2008 Ulster Club Championships

Started by Our Nail Loney, August 22, 2008, 11:22:14 AM

doire na raithe

Pass for the goal came from within the square - no square ball.

In saying that, I don't think i've ever seen a referee make so many bad decisions against Cross.

Wasn't it f**king fantastic?

Best of luck to Crossmaglen in the replay.
It would be nice if some action could be taken against the Ballinderry 11 for his shameful behaviour.

Quote from: doire na raithe on November 30, 2008, 05:08:51 PM

In saying that, I don't think i've ever seen a referee make so many bad decisions against Cross.

Wasn't it f**king fantastic?

Jaysus it wasn't in the first half anyway, fantastic game none the less.
Why do some here think there would be extra time?

Thankfully tg4 have never got hold of inter county championship matches. I dont mind the Irish commentary but what annoys me is that they miss about 20% of the action showing replays or the crowd. Half the kick outs were missed and even a score. The guys have to realise that the game is to fast moving to be constantly showing replays of trivial incidents.

I'm not Cross' biggest fan but was hopefully they'd get that point at the end and certainly it'da been a travesty of justice if they'd been beaten. Thought they were undoubtedly the better side. Oisin's goal was a delight to watch.

Your man Conway should be ashamed of himself. No other word for it but cheating. John Mac was having some game as well and the decision almost cost Cross the title. He'd be Armagh's best option at centre half if he was available. Very suspicious too that Ballinderry make a switch on McNamee and a few minutes later he's off in an incident when they both pick up yellow cards. Thought there might have been a square ball for the Ballinderry goal as well.

Throughable enjoyable match though. Best club game I can remember seeing in a long time even if the ref made a haimes of it. Replay's one to look forward to.

Referee rode Cross, gave everything to Ballinderry in final few minutes. Christ you'd need to drive a stake through the heart of Cross and even then you wouldn't be sure they were gone. Ballinderry should have went gung ho for the winner after the goal. Can't see them winning next week. McEntee will get his red card rescinded too I'm sure, disgraceful playacting by Conway. Great whole hearted effort by both teams though, captivating second half

Quote from: Orior on November 30, 2008, 05:07:36 PM
Ballinderry - dorty hoors.
Indeed.

I though he rubbed up most people the wrong way (don' think any team suffered more than the other), but having said that, it was a very tough match to ref and i'm surprised only 3 players say whe line.
McEntee's name will be cleared - very unsportsman-like play from that B'derry player.

feel somewhat sorry for ref, very hard game to ref, a ton of off the ball stuff, constant stopping of man giving pass and going on for return, Having said that thouroghly entertaining game, credit to both clubs for showing this level of committment in December. Some great football.

Nr 8 who gathered the ball from the rebound off the post was outside the square when the goal scorer was already inside the square.
Nr 8 dived over a grounded Cross defender  to make the pass to the goal scorer.
His feet remained outside the square.
Looked like a square ball to me.

Quote from: Jinxy on November 30, 2008, 05:11:21 PM
Best of luck to Crossmaglen in the replay.
It would be nice if some action could be taken against the Ballinderry 11 for his shameful behaviour.

I agree - video evidence, but of course that's only ever used when the Sunday Game demands it. Possibly the worst example of shameful diving I've ever seen.

And the Ballinderry player who hit the post with the shot that led to the goal took about ten steps - this a few moments after Oisín McConville was pulled for fewer steps. Consistency?

Cant see Mc Entee getting anything for it!
Dont think Ballinderry would have got back only for that horrible decision!
Fair play they are still there!
Muldoon had a great second half seemed to be everywhere!
Think Bellew could have helped in round the box near the end aswell.

Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 30, 2008, 05:18:07 PM
Cant see Mc Entee getting anything for it!
Dont think Ballinderry would have got back only for that horrible decision!
Fair play they are still there!
Muldoon had a great second half seemed to be everywhere!
Think Bellew could have helped in round the box near the end aswell.

Francie wasn't on the pitch for the last few minutes.

Thoroughly enjoyable game and excellent commitment from both sides. Some of the hits would send a shudder through spine. Some great scores on both sides as well. Devlin and Muldoon were immense while McEntee and McKenna impressed me for Cross. Unfortunate incident that saw John Mac sent off hopefully it will be rescinded and he can play the next game. Really looking forward to the replay!

The Voice Of Reason

I don't think the goal was a square ball ... the ball was in the square before the man was