What Does Your Name Mean/That's not my name!

Started by GrandMasterFlash, July 24, 2008, 11:26:30 AM

western exile

Quote from: tierworker blue on July 24, 2008, 05:08:19 PM
Tierworker (theres disagreement on the spelling...everyone spells it as i do but it's officially Teevurcher on the map...) is a wee place near bailieborough in cavan thats half in cavan and half in meath...an odd auld place to be honest, but ojus craic and full of brilliant characters. in the cavan part theres a shop, a post office and some fuel pumps (that used to be full of smuggled 'blue' diesel back in the day!) and in meath there's a pub (the 'royal breffni'...geddit?!) a church, a hall, a pitch and putt course and half a tennis court! technically my house is in meath but i was brought up 'blue' (thats in cavan supporter terms, not that i was unhappy as a child!)...hence tierworker blue!
grand little spot. I had not heard of it until I was at a wedding there last year

slow corner back

Obviously is wasnt the speediest corner back in the glens of antrim

western exile

Quote from: lfdown2 on July 24, 2008, 04:01:46 PM
mines club+county has evolved from lfdown-(1)-(2) through the ever changing face of the board
Allegedly the oldest club in the county too.  But shhhhhhhhhhhhh!  The Mayobridge lads might hear you  ;D

tierworker blue

Quote from: western exile on July 24, 2008, 10:02:56 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on July 24, 2008, 05:08:19 PM
Tierworker (theres disagreement on the spelling...everyone spells it as i do but it's officially Teevurcher on the map...) is a wee place near bailieborough in cavan thats half in cavan and half in meath...an odd auld place to be honest, but ojus craic and full of brilliant characters. in the cavan part theres a shop, a post office and some fuel pumps (that used to be full of smuggled 'blue' diesel back in the day!) and in meath there's a pub (the 'royal breffni'...geddit?!) a church, a hall, a pitch and putt course and half a tennis court! technically my house is in meath but i was brought up 'blue' (thats in cavan supporter terms, not that i was unhappy as a child!)...hence tierworker blue!
grand little spot. I had not heard of it until I was at a wedding there last year
a wedding, eh?...and you're still around to tell the tale?!!...fair play! you must have had all your paperwork in order...getting through tierworker immigration can be tough sometimes!

From the TV show was watching it when i logged in . i used to  frequently appear in it in a former even more skint life. 

Also from my love of all things Roscommon thought theres an emptiness in beating them now :'(

A play on the TV show from the early 90's. 
Was Mournesider in a previous life on the previous board but at the time of the 'change' could not switch users for some reason.

Have lived beside the river most of my life. And my second most favorite obsession is trying to coax a few salmon/trout away from their natural residence. Thing is I dont know which is more frustrating, Mayo football or fishing? There s always more bad days than good in both but the better days make up for the bad ones. Ok I know thats sounds awful wussy stuff but I m not a religious man and need distractions and somethings to believe in.

I and Pangur Bán, my cat
'Tis a like task we are at;
Hunting mice is his delight
Hunting words I sit all night
Was Fear Ciun on previous board

Mayo Gaels will tell ya that it should be green and red, not red and green but I just left it be. Sniper? Well the eyesight ain't the Mae West so it'd be the last thing I'd be any good at. Clearly didn't put huge thought into it but we don't all have the luxury of multiple aliases  :P

FL/MAYO

Like AZOFFALY, the FL is for Florida where I now reside and the Mayo is where I grew up. I also lived in Donegal as a teenager but the parents moved back to Mayo again so I consider myself a Mayo man, though life would have been less traumatic if I was a Donegal man due to their great feat in 1992.

lfdown2

no alledgedly about it western exile think they have enough titles without (falsely) claiming another one!

GrandMasterFlash

Quote from: bingobus on July 24, 2008, 04:17:40 PM
Absolutely no connection to may logon name - don't drive a bus, don't go to bingo or had any relative who done either. Was a complete random thought at time of registering.

I thought it might have been from the classic statement 'I'm as full as a Bingo Bus, or that lad was as full as a Bingo Bus last night'  ;D

Maradona

Mid Mon

It all started in college. One of my 1st days in college we were playing indoor football and I put in a tackle on a fella, who as it turned out was a great player but since that day wasnt the player he used to be due to persistant knee problems. I got the name 'Bruce' after bruce lee, after yer man I tackled described what I had done to him.

But Bruce became The Juice when they learned of my fondness for a drop o' the craetúr and the black stuff.