The Official Olympics Thread (with the consent of the Chinese Gov.)

Started by Gaoth Dobhair Abu, August 05, 2008, 11:09:25 AM

Quote from: gawa316 on August 22, 2008, 12:18:10 PM
Feck Barnes not happy, he said they could stick their medal :o

In work here, watched the fight on bbc online with no sound, what all did he say? Why is he raging?

Yeah Shiming Zou is a class boxer, you could see he's on a different level. Paddy has nothing to be upset about he's done brilliantly. and was put out by arguably the best in the world at that weight.

didnt stick around to see the interview, maybe he felt he should have got a few scores but he never landed a convincing punch to be honest.

gawa316

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on August 22, 2008, 12:20:18 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on August 22, 2008, 12:18:10 PM
Feck Barnes not happy, he said they could stick their medal :o

In work here, watched the fight on bbc online with no sound, what all did he say? Why is he raging?

He was giving out that he landed punches that weren't scored. Then said what do you expect sure its China, its one of the worst countries (or something along those lines). He was then congratulated on his medal and he tole them he couldn't care less and that they could keep it.

I dont think he deserved to score 1 point! Zou could have scored a lot more, he was picking him off at will. Different class as Jimmy would say.

debatable, you could find at least 5 more for chinese. He was all over the shop in the first round and was swinging but not hitting
Anyway no harm, he got his medal and im sure in a weeks time he will be delighted with it.

No way Barnes should have got 5, maybe 2.  Himself and Sutherland were both game but outclassed by opponents far quicker on their feet.  His interview made him look like a bit of a tool, he even said China shouldn't be hosting the Olympics too.  Don't see what he's so pissed off about because he could hardly argue it was anywhere near close anyway so it wouldn't have made a difference.

Yeah, I thought Sutherland was unlucky a couple of times (not enough to make a difference mind you), but I don't recall Paddy landing anything worth a score. I'm sure he's disappointed with the scoreline, but the Chinaman was superb

to be honest he's let himself down there. Pity to hear that.  but as ludemor says, I'm sure he'll be happy with his medal after a while, theres feck all lads walking around with Olympic bronze medals and plenty leaving Bei Jing with nothing.

Hes showed himself up with those comments definitely, bad form. Where abouts in belfast is he from?

He should have had one for def and possibly another, that is it. Didn't get near for the rest of the bout - poor form afterwards.

Quote from: Rav67 on August 22, 2008, 12:34:28 PM
No way Barnes should have got 5, maybe 2.  Himself and Sutherland were both game but outclassed by opponents far quicker on their feet.  His interview made him look like a bit of a tool, he even said China shouldn't be hosting the Olympics too.  Don't see what he's so pissed off about because he could hardly argue it was anywhere near close anyway so it wouldn't have made a difference.
He just lost the semi final of the Olympics, his life's work so far has brought him to that bout and you expect him to have an immediate mature perspective of the situation.  

If he was smiling at his achievement after that bout some other gobshite would be saying losing didn't hurt enough.

I get your point Main Street but that is bullshit. There is a difference between showing dissapointment and getting sly digs in.

Quote from: corn02 on August 22, 2008, 12:47:13 PM
I get your point Main Street but that is bullshit. There is a difference between showing dissapointment and getting sly digs in.
Get some perspective as you don't appear to have any.
A few lines, compared to his years of brilliant dedication and positive attitude to reach that summit of excellence
and those lines spoken after his most shattering defeat, involuntary to a microphone shoved in his face in car crash type interview.