Ciaran McDonald not named in Mayo panel

Started by RedandGreenSniper, April 24, 2008, 08:13:35 AM

Quote from: Hound on April 30, 2008, 10:00:48 AM
JOM knew that Ciaran would ignore the text message.

However, given that he did ignore the invitation, McDonald hasnt got a leg to stand on. He was offered a trial game, but there's no way he'd play in a trial game. JOM has the right to perform his selection process in whatever way he wants - but its deliberate poor man management in an effort to force McDonald out.

exactly hound

Must be just me - I'd be of the opinion that if a player wants to play the onus should be on him to stay in contact with the manager and let him know what his situation is. He's said in the media numerous times that Mac would be asked to play in a trial game - why didn't Mac contact him when he heard about. I reckon JOM got pissed off - sent him the text knowing he'd ignore it. It was deliberate bad man management, no doubt, but courtesy is a two way street.

have to disagree with you there stephenite, why should the player be in contact with the management fair enough if you were part of the managements plans but jesus what would the conversation be. how's it going john o' just wondering how your keeping haven't heard from you in a few months am i still part of your plans , the onus is on the management to let the players know whether you a player are part of their plans or not.

Davitt Man

Ballagh' blown away by Mac-powered Cross'

Welcome Inn SFL - Division 1A - Round 4
Crossmolina 1-13 Ballaghaderreen 0-8

THE reigning league champions hosted their closest rivals from last year in what was the tie of the weekend in Crossmolina on Sunday afternoon. The close contest many predicted only lasted so long however, as Crossmolina strolled through the last twenty minutes of this game, after systematically dismantling and visibly deflating the Ballaghaderreen contingent.

With Ciaran McDonald putting in a performance that reminded Mayo fans of what they'll be missing this summer, Crossmolina looked unbeatable in periods, forcing the Ballaghaderreen men to chase shadows, and defending competently when asked. It was an assured performance with no shortage of attacking flair.

Ballaghaderreen did start brightly, full-forward Barry Regan forcing two saves from the Crossmolina stopper in the first two minutes, the rebound from the second fell into the hands of Andy Hanly who opened the scoring with an easy point. This was followed by a free from Regan to double their advantage.

McDonald opened his account in the sixth minute with a sweetly struck point from 30 yards. With Ballaghaderreen still looking dangerous, Joe Dillon should have given them a greater advantage but couldn't keep his shot down and instead registered a point. This proved to be a costly miss, as Crossmolina would never again let the game from their grasp and secured supremecy when Sean Kelly goaled after a good move involving Paul McGuinness and Cathal Carolan in the 12th minute.

Buoyed by this score, the hosts then provided four unanswered points, three for Ciaran McDonald between the 14th and 22nd minutes, and a good point from Joe Keane, after an exquisite pass from McDonald. Joe Dillon did pull one back when he curled over from the left, but any minirevival was put to bed instantly with two long range points from Gabriel Walsh. At the interval Crossmolina lead the visitors by 1-7 to 0-4.

Ballaghaderreen started the second half much the same as they started the first, by wasting a goal opportunity, this time Peter Kelly drove wide. McDonald punished some poor marking two minutes later when he pointed from the 45'. Barry Regan and Peter Kelly hit two points for the visitors in the 39th and 41st minutes before McDonald and Regan exchanged scores two minutes later.

A period of ten minutes passed by without a score, until McDonald stepped up to send home a spectacular long range effort from the sideline and six minutes from the end, substitute Michael Moyles pointed from the 21' to remove any doubt as to the result. Regan got one more consolation point for Ballaghaderreen before Joe Keane, Gerry O'Malley and Ciaran McDonald, with his eighth point of the match, sealed the result in Crossmolina's favour.

Liam Moffatt and his Crossmolina backroom team will be very pleased with the manner of this victory, as they were controlled, powerful and imaginative in attack. The scale of the victory also allowed some of the players that are maybe not yet match fit some much needed game minutes, such as James Nallen and Enda Lavelle.

Ballaghaderreen will have to improve their attacking play if they are to emulate last year's achievements – many times during this game they didn't seem to be comfortable on the ball and by the end were wholly disheartened by the entire experience.

SCORERS – Crossmolina: C McDonald 0-8 (4f), S Kelly 1-0, G Walsh and J Keane 0-2 each, M Moyles 0-1.

Ballaghaderreen: B Regan 0-4 (3f), J Dillon 0-2, A Hanly and P Kelly 0-1 each.

CROSSMOLINA: Paul O'Donnell; Stephen Duffy, Colm Reilly, Jonathan O'Boyle; Declan Keating, Pat McAndrew, Gerry O'Malley; Gabriel Walsh, Mark Leonard; Sean Kelly, Ciaran McDonald, Cathal Carolan; Paul McGuinness, Joe Keane, Brian Benson. Subs used: Enda Lavelle (for Leonard), Michael Moyles (for Walsh), Stephen Rochford (for McGuinness), Tom Nallen (for Reilly), James Nallen (for O'Malley).

BALLAGHADERREEN: Ollie Flanagan; David Loftus, Phillip Rogers, Tomas Regan; Stephen Drake, David Kilcullen, Noel Tuohy; Dessie Keegan, Declan McGarry; Micheal Solan, Andy Hanly, Peter Kelly; Barry Solan, Barry Regan, Joe Dillon.

Referee: Peter Geraghty (Swinford).

Davitt Man

I wonder was Johnno at this game, i doubt it.

Greenabovethered

Unbelievable, what a way to treat a guy that has given 13 years service and practically carried Mayo to the final in 04/06. I'm disgusted. It wouldn't happen in any other county.We are so blessed with footballers that we can jettison the best forward in the county. Imagine Tyrone getting rid of PTG in the same way.   It's up there with Steve Stauntan asking Denis Irwin to try out for his place in the Ireland squad. pure nonsence. I'm afraid we will be looking for our fourth manager in 6 years before August is finished.

Davitt Man

Why do we always need to wash our linen in public, its all over the papers and news now today and will be for a while.

Quote from: Davitt Man on April 30, 2008, 10:30:35 AM
Why do we always need to wash our linen in public, its all over the papers and news now today and will be for a while.

poor management decisions should have just came out and said that he didn't have mc in his plans end of story. In fairness i'm glad mc did the interview as least people can see his point of view,

Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 30, 2008, 10:11:16 AM
have to disagree with you there stephenite, why should the player be in contact with the management fair enough if you were part of the managements plans but jesus what would the conversation be. how's it going john o' just wondering how your keeping haven't heard from you in a few months am i still part of your plans , the onus is on the management to let the players know whether you a player are part of their plans or not.

I see your point, but if he was the player that JOM stayed in touch with the most throughout the preceeding 13 months then they've obviously had somethings to talk about!!!

scalder

This looks like a case of constructive dismissal lads...

Quote from: stephenite on April 30, 2008, 10:39:55 AM

I see your point, but if he was the player that JOM stayed in touch with the most throughout the preceeding 13 months then they've obviously had somethings to talk about!!!

Well since mayo got knocked out last june and o 'mahony stated then that no harsh decision would be made regarding the older players and that they would be given time off we could assume he would not have been in contact with Mc till this year so in fact i'd say he has been in contact fcuk all the past 11 months maybe the proceeding 7 months he may have been but it looks like feck all contact has been made since june of last year stephenite.

Seems like pretty shabby treatment to me. The man deserves better after all these years. Its an insult to ask him to play in a trial match at this stage of his career. He is a big game player.

Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 30, 2008, 10:48:38 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 30, 2008, 10:39:55 AM

Well since mayo got knocked out last june and o 'mahony stated then that no harsh decision would be made regarding the older players and that they would be given time off we could assume he would not have been in contact with Mc till this year so in fact i'd say he has been in contact fcuk all the past 11 months maybe the proceeding 7 months he may have been but it looks like feck all contact has been made since june of last year stephenite.

I'm just going on the second reports of the intetrview and doing me own maths, based on the lack of contacts for 5 monhts.

Anyway - doesn't matter at this stage, JOM can pick up the phone, there's been a misunderstanding me auld flower and invite Ciaran onto the panel. Or he can not bother picking up the phone and drive on - after this interview the ball is firmly in JOM's court and it's up to him now to sort it out. Time will tell.........

Unbloddy believable. A serious shambles. McDonald has never given an interview before in my recollection and has really blown the cat amongst the pigeons.

To say it is shabby to contact him by text is an understatement. If JOM was to busy to phone him, or not man enough to phone such a great servant of Mayo football he is not the man that people make him out to be.

For me the problem begins and ends with this daft notion of a public announcement of a championship panel. We never had such carry on before. "open-ended" was always the key word.

McDonald is the best forward in the county and still has much to offer. He is respected by other team mates and is well recognised for being of great support to the younger players on the panel.

There are just so many ifs buts and maybes to the situation but there is no way of resolving it now.

It may be an unfair question but is the managers full focus on this job - does he want it? was it just a helpful avenue to his political career? The evidence to date is one of little progress, although judgement has to be made come Summer. But it keeps coming back to the way our County Board have acted over the years and treated decent men like Mickey Moran. Any mess we have we deserve.

Quote from: Barney on April 30, 2008, 11:09:08 AM
For me the problem begins and ends with this daft notion of a public announcement of a championship panel. We never had such carry on before. "open-ended" was always the key word.

Ye i couldn't understand that either why did we have to do that? have any other counties done that maybe its something to do with the grants and the county board requested it .