The Official Olympics Thread (with the consent of the Chinese Gov.)

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, August 05, 2008, 11:09:25 AM

glens73

It should have been at least level and there was some dodgy scoring for the Chinese lad but Egan couldn't get inside his reach.

Egan needed to win clearly to get the gold medal and he was never going to win a close contest.

That Chinese guy looked like the least skilful of all the gold medallists and apparently had 3 dodgy wins on the way to the final

My suspicions are aroused indeed. Some very questionable scores given and not given. Perhaps Paddy Barnes wasnt chewing sour grapes so much after.

Ken needed to step in and really take the fight to him but thats not really his style, and when one round goes wrong its very hard to pull it back in just a 4 round fight.

BUt well done to Ken, Silver medal is a great achievement .

And Maldini, take your racist shite somewhere else!

disgusted with the scoring , at one stage it looked like the chinese fella got points for Egan's punches!
He can be proud with his efforts and he handled himself great afterwards even joking with the chinese fella on the podium. Billy Walshe gave a great interview afterwards and hopefully he gets more recourses for the London Olympics

bridgegael

the chinese got points for hitting egans gloves,  in the third he had at least 4 scorsble punches that were not pointed,  as the GB commentators said there was 3 chinese fighting this morning,  two of them really had no chance of winning,  egan was there best chance,  and he wa never going to win it.  joke!!
"2009 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

Down Gael

A silver is a great achievment, but it should have been gold. The Chinese fighter was getting points for shadow boxing and hitting Kens gloves. Maybe we arent exactly neutral, but I watched the second half of the fight in the BBC, I couldnt stomach any more of Magees ramblings. The beeb thought he was hard done by so you cant say much more than that.
Well done to the three lads who got medals. Hopefully we`ll win a few more in London and the horses can stay off the gear  ;)

The Beeb studio presenters quoted Paddy Barnes saying the judges, not the fighters, should be drug-tested, implying he had a point. They intimated that Egan had been hard done by as well and went from that into a recorded piece about other dodgy decisions throughout the games.

At least we know we'll get fair play in London 2012. Won't we?

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Thread on slugger complaining that 'Team GB' excludes Our Wee Country/NI.

Spokesman for the British Olympics Federation said to change it to Team UK would still exclude the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man - haha, so much for northern Ireland being an integral part of Britain.
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

What a f**king joke that was.  Total disgrace, Egan should have won by 2/3 points.  Does anyone know where the judges are from?

I don't know about the punches thrown with clean contact but I thought the Chinese lad boxed well.
Looked about 50/50 to me.

QuoteDoes anyone know where the judges are from?

http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/BX/C73/BXM081101.shtml#BXM081101

Judges are from Cuba Italy Thai Hung Kazakts.

Exciting  Volleyball finals.

Handball mens - unfortunately a one sided final but a tremendous exciting Olympic sport, so many games were a roller coaster going to the last score in the last second.

Yes I Would

Gonna miss the events now that its all over, Great couple of weeks entertainment.  Would love to travel across for the 012.
Our boxers done brilliantly well, and hopefully some of them will be back for the next one.

Guess its back to the boring old premiership for the next few months!!