Leinster Semi Final 2008 Laois v Wexford

Started by The Real Laoislad, June 01, 2008, 05:12:09 PM

Plenty of long, accurate footpassing into the forward line today. The problem with Matty is if he doesn't get a score early on he will shoot from everywhere until he does get one. Then he tends to settle down and make better use of the ball. I'd agree with the panellists that Jason Ryan will secretly be delighted that Matty was kept relatively quiet in the last 2 games. I think there is a seriously big game in him for the final.

Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 04:06:05 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 22, 2008, 03:47:40 PM
i thought the standard was well above the tripe served out yesterday in healy park (those grapes are still very bitter), obviously a totally different style of football, but at least it was a bit entertaining for the neutral.
TV3's commentary and analysts are pretty good too.
??? Yesterday's game was highly entertaining.
obviously i didn't find it entertaining at all, i genuinely thought it was poor fare, it may have been a good result for fermanagh and the neutrals, but there wasn't a pile of football played (bar skinner's goal).

fair play to wexford a good side and fully deserve to there, they are a lot more than just matty forde. Laois were very poor though and are firmly back in the pack .

Quote from: Bogball XV on June 22, 2008, 04:12:41 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2008, 04:06:05 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 22, 2008, 03:47:40 PM
i thought the standard was well above the tripe served out yesterday in healy park (those grapes are still very bitter), obviously a totally different style of football, but at least it was a bit entertaining for the neutral.
TV3's commentary and analysts are pretty good too.
??? Yesterday's game was highly entertaining.
obviously i didn't find it entertaining at all, i genuinely thought it was poor fare, it may have been a good result for fermanagh and the neutrals, but there wasn't a pile of football played (bar skinner's goal).

Pathetic, have you watched the game again? Hope the Derry management and players don't have the same attitude as you or Derry have no chance of re-grouping and maximising their potential.

Delighted for Wexford, and agree about Forde. He'll be bursting himself for the final.
Just can never understand Laois and all this underage potential, must be a bastard of a team to support.

Lads, leave last nights game to the other thread!

I thought it was an alright game, typical Leinster fayre, some decent football and a lot of wides, but difficult to judge just how good either side are in the greater scheme of things. This is not to take anything away from Wexford, fair play to them and I was delighted to see another team in Leinster get their day in the limelight.

It has to give them great hope that Mattie kicked 8 wides and they still won comfortably. Maybe the media will start giving some recognition to some of the other fine players that this team has. I was very impressed with PJ Banville for example, he covered some ground and was still flying at the end of 70 mins.

Just as the same man was left on Munnelly for the whole game the last day, the same man was left on Parkinson for the full 70 today ??? I don't understand this and both Micko and new guy in Wexford (who's name escapes me at the moment) are clearly good managers. I didn't once see Wallace getting close to Parkinson who was head and shoulders above every other Laois player on display.

Nothing against Iarmhi or the Jacks but I think it would be great to see Wexford winning Leinster.

wexford are a right good team and today is the first day i have seen them as a genuine threat. they have a strong panel with good subs and are genuine contenders. Fair play to them. Laois weren't let play today, and wexford should be given credit for it.

boro

Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 22, 2008, 03:26:54 PM

16-11 to the Pikeys

Your a ****

Great day for Wexford, fantastic win, first final since 1956!
Come on the yellabellies

Fair play to Wexford but to be honest i thought they were the better of two bad teams
As someone posted a few posts back Laois are a bastard of a team to follow,Every time you think they have finally turned a corner they let you down,We were awful today,Only Colm Parkinson was anyway decent
Here's hoping its a Westmeath v Wexford final

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 22, 2008, 10:56:02 PM
Fair play to Wexford but to be honest i thought they were the better of two bad teams
As someone posted a few posts back Laois are a b**tard of a team to follow,Every time you think they have finally turned a corner they let you down,We were awful today,Only Colm Parkinson was anyway decent
Here's hoping its a Westmeath v Wexford final

A day that nothing went right for Laois .Parkinson and Cahir Healy were the only 2 that played well . Laois have a young team and I hope they regroup . The only bright side for Laois is that it was not the Dubs  that they faced today . Well done to Wexford I hope they do well . Their full back line will have to improve Dessie Dolan ,Denis Glennon ,Alan Brogan ,Conal Keaney will punish them if they defend like they did today

laoisgaa

QuoteWexford - The strawberries and cream of Leinster football.

With the cream coming from Wexford creamery!

Absolutely gutted after that game today. Thank God it took 20 minutes for the interviews to start - was finding it hard to bring myself to ask any questions. I'm afraid to say I saw this one coming, along with Fermanagh's win over Derry. As Laois Lad said Parkinson was really the only one that tried hard. We should have had Colm Kelly (Stradbally) on from the start. I was happy enough with Mark Timmons also, disappointed though with the rest - particularly Clancy. It's not in his character to do things like that but every dog has its day.

Talking to Mattie Forde after the match and put it too him that he kicked six points and seven wides. His reply - 'we'd love to kick 20 wides in a game and still win it' - no silverware won yet for Wexford but this is the Summer for it to happen. They'll beat Westmeath in the final!! You heard it here first!

Every time I see thon balax Parkinson I think of me brother who had the misfortune of working on the same site with him in Australia for one day. He says Parky quit after 2 hours as he was told to dig a hole and couldn't do it. How can a man who cannot dig a hole expect to win an All-Ireland?

laoisgaa

We really love to talk about food don't we. Last week it was Ice-cream, this week strawberries, cream and cheese.

AN other

I thought there seemed to be a real lack of hunger and fight in Laois, something which Wexford seem to have in abundance.

Quote from: AN other on June 23, 2008, 01:19:10 PM
I thought there seemed to be a real lack of hunger and fight in Laois, something which Wexford seem to have in abundance.

Totally agree,I wonder is there a lack of faith in the manager? I know certain individuals in Laois haven't much time for Keirns
He didn't seem to have a plan B yesterday.The thing is i believe the players are there in Laois in compete with anyone,Maybe thats just me being biased but i think there is enough talent there,but the hunger isn't and without hunger and fight in a team talent means nothing

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 23, 2008, 02:18:06 PM
Quote from: AN other on June 23, 2008, 01:19:10 PM

Totally agree,I wonder is there a lack of faith in the manager? I know certain individuals in Laois haven't much time for Keirns
He didn't seem to have a plan B yesterday.The thing is i believe the players are there in Laois in compete with anyone,Maybe thats just me being biased but i think there is enough talent there,but the hunger isn't and without hunger and fight in a team talent means nothing

Some of the senior players on the Laois panel are allegedly quite open about their dislike of Kearns, to journalists..

Doesnt seem like a lack of talent, more that Kearns isn't getting the best out of them...whether thats down to the players or the Mgt, I don't know..