Ciaran McDonald not named in Mayo panel

Started by RedandGreenSniper, April 24, 2008, 08:13:35 AM

Quote from: stephenite on May 01, 2008, 11:09:43 AM
- but O'Mahoney is the manager and he either takes the bull by the horns and sorts it out or he shuts up and gets on with what he has.

I'd love to have a few pints with John Maughan tonight and see how hard he's laughing :D

I'd say by what o'mahony has stated he won't be coming back otherwise it would look like he would be caving in to public pressure so he just has to get on with it. Ye i'd say maughan has a wry smile on his face allright stephenite

Tatler Jack

Quoteit would look like he would be caving in to public pressure

Politicians cave in to public pressure all the time!! :)

Some pricless comments on anfearrua.com on this topic (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=474247)

On McDonald..
"Had great time for the man and not only for some of the hairdos etc. He brought a bit of long overdue rock'n'roll to the GAA without compromising on the sporting side."  :D

He also produced the best retort I've heard to an opponent trash-talking.
Fermanagh back: Is it true you're riding the boss's wife?
McDonald: I'll be riding you in a minute.

I have found O'Mahony's interview with Colm Keyes very enlightening. Stripping away the political double-speak, the following extracts might be a pointer to his future plans:
How about this:
[There's no question of forcing anybody out the panel.]
Or this:
[That applies to all players....]
The messiah expounded further:
[As far as I'm concerned, it all about what's good for Mayo football. That's my only interest and only priority.]
Even for a politician, this is fairly straightforward:
[The reality is that for the last 18 months he wasn't in a position to play. Maybe that will change in the future.]
Is there an olive branch being extended here?

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 01, 2008, 01:43:04 PM
I have found O'Mahony's interview with Colm Keyes very enlightening. Stripping away the political double-speak, the following extracts might be a pointer to his future plans:
How about this:
[There's no question of forcing anybody out the panel.]
Or this:
[That applies to all players....]
The messiah expounded further:
[As far as I'm concerned, it all about what's good for Mayo football. That's my only interest and only priority.]
Even for a politician, this is fairly straightforward:
[The reality is that for the last 18 months he wasn't in a position to play. Maybe that will change in the future.]
Is there an olive branch being extended here?

The whole F***ing olive tree is being extended if you ask me! Like most politicians Johnno s priority is himself and saving his own skin the priority since the shit hit the fan when the Indo arrived in Mayo yesterday. Its bacon slicer time for Johnno s arse unless he can sort this out and fast. He s a realistic man. Mac will be back. Johnno s probably been on discussion sites to see how public opinion is going and will act accordingly. Not having Mac back does nt make sense from either a football or political perspective.

QuoteThe whole F***ing olive tree is being extended if you ask me! Like most politicians Johnno s priority is himself and saving his own skin the priority since the shit hit the fan when the Indo arrived in Mayo yesterday. Its bacon slicer time for Johnno s arse unless he can sort this out and fast. He s a realistic man. Mac will be back. Johnno s probably been on discussion sites to see how public opinion is going and will act accordingly. Not having Mac back does nt make sense from either a football or political perspective.       

Hang on now Lar.... where and when did Johno ditch MacD ? He has always stated that Mac's injuries were a worry and that he and his selectors were monitoring the situation. MacD appears to have made unfounded allegations on this. He is basically accusing Johnno of Constructive Dismissal from the Mayo panel.

How would you feel if you trained hard all year and played in league match's and were on the panel all year and got dropped due to the recent accelerated fitness of MacD ? So Johnno was in a difficult situation and the main problem I believe was naming a bloody panel at all .... look at the mess it has created.

small white mayoman

Quote from: Davitt Man on April 29, 2008, 11:18:23 AM
McDonald doesn't make cut

Mayo to carry on without Crossmolina forward

Daniel Carey

MAYO have named a 29-man panel for the forthcoming championship which includes veteran defender James Nallen, but not his Crossmolina club-mate Ciaran McDonald.
The apparent end of the 33-year-old attacker's inter-county career was the major talking point at club matches over the weekend, as the man himself finished as leading scorer in the Deel Rovers' victory over Ballaghaderren on Sunday.
McDonald has not started a game for Mayo since the All-Ireland final defeat of 2006, though he did make cameo appearances against Galway and Derry during an injury-plagued 2007.
"Ciaran McDonald was invited to join us for some ... games [earlier this year] and didn't take up the offer," John O'Mahony told The Mayo News. "I admire very much Ciaran's input over the years, and he has been one of Mayo's greatest servants. But all we can do is invite people to participate."Nallen did not play in any of Mayo's league matches but did feature in a trial match in Ballinrobe last month. After an 'extended break', the college lecturer is back in harness for the summer, and O'Mahony feels he'll be a 'great influence' on his colleagues.
"We have a big changeover in the squad, a lot of young players in there, and I think there's no one more respected for what they have done and can still do – not just on the playing field but in the sense of an influence and advice for young players," he said.
Chris Barrett looks certain to miss the championship with a groin problem and has not been named in the squad.
The Belmullet clubman has sustained an osteo-pubis injury, similar to that which kept Ballina's Ger Cafferkey sidelined for 10 months. That makes the Mayo U-21 captain's participation in the senior competition most unlikely.
"It could be fairly long-term," O'Mahony confirmed. "Having said that, we've kept the door open, in case there's any dramatic improvement in the next few weeks.
"But I suppose the fact that we didn't name him, we feel on medical advice that it's not going to happen. As I would see it, Chris Barrett [has] a long career ahead of him for Mayo, and we don't want to put that at risk."
Others who have been omitted from the final squad include Crossmolina's Brian Benson, Burrishoole's Conor Moran, Enda Varley of Garrymore and Achill's Colm Cafferkey.

Well Johnno's statment to the mayo news on tuesday seemed to confirm the Mc donald was not going to be involved
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

QuoteWell Johnno's statment to the mayo news on tuesday seemed to confirm the Mc donald was not going to be involved                  

I assume you mean the one in bold wmm ? I must be miss-reading it. From where i'm sitting it clearly states that Johnno invited KMcD to participate, dosn't it?

MacD's viewpoint :

Quote"If John O'Mahony doesn't want me on the Mayo panel let him tell me to my face. If he said to me 'Ciaran, I'm going with younger lads this year' I'd be disappointed but I'd put out my hand to him and say that's fine. If he thinks I'm not good enough anymore, let him come out and say it.

Why would Johnno tell him to his face that he is not wanted for Mayo when the lad has been recovering from injury for the last 18mths and is only now reaching full fitness? and also how can MacD assume that he is dropped when it is clear and all the evidence has shown that this is not the case?

QuoteI would have loved to play with Mayo again this year but obviously he doesn't want me which is fair enough but I don't want Mayo people to think that I wouldn't play for him because it's not true. Playing for Mayo meant an awful lot to me," he said.

Where did MacD get the "obviously he dosn't want me" bit from when it is obviously an undecided situation that he may or may not be selected and obviously MacD has somewhat over reacted by giving a rare interview to a national paper on something that should be kept in-house in the interests of Mayo football.

Also, i don't believe for one minute that Mayo people walking down the streets would have in any way abused Mac in relation to the "what kind of Mayo man are you?" statement..., i for one would be praising him and wishing him well.

The irony of this whole debacle is that it appears to me that Mac has still got that sense of paranoia from his own people after the abuse he got at a league game some years ago. Now Johnno is taking the self same abuse (at a somewhat lower scale) and / or will be left open to it if Mayo don't perform this year and MacD isn't involved.

We won't win All Ireland's with this kinda carry-on. Lets compare this to the Kingdom and the Maurice Fitz scenario about a decade ago....... nothing in the national papers about that lad not making the panel even though he was firing them in from the sideline with his club...thats the differance between Mayo and Kerry , they do it right both on and off the field.

Davitt Man

Quote from: highorlow on May 01, 2008, 04:26:06 PM
We won't win All Ireland's with this kinda carry-on. Lets compare this to the Kingdom and the Maurice Fitz scenario about a decade ago....... nothing in the national papers about that lad not making the panel even though he was firing them in from the sideline with his club...thats the differance between Mayo and Kerry , they do it right both on and off the field.

The difference is Kerry had the likes of Johnny Crowley, Dara O'Cinnede, MFR, Gooch,Hasset and these lads who were more than capable of winning all-irelands, we dont have that talent

the issue for me is not wheter Ciaran Mcdonald at 33 is still good enough to play for mayo but what sort of leader  is the aging o'mahony. counties are always losing talented player galway still havent recover from donnellan early retirement not tyrone from canavan belated going,
Its time he put this issue to bed one way or another and not let it distract from Championship preparations. It grand for us to be talking baollix about it but I hope the players aren't as confused as we are about it. Lets face it Mcdonald wont be back unless we get beat by Sligo and if that happens we(and O'mahony's tyranny) are fecked anyway.
The manager has spoken so now let it be on his head.

highorlow, I think you are quoting the wrong poster!
That's what moysider wrote in response to my last post.
In moysider's case, I think he has the bloody olive branch wrong way around!
It's O'Mahony who is sending out feelers in the Colm Keys report, not Ciaran Mac.
Don't get me wrong about developments here: I'm just pointing out what may be taken from O'Mahony's latest statement.
Take a good gander at what swm posted from Tuesday's Mayo News, and obligingly highlighted.
Now if you read what I posted from the Colm Keys interview you will see that Johnno's tune has changed quite a lot.
The only thing of note that happened in between was the statement from Ciaran Mac, which was totally unexpected. I think Mac's contribution was carefully worded and was aimed at putting pressure on O'Mahony to re-consider. That's okay by me but there are one or two bits that Mac has glossed over. Both of them are being economical with the truth.
I've no problem going into this if any one cares but the important thing is that Johnno is now suggesting a possibility of Mac joining up. The ball is now with McDonald.
That is brinkmanship and politics, not football.

Moysider was right earlier when he wrote the only solution to the problem is to tog McDonald for the challenge against Laois this weekend. That way the two boys can say it was only one big misunderstanding, and the problem goes to bed.

The situation is a little more worrying in the long view though. McDonald is the sort of fella around whom teams are built. Johnno clearly - clearly - has no plans to build a team around McDonald, and that leaves us then with the question of just around whom exactly does he plan to build a team? Planning for the future is all my hat. People need to live in the here and now. It's never too early to give Galway their badly needed batin'. But how in damnation Mayo will carry out that holy duty this year I really don't know.

Part of Johnno's lustre was his reputation as a diplomat and man manager, with the John Donnellan situation being the prime example of that. He was on Newstalk during the Cork strike talking about how you need to get on with your board, and how it took himself quite some time to learn that lesson. And if all this is true, how in God's name did the current situation get to a point where McDonald ends up talking to the media, something he's always made a point of avoiding?

If McDonald togs against Laois, this all blows over for a while. But if he is back training, you then have the question of where you fit him in. Kevin McStay was making the point that, judging on league appearances, the team is more or less picked already. Does that mean that Johnno considers Campbell/Gill/McDonald interchangable players? It's all very worrying.

small white mayoman

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 01, 2008, 04:54:17 PM
Take a good gander at what swm posted from Tuesday's Mayo News, and obligingly highlighted.
Now if you read what I posted from the Colm Keys interview you will see that Johnno's tune has changed quite a lot.
The only thing of note that happened in between was the statement from Ciaran Mac, which was totally unexpected. I think Mac's contribution was carefully worded and was aimed at putting pressure on O'Mahony to re-consider. That's okay by me but there are one or two bits that Mac has glossed over. Both of them are being economical with the truth.
I've no problem going into this if any one cares but the important thing is that Johnno is now suggesting a possibility of Mac joining up. The ball is now with McDonald.
That is brinkmanship and politics, not football.

thanks for that LNP I could not have put it better myself i thought i must have been reading a different paper than Hol . As you said o' mahony's tune has changed from tuesday but not a lot by doing this interview he is just covering his own ass. He doesn't want mc there he knows that, mc knows that and now the public know that because of ciarans interview if mc didn't do the interview he would plough on. He has now said the panel is kind off open in that now players who are playing well for their club may be asked in to join the panel this has changed from his statement a few weeks ago when he said that the final panel is the final panel what has made him go back on this decision. I say fair balls to mc he has been treated shoddily by the management and by doing the interview let the mayo public know the right story.
All Ireland Champions 2006 & 2007

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 01, 2008, 05:20:19 PM
The situation is a little more worrying in the long view though. McDonald is the sort of fella around whom teams are built. Johnno clearly - clearly - has no plans to build a team around McDonald, and that leaves us then with the question of just around whom exactly does he plan to build a team?

Why would he? McDonald is 33 isn't he? Either way he's not going to be around a great deal longer so why would you build a team around him now?

Mayo will have to move on at some stage without him. Maybe this is what O'Mahony wants to do which is fair enough IMO although it makes the recall of James Nallen rather puzzling.

Maradona

Think its a bit unfair to say that O'Mahony doesent want McDonald or that O'Mahony things Campbell, Gill or whoever is better footballers than McDonald. I think what O'Mahony doesnt want is players dictating things, and like it or not, or deliberate or not on MCD's part, but the like of MCD and Brady have tended to dictate things in the past. I think O'Mahony is setting a line here and we cant really argue with that. I have heard (but cant confirm) that he has had problems getting one or two players to abide by the most basic rules. There can really be only one boss and if the boss is undermined, then he may as well walk.

Also, I cant understand some here saying that Maughan will be having a smile about this...he had enough similar problems with Brady, O'Neill and McDonald too at one stage. I am always wary of being critical of players because of all they put into it, but I think we in Mayo have always tended to put players on pedestals and unfortunately this has consequences.