Longfort - Iarmhi

Started by AZOffaly, May 07, 2008, 12:37:28 PM

I thought some of the things Martin Carney said were idiotic too.  Goggins did alright as a first-time analyst - he was on the money about Longford's faults anyway.

Mentalman

Quote from: Billys Boots on May 12, 2008, 11:35:12 AM
I thought some of the things Martin Carney said were idiotic too.

This is a common occurrence. These guys feel the need to fill dead air to justify their existence, even if such comments only prove just how ill informed they are.

"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

QuoteYou should be allowed to kick a player rolling on the ground after they have dived.

I agree. It should be the new Rule 1 and any player within 5 yards of one of these incidents who fails to kick the offender should be yellow carded! Denis Glennon would be in a quare hape after every game if it was brought in.

Quoteany player within 5 yards of one of these incidents who fails to kick the offender should be yellow carded

I can see the queues forming already - great idea.

I see my favourite bug bear is going to continue this year as well. Frees or Sidelines out of the hands being taken from the next parish. I think frees should be off the ground if you are kicking for a score. Your man Wilson must have stolen at least 15 yards accumulated yesterday. His last free, after Dessie was 'buckled' was a good six or 7 yards ahead of where the foul was. He was well inside the 45 kicking it.

As for Brian Kavanagh's 'sideline', by the time he kicked it he was a decent foot pass away from the sideline.

Poor enough game yesterday, would echo what Mentalman said. Couple of further points:

While I see the logic behind putting Nachie on Barden to stop his strong running I still feel it was an error to modify a defense that that had stood us so well in the league. And we were opened up far too easily for the goal, surely the reason we bring so many bodies back is to stop that from happening. Thought Gavin was excellent on Kavanagh and Boyle while not being prominent made sure his man wasn't either. JK and Heavin looked off the place a bit but Heals was superb, he'll break many a half forwards heart before this summer is out. Gary in goals did well but maybe could have got a hand to ball for Bardens goal as it was nowhere near the corner. His short/aimed kickouts need an awful amount of work.

Midfield were excellent I thought, Flan in full flow is a joy to watch and O'Donoghue looks more assured there as every game goes by, his distribution is excellent.

Half forwards won more than their fair share of breaking ball but never really imposed themselves on the game. Willo didn't really do anything apart from the freekicks and Harte was less prominent that previous games. Smyth probably did enough to ensure he starts the next day. Budda's penalty was brutal, you would think that after his "effort" in 05 that he'd never attempt that again, should have been shown up. Took a nice point, hesitated for a couple of others, again prob did enough to start the next day, keep him away from the full forward line though Tomás!!!

Dessie and Denis did ok. Denis has to learn how to turn and shoot and Dessie was lucky to remain on de pitch. Himself and Duffy have 4 weeks to get themselves right.

On the contensious decisions, the penalty decision looked correct from my (and the referees) viewpoint as it looked like a rugby tackle, television looked less clear cut. On Glennons steps, his marker was hanging out of him but the ref was reluctant to blow for a soft pen after previously giving one so he was also reluctant to blow Glennon up for the steps. The shoulder on Boyle was not shoulder to shoulder, it wasn't shoulder to chest either, it made contact with the shoulder socket, a foul, yellow card was a bit harsh but it did look bad as Boyle was sent flying into the hoardings.

Luke and his whinging and his references to 2001 was a bit sickening and he wasn't very collected in his post match interview. Was surprised to hear some of de players come out during the week saying how they didn't want to play us again this year and it doesn't seem like a very happy camp. That said they got within 3 points of us and we need to take a long hard look at ourselves over the next few weeks. The Biffos in Tullamore will be a completely different proposition...

The only real positive apart from a couple of performances is that the whole country will go back to writing us off again and we may surprise one or two teams before the summers out.

An Iarmhí Abú

QuoteWas surprised to hear some of de players come out during the week saying how they didn't want to play us again this year and it doesn't seem like a very happy camp.

I was away all week, so I don't know who was saying that.  But there's no doubt that they're not a happy camp - I can't seem to remember when they were.

Quote from: Billys Boots on May 12, 2008, 01:42:20 PM
QuoteWas surprised to hear some of de players come out during the week saying how they didn't want to play us again this year and it doesn't seem like a very happy camp.

I was away all week, so I don't know who was saying that.  But there's no doubt that they're not a happy camp - I can't seem to remember when they were.

Damien Sheridan was one, can't remember the other...

There's a man who can talk about himself alright - but I'm being charitable today.   :-\

North Longford

A minor point Croi but unless you were talking to the ref I don't know how you know what hewas thinking re the steps. I'd say a couple of things. It was shown a few times on the telly last night and there didn't appear to be nor was it mentioned that Glennon was being fouled. Secondly he had taken more than 4 steps before he got into the penalty area so it would have been a soft free at that point!

AN other

It wasn't pretty at all but better to win playing like that than to loose playing great football.
Westmeath definitely seemed nervy and cagey at the start of this one and Doran Harte probably typified this best. It seemed that they were afraid of loosing this one following the good league and the bit of expectation that came with it, along with the fact that we hadn't won a leinster championship match since '04.
Dempsey's whinging was ridiculous, the referee made a few debatable decisions for both teams and for "nearly every decision"  ::) that could be alleged to have gone Westmeath's way I'd be pretty confident the opposite could be found for every instance. Kavanagh's push on Gavin in the closing stages comes to mind, along with a couple of fouls on Dolan not given.
The overcarrying decision is very debatable and is not as clear cut as suggested. It is very common that a referee allows a player extra steps to break from a tackle (especially when they are being fouled) and just because this happens to lead to a goal is no reason for it to be any different. It may not be strictly in acccordance with the rules but it's happening the whole time.
It did look like a penalty to me at the time but would have to admit it looked like less of a penalty on television replays but debatable at the same time. Buddah's effort looked worse on telly than I'd orginally thought it was and he would not be my first choice penalty taker at all. It looked like there was no dedicated penalty taker with a little bit of confusion over who was going to take it, which is a little worrying.
Gavin was my man of the match, he was a little loose on Kavanagh at the start, which is quite typical of Gavin, but he always seems to limit his man to very tough shots on goal and yesterday was no different, frustrated him completely. I'd agree that John Keane isn't at his best this year, or last for that matter but he still does little wrong.
I think the heat really got to Flanagan, he even admitted as much himself after, and he can produce alot better than that. I am a little worried he doesn't have the stamina for 70 minutes of championship football at midfield though. O'Donoghue was very solid again.
Dolan was very obviously rusty and lacking games, hopefully this will bring him on a little as we need him at full throttle. Will be interesting to see if Bannon makes it back into the team for the next day, according to Hogan Stand he had a stomach bug.
It will be interesting to see how the Westmeath tactics pan out for the next couple of games, I would have been critical of the short handpassing game at the start of the league but would concede that it was very effective in the end. I would now be a little bit cagey about its effectiveness during the warmer, more energy sapping days of summer. I feel O'Flaherta will have to use three or four more players to keep the legs fresh if it is to be successful but would not be confident we have three or four more capable players.

Quote from: North Longford on May 12, 2008, 02:11:37 PM
A minor point Croi but unless you were talking to the ref I don't know how you know what hewas thinking re the steps. I'd say a couple of things. It was shown a few times on the telly last night and there didn't appear to be nor was it mentioned that Glennon was being fouled. Secondly he had taken more than 4 steps before he got into the penalty area so it would have been a soft free at that point!

Wasn't talking to him NL but that's how referees/human beings operate and it's just common sense. I'll have to look at it again but he couldn't bounce the ball as ur man was hanging out of him, this is not an attempt to aim the "tackle" at the ball. That new gizmo of circling the steps will be useful to see where the 4 steps were, no one is gonna want to ref a big match soon...

North Longford

Lads with all due respect and its a moot point now but it was as obvious as be jayus that Glennon over arried the ball. Trying to make a case for someone taking 10 steps actually is silly. Even if he was being fouled which I still don't think he was (there's no advantage rule in GAA anyway), at what point should a ref decide to blow the whistle and which way does he give the decision. I mean we're now saying 10 steps is ok to break out of a tackle. So how many more. Do we blow at 15 but then is a free for excessive overcarrying or do we give the foul.  Anyway it makes no odds now.

Glennon overcarries quite a lot. I don't know how he gets away with it but he does. If refs cop on to him he'll be finished. Anyone with a good bit of pace should go round a back if they're allowed 8-10 steps.

rarely turns and shoots. i know as a defender i'd be happy enough to let him get the ball, because he'll always try and go around you in contrast to dolan who could take you to the cleaners if you adopt such a policy.