An Lú vs Tír Eoghain 19/07/2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, June 16, 2008, 08:27:29 PM

This time tomorrow night the Harte years could be coming to an end. My score prediction is 3-10 to 1-10 but not sure what way round it will be.

Before his virus in 2003, Mellon was absolutely flying at Midfield in the League so he has some form there, even if it is in the past.

Agree entirely with that. The league game against Galway in '03 in Pomeroy comes to mind, where Mellon was outstanding, with magnificent running, fielding, passing, and scoring. If his fielding is in the groove, he'll excel there. Hard to know with big Seán at FF, only for him in 2006 we'd have lost against Louth in Navan, what with his drives from midfield. Otherwise it's a settled enough affair, and looking forward to the two Mc Guigans' telepathy.

Anyways, bar J Devine and PJ Quinn (who I nearly had in the left corner), I called the components correctly, or as Eric Morcambe might have said "I have all the right notes... but not necessarily in the right order!"  ;)

Interesting...

Tír Eoghain abú!

Pointless predictions lad.

I'm going for 0-14 to 1-8 in our favour.

Colm McCullagh 0-4
Sean Cavanagh 0-3
Dooher 0-2
Mellon 0-1
Harte 0-1
Mulligan 0-1
T McGuigan 0-1
Penrose 0-1

mattockranger

i reckon yous will get a goal or two.....

our defense is absolutely creaking!!!
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

I do believe that. If McCullagh and Penrose have their shooting boots on they could have a field day as from what I saw against Dublin, the 2 corner backs are slow and there for the taking.

If they get it together, sure, they'll wreak havoc, and that day must surely be nigh.

O'Neill - the tourists don't get to hear this, but that head in St. Peters in West St. is his head when he was an elderly man. His head when he was a young fella is in the window of Sarsfields beside Laurence's Gate.

Lads - how are yis for tickets? I might have 1 terrace going spare as I think my mates missus has pulled out.

Anyone interested? - will know tomorrow morning if that's any good and can pass it on at the ground.

Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2008, 08:59:34 PM
O'Neill - the tourists don't get to hear this, but that head in St. Peters in West St. is his head when he was an elderly man.

Jeez Hardy, you've just destroyed this man's memories as a young boy, when we detoured by Drogheda on our way back from Dublin Zoo to see the venerable saint. You're a cruel one I tell ya  ;)

Quote from: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 08:46:20 PM

Colm McCullagh 0-4
Sean Cavanagh 0-3
Dooher 0-2
Mellon 0-1
Harte 0-1
Mulligan 0-1
T McGuigan 0-1
Penrose 0-1

Who's hitting the frees from the left O'Neiill?

IF Brian is on form McCullagh will to have come out to win the ball a lot less giving him more opportunity to score from play than usual. I like McCullagh coming out to get possession but with Brian there, there should be less need.

Quote from: ONeill on July 18, 2008, 08:46:20 PM

Colm McCullagh 0-4
Sean Cavanagh 0-3
Dooher 0-2
Mellon 0-1
Harte 0-1
Mulligan 0-1
T McGuigan 0-1
Penrose 0-1

I think there's definitely the scoring of goals in the FF line especially*, and possibly in the HF line too. I'll be surprised if Seán Cav doesn't rattle the net, and one or other of Penrose or Mc Cullagh too.

* As previously alluded to, getting decent ball in will be key.

Quote from: rrhf on July 18, 2008, 01:13:37 PM
Mickey has just shuffled the deck there and on paper its not a bad team but I fear that Mickeys perseverence with Tyrones half back line which was the fulcrum of their all ireland successes but now lacks a yard or two will ultimately cost Tyrone dearly.  This was the chance to make a serious change or two at injecting new pace in there  and maybe not pay the ultimate price. After 4 weeks to come up with a new formula I must admit to being a little disappointed  Despite our frustrations in a way ye have to hand it to Mickey by God he sticks by his guns, but hes making a big unbreakable rod for himself and some of that much dreaded criticism by hoping that the problem will only heal itself and not by making what others deem to be essential managerial decisions.    They used to say the first sign of madness was repeating an action and expecting a different result. 

Some merit in what you say rrhf, that [HB line] could surely be our achilles, if not in this game then the next. We must, however, defer to deserving success, and hope that when the first signs of creaking seams appear MH has the (now legendary, and rightly so) nous to do the necessary. And the necessary just might be within an arm's wave on the bench, and therein resides surely our salvation in any one  of Carlin, Mc Caul, Joe Mc Mahon, Gourley, etc. Keep the faith.