DERRY V FERMANAGH Healy Park Sat 21st June Throw in: 6pm

Started by never kickt a ball, June 02, 2008, 12:11:17 AM

Sound analysis FP, I'd be amazed if McBarron starts on Saturday, at full-forward anyhow. I'd also be very surprised if McCabe doesn't start, even if O'Rourke doesn't name him.
Given our full-back situation I wouldn't be surprised to see Muldoon on the edge of the square. Even further out he's a great asset for kick-outs and our half-back line are all under six foot. Midfield will need serious help if it's the trio of him, Conway and Diver out there.
Goan will pick up Bradley, but it's all about the system in marking someone like that and I'm confident O'Rourke can solve that. Agree that Eoin could be the dark horse here but again O'Rourke will be no stranger to his game.
But you could find strengths in all their forward six to worry us.
Have to wonder whether McElroy playing his club football up there is a help or a hindrance for him personally? I probably think the latter.

Quote from: AidyMac on June 17, 2008, 04:50:18 PM
Living in Fermanagh, I can honestly say that this game has me worried !

The O'Rourke factor will have a big bearing on it.  Don't think it will be a classic, but am hoping for it.

Think that it will be very very tight, maybe a last minute score winning it for either team

Plus, it is very quiet in Fermanagh, not much talk about it, a sign that Fermanagh are really up for it

The alternative being of course: They're all talking about it in Fermanagh; they're up for it!!
Love championship fever!!

And could we not just kidnap Bradley, or shoot him or something?

Estimator

Quote from: ExiledGael on June 17, 2008, 07:10:30 PM
Sound analysis FP, I'd be amazed if McBarron starts on Saturday, at full-forward anyhow. I'd also be very surprised if McCabe doesn't start, even if O'Rourke doesn't name him.
Given our full-back situation I wouldn't be surprised to see Muldoon on the edge of the square. Even further out he's a great asset for kick-outs and our half-back line are all under six foot. Midfield will need serious help if it's the trio of him, Conway and Diver out there.
Goan will pick up Bradley, but it's all about the system in marking someone like that and I'm confident O'Rourke can solve that. Agree that Eoin could be the dark horse here but again O'Rourke will be no stranger to his game.
But you could find strengths in all their forward six to worry us.
Have to wonder whether McElroy playing his club football up there is a help or a hindrance for him personally? I probably think the latter.

I can see McElroy being really up for this game! Not only is it an Ulster Semi Final, but I chance to go out against players he plays in club football as well
Ulster League Champions 2009

Yes I Would

This whole Fermanagh outfit will be up for it. All pressure is on Derry, and if Fermanagh can get on top in and around the middle they have the runners to cause Derry defence problems! They will need to have Derry on back foot for most of the game and take their shootin boots with them, as Bradley & co wont be as wasteful as they were against Donegal! 

Jimbobjnr

I can really see Derry struggling on saturday against fermanagh. Without Doherty, we look like an unbalanced team and the whole rhythm of our play is upset. Diver and Conway will no doubt provide us with strong forward support, but we could be caught out by the fermanagh runners through the middle.

In saying that, i feel that Derry still should have enough to progress, but Fermanagh on the handicap of +3 at 10/11 looks a good bet. This one will be close.

FermGael

Fermanagh team apparently
Taken from  http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/7460960.stm

Fermanagh manager Paddy Crozier has named an unchanged starting line-up for Saturday's Ulster SFC semi-final against Derry at Healy Park.
Liam McBarron, a late replacement for Shane McDermott before the throw-in against Monaghan, retains his place at full forward.
Ciaran McElroy moves from corner forward to wing forward while Mark Little moves inside.
The midfield is unchanged with Martin McGrath partnering Mark Murphy.
Derry boss Paddy Crozier has said that goalkeeper John Deighan is likely to be ruled out of the match.
Deighan picked up an ankle injury in a recent club game so Barry Gillis looks certain to start in the semi-final.
"I don't think John is going to be fit so Shane McGuckin will be on the bench," Crozier told BBC Sport.
Sean Martin Lockhart is also likely to be ruled out after tearing a quad muscle while playing for Banagher.
The defender and former All Star was forced to retire after 10 minutes of a club game two weeks ago.
Francis McEldowney and Michael McGoldrick are the possible replacements should Lockhart not be able to line out.
Joe Keenan and Liam Hinphey are ruled out while Raymond Wilkinson is believed to have quit the squad and Barry McGoldrick is an injury worry.
Crozier added that Fergal Doherty will not launch any further appeal against his four-week suspension.
On paper, Deighan's absence should not be a major blow to Derry's chances of progressing to the provincial final as he and Gillis have been battling for the number one spot throughout this season.
"Barry (Gillis) is an experienced goalkeeper and we have been rotating the goalkeeping position all this year," added the Derry manager.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Derry: tba.

Fermanagh: R Gallagher, S Goan, H Brady, P Sherry, D Kelly, R McCluskey, T McElroy, M McGrath (c), M Murphy, C McElroy, J Sherry, R Keenan, E Maguire, L McBarron, M Little.

Paddy Crozier is going to have a tough day on saturday.  Managing both sides now!!
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

peterquaife

Quote from: Jimbobjnr on June 18, 2008, 01:47:08 AM
I can really see Derry struggling on saturday against fermanagh. Without Doherty, we look like an unbalanced team and the whole rhythm of our play is upset. Diver and Conway will no doubt provide us with strong forward support, but we could be caught out by the fermanagh runners through the middle.

In saying that, i feel that Derry still should have enough to progress, but Fermanagh on the handicap of +3 at 10/11 looks a good bet. This one will be close.

Derry may well start with Diver / Bradley and have Patsy shore up the middle

Derry by 5 points or more

FermGael

A Very interesting game on Saturday night that may well be won on the sideline.
The fermanagh team that i posted from the bbc website is probably not worth the paper it is written on.
I feel that the team will be:

Gallagher
Goan          Lyons/Brady    P Sherry
McElroy      Clucker           Kelly
        Womble    McGrath
M Keenan   J Sherry         M Little
R Keenan    E Maguire        C McElroy

Goan and Brady/Lyons will probably pick up the 2 Bradley's with Sherry picking up Gilligan.
The center half back line picks itself and hopefully Womble and McGrath can do the business in the middle.  They will not win the clean ball they won against Monaghan but they should be able to win a good share of possession.  
Suppose upfront is the biggest question.  For years the forwards picked themselves but this year we actually have competition for places. Brewster, McCabe, L McBarron, P Cadden, P Ward could all start and i would not be surprised if they do.  The last day illustrated Fermanagh's need for a left footed free taker and thats why i have included Keenan.  I think he is fit and he was our top scorer in the league.  McCabe should be left for the last 20 minutes where he might expose some tired Derry defenders. Maguire could expose McCloy(If that's possible because i think he is a very good defender).He has pace and a great leap and we need him to be on form Saturday night.  If we could play a sort of interchange system up there, it might just unhinge the Derry defence.  We have to be clinical and we cannot afford to many wides.
The only way that we can stop the P Bradley is by cutting out the supply of good ball into him.  But Derry have other quality players. Lynch has taken out in championship games before as has Muldoon.   Gilligan impressed me in the league final with the amount of unselfish work he got through and E Bradley has got all the tools to be as effective as his brother.  All our defenders must win there personal battles if we are to win on Saturday.
O'Rourke could be the key on Saturday.  He knows all about Derry football.  He will have a couple of game plans ready for Saturday and is not afraid to make a sub if a player is not performing.
It will be tight but i think Fermanagh can win this, but only just.  
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

Fermanaghandsam

Can't wait for saturday, really think we have a chance. The papers have been pretty quiet this week with regards this match but, both camps must be keeping very quiet.

As usual Midfield will be key, if fermanagh can win this sector, I really fancy us. Derry are always prone to a bad day at the office as well, lets hope its saturday  ;D

downgirl

Bad decision to put an Ulster Semi Final on a Saturday, no??

Best of luck fermanagh on saturday,

Ulster doesnt seem as strong this yr as recent yrs, yeve a fair good chance of winning it outright IMO but Derry wont be easy. Ye can do it.

CityGael

USFC Semi-Final Derry v Fermanagh Team News 
Derry face Fermanagh in Omagh on Saturday night in the Ulster Senior Football Championship.

With John Deighan picking up an ankle injury in club championship fixture, Magherafelt's Barry Gillis takes over between the sticks. The Loups Shane McGuckin joins the panel as replacement goalie.

Francis McEldowney started in Ballybofey, and retains that position.

Fergal Doherty is out due to suspension with James Conway partnering Joe Diver in the middle of the park.

Captain: Kevin McCloy

Manager (s): Paddy Crozier (Manager);

John McCloskey; Bernie Henry;

Peter Doherty; Martin Heaney.

1 Barry Gillis

2 Kevin McGuckin

3  Kevin McCloy

4 Francis McEldowney

5 Gerard O'Kane

6 Niall McCusker

7 Michael McIvor

8  James Conway

9 Joe Diver

10 Mark Lynch

11 Paul Murphy

12  Enda Muldoon

13 Conleth Gilligan

14  Paddy Bradley

15  Eoin Bradley

16 Shane McGuckin
17 Patsy Bradley
18 Paul Cartin
19 Colin Devlin
20 Ryan Dillon
21 Enda Lynn
22 Barry McGoldrick
23 Michael McGoldrick
24 Ciaran Mullan
25 Paul O'Hea
26 Raymond Wilkinson

Model Hammer

Bit of shameless bias here, but best of luck to Fermanagh. We've gotten to know each other over the last couple of years and I had good craic with the locals in Lisnaskea the couple of months back. Would be great to see both Wexford and Fermanagh reach the Provincial Finals this year (and maybe beyond) ......

I can't believe how much Ferm were written off on TV3 tonite and elsewhere. Worra lorra bollocks. They showed a couple of bad wides - big deal. I give them a rip-roaring chance on Sat evening. The only way to hold Paddy Bradley is to cut down the supply, and that'll be the key.

Is it live on TV down south?

well if ye get rte2 down in wexford then yes, it's on de tele - 6.00pm on saturday evening.

the green man

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 19, 2008, 09:30:14 PM
Best of luck fermanagh on saturday,

Ulster doesnt seem as strong this yr as recent yrs, yeve a fair good chance of winning it outright IMO but Derry wont be easy. Ye can do it.

Thats the type of condescending stuff that sickens my hole! ;)

I hope that its a free flowing, end to end game that reignites every young boys passion in the games. I also hope that Derry win. I think we will by 3 points.