire.

Yes there a good few slabbers in Dromintee. But I have never seen a Dromintee fan spit at opposition fans and players as I have with Cross, I have never seen Dromintee fans with young children in tow begging their player to "crack his skull" or "leave him in a wheelchair" as I have with Cross fans. As someone said, real Cross fans can be smug, f**k knows they have enough right to be but they have the biggest majority of awful fans I have ever seen. Hand on heart they are the worst I have ever encountered at club or county. As Pints said poetically - it is the boys who know the players by their numbers and not their names.

For the record - I have always found Harps, Ogs and Cullyhanna fans spot on and I don't think they are as bad as people are making out here. But, as I say, personal opinion. Billy the Kid seeing it differently shows that everyone has an opinion on it.

QuoteAs Pints said poetically - it is the boys who know the players by their numbers and not their names.
You know I was thinking about this last night and although that is true one of the worst bullshit I've seen at a game, in the form of someone SCREAMING abuse at a player, and an u21 player at that! was from an well known, ex Cross player (no, not bc). I'll not name him but f**k me it was desperate! (They were winning well too). 

Corn yon boy that does the line for yous is a f**king tube if ever there was a tube. 
Harps are a roudy enough bunch butI don't ever remember any badness/abuse from them.  Same with the ogs though I remember ogs ones giving out about their own linesman at a game (oddly, I don't think they realised he was their linesman!)

But lads, no one comes close to Donaghmore!

Everyone that supports the 'bridge are angels. 

QuoteEveryone that supports the 'bridge are angels. 

Has the last regular supporter passed away then? What about his dog?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 17, 2008, 07:20:08 PM
You know I was thinking about this last night and although that is true one of the worst bullshit I've seen at a game, in the form of someone SCREAMING abuse at a player, and an u21 player at that! was from an well known, ex Cross player (no, not bc). I'll not name him but f**k me it was desperate! (They were winning well too). 

Corn yon boy that does the line for yous is a f**king tube if ever there was a tube. 

I can guarantee you I know who the ex-Cross player is and if it is who I was thinking, he just gets a bit wound up and is apparently the most gracious Cross man to speak too - and that is what a few Dromintee people have told me.  :o

Yeah our linesman wouldn't be popular at all, like the ex-Cross player he gets a bit wound up but is a great clubman and does an awful lot for us. Feck it, means I don't have to run up and down the line too.

Quote from: hardstation on December 17, 2008, 07:22:32 PM
Who wants to hear pints' story about Donaghmore?

Meeeeeeeee!
No big story hs, we played them in an ulster league game and I was quite shocked.  Foul (foul really isnt strong enough to describe it) mouthed women shouting for players to be crippled, screaming abuse at players, telling the mother of one of our players she didn't rear him right etc What topped it all though was seeing a man of at least 70 years of age running a hundred yards to throw stones over wire at our dugout  :-\
And all this in what was basically a friendly game.  I'd hate to play them in a meaningful game. 

corn
QuoteYeah our linesman wouldn't be popular at all, like the ex-Cross player he gets a bit wound up but is a great clubman and does an awful lot for us. Feck it, means I don't have to run up and down the line too.
He's a bollocks corn, wound up or not.

QuoteI can guarantee you I know who the ex-Cross player is and if it is who I was thinking, he just gets a bit wound up and is apparently the most gracious Cross man to speak too - and that is what a few Dromintee people have told me.
He's ignorant gobshite.

Rufus T Firefly

Quote from: billy the kid on December 17, 2008, 12:49:51 PM
However they are nowhere near the worst Armagh Club fans I have experienced, the wonderful honour is between Pearse Ogs and Armagh Harps. Both these sets of fans are the worst I have ever come across in Club Football anywhere. Now I do Realise that all Clubs have their Head the Balls and and that both these clubs have genuinely good supporters also, but Having been at plenty of Ogs and Harps games over the last number of years, both clubs have a very sizeable unsavoury element.

Being at Ogs games and being at Harps games has introduced me to a level of bad manners, abuse, jeering, bad language and name calling (to players and officials) that I find most uncomfortable.  Both teams seem to attract a strangely large number of sc**bags and dodgy characters, which is probably due to being from a large town, and after some of the games i have been very glad to be leaving the pitch.  What I find the most dissapointing about this is, the fact that although both teams are nowhere near Crossmaglen in terms of ability, they are the next best teams in Armagh, and are probably the only ones with any hope of putting it up to cross in the near future, and the antics of there fans are definately not a help and would also nearly make me not support the underdog in such a challenge.  

Words indeed to blacken the name of the Harps Club, and if I may say, entirely in keeping with the persona that you have built up here for 'billythekid'. Like Benny earlier, I entirely refute your claims, made here under what you perceive to be a cloak of total anonymity. The words go against 'billythekid', but you yourself typed them here about our Club on this public forum. For doing that, you should hang your head in shame!   

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on December 18, 2008, 12:15:38 AM
However they are nowhere near the worst Armagh Club fans I have experienced, the wonderful honour is between Pearse Ogs and Armagh Harps. Both these sets of fans are the worst I have ever come across in Club Football anywhere. Now I do Realise that all Clubs have their Head the Balls and and that both these clubs have genuinely good supporters also, but Having been at plenty of Ogs and Harps games over the last number of years, both clubs have a very sizeable unsavoury element.

Being at Ogs games and being at Harps games has introduced me to a level of bad manners, abuse, jeering, bad language and name calling (to players and officials) that I find most uncomfortable.  Both teams seem to attract a strangely large number of sc**bags and dodgy characters, which is probably due to being from a large town, and after some of the games i have been very glad to be leaving the pitch.  What I find the most dissapointing about this is, the fact that although both teams are nowhere near Crossmaglen in terms of ability, they are the next best teams in Armagh, and are probably the only ones with any hope of putting it up to cross in the near future, and the antics of there fans are definately not a help and would also nearly make me not support the underdog in such a challenge. 

Words indeed to blacken the name of the Harps Club, and if I may say, entirely in keeping with the persona that you have built up here for 'billythekid'. Like Benny earlier, I entirely refute your claims, made here under what you perceive to be a cloak of total anonymity. The words go against 'billythekid', but you yourself typed them here about our Club on this public forum. For doing that, you should hang your head in shame!   

What is wrong with an individual talking of his encounters with other clubs and their behaviout. I thought this was a discussion forum and the behaviour of fans in Armagh. The man has been to many Armagh champinship games and is writing about his experience. Just because it is not to your liking doesn't mean it isn't true!

Quote from: screenexile on December 18, 2008, 12:41:48 AM

Being at Ogs games and being at Harps games has introduced me to a level of bad manners, abuse, jeering, bad language and name calling (to players and officials) that I find most uncomfortable.  Both teams seem to attract a strangely large number of sc**bags and dodgy characters, which is probably due to being from a large town, and after some of the games i have been very glad to be leaving the pitch.  What I find the most dissapointing about this is, the fact that although both teams are nowhere near Crossmaglen in terms of ability, they are the next best teams in Armagh, and are probably the only ones with any hope of putting it up to cross in the near future, and the antics of there fans are definately not a help and would also nearly make me not support the underdog in such a challenge. 

What is wrong with an individual talking of his encounters with other clubs and their behaviout. I thought this was a discussion forum and the behaviour of fans in Armagh. The man has been to many Armagh champinship games and is writing about his experience. Just because it is not to your liking doesn't mean it isn't true!
For a Derry poster he seems to comment an awful lot on Armagh football (he's never off the local thread), most of it derogatory. That post struck me as a blatant wind up as he knew the number of Harps and Ogs posters there are on the board.

I see Saint Francie has got off scot free again......unfcukinbelievable >:(

Quote from: mackers on December 18, 2008, 10:40:06 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 18, 2008, 12:41:48 AM

For a Derry poster he seems to comment an awful lot on Armagh football (he's never off the local thread), most of it derogatory. That post struck me as a blatant wind up as he knew the number of Harps and Ogs posters there are on the board.

In fairness, by his own admission, Billy the Kid is a Derry man working in Armagh who goes to a lot of Armagh club matches.

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 18, 2008, 10:47:28 AM

Aw give over would ya  :)

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 18, 2008, 10:47:28 AM

Where do you see this 5 sams?