Tyrone v Down Ulster Championship First Round 8th June 2008

Started by To whom it may concern, April 14, 2008, 12:39:46 PM

Great game and great entertainment but I'm not sure my heart can stand too many nights like that. Down showed great spirit to come back from 4 down in extra time. I thought they were gone at that stage. This game could have been won by either team or finished in a draw again - it was that close. McAneany was inconsistent and was very kind to Tyrone during the last 5 mins of normal time. Roll on the semi final. It's been a while since we've been able to say that.

Dubh driocht

Some excellent comments and summaries here. Hope the Rover enjoyed his Magners.
I like Tyrone - the team ,management and supporters. They are passionate about their football. So are we. They respect that , and that is why their players,management and supporters were gracious in defeat.
As for performances- there weren't any bad ones .
Paul Murphy is a colossus .Liam Doyle, at his correct position of CHB, is a Rolls Royce defender and a dead-eye dick free-taker.
Ambrose galloped over every blade like a Moneydarragh pony. Aidan Carr is another thoroughbred who shed the father's a legend burden .Kevin Mc Kernan completed that hatrick.Dan has red and black blood.The two Ronans and Daniel must run 15km every game- wish RTE had that software the soccer has. Benny is a God , a legend, the strength of a bull, the determination of two men.John Clarke is the most honest of men, and sums up what's best about Mournemen.
For the first time in my life, I know the three main men behind the team , and if you could bottle the passion these men have for Down football, you could sell it for a fortune. How dare any bollox ever question their integrity.
So, onwards and upwards, sales of Steve Earle and Sharron Shannon will soar, bring on the best from Briffne today and this will be an epic summer.

Jesus lads, ye wond a first round match. lay off the glue for another couple of weeks

Dubh driocht

Quote from: Uladh on June 15, 2008, 10:10:01 AM

Jesus lads, ye wond a first round match. lay off the glue for another couple of weeks

Which is more than youse did last year , front or back doors, and I don't think you will get much today in Cavan where the sales of carry-out Buckfast will soar like Seany Johnstone's points.

Yes I Would

Jesus Uladh let them enjoy it, Sure they must have forgotten what it felt like to win a good toght championship game!!
Great to see! but to progress supporters and players will need to settle down again very quickly. Ulster semi in two weeks!!

Muzz

As a matter of interest when is it the last time that Down won a first Round Championship Match?

Congratulations to Down - the glory days in Tyrone are well and truly over.

laoisgaa

One of the other journalists said to me last night something about Down not having lost a game under the floodlights in Páirc Esler - is this true? How long are the floodlights there at this stage? 2 or 3 years or more?

superblues

anportmorforjfc

the semi will be in clones no matter who wins between armagh and cavan

Tyrone have consistantly produced classic games year on year. You really would have to question how Spillane and the southerners go unchallenged when they talk about Tyrones style of play and how it has ruined football. Kerry havent produced anywhere near as good a games.

Justy McMahon should have been switched off Danny Hughes, it made no sense leaving him on a quick small forward. McGee or Swift should have been brought onto him and Justy used out the field. If we could some how get our injuries sorted we could still get a good run in the qualifiers.

People keep saying Tyrone dont have the strength in depth that was talked about a few years ago but I think thats harsh. We have lost O'Neill and Canavan to retirement. Then last night we were missing McGuigan,McGinley,Mulgrew,Mulligan and Colm Cavanagh (only lasted about 20 mins and was injured before the game even started). Thats 7 forwards. How far would Kerry go without Donaghy,Gooch,O'Sullivan,Brosnan,Galvin,Russell and Sheehan?

Well done Down you played your part in an epic epoque- ending battle as all great teams need to go through, and I wish you well
Tyrone we had our day and its over - for many players that have given unparallelled service to the county, for the management who have brought us to the promised land twice.  Its sad, its over but we were beat by the aristocracy of Ulster football after a great great battle. We will go so far in the back door but we must realise we need a new team to be built, playing a new system, some will remain and maybe take another Celtic Cross in a new era, and whilst Mickey may wish to remain on for the good of Tyrone football I think he will decide to move on and maybe give it another go in a few years.  How could he not be too loyal to the panel that has brought the big results to Tyrone football.  How can we expect him to demolish and rebuild?  What we seen last night was the dying kick of a great team, that yes were ravaged by injury over the past number of years but thats football - we had won 2 aititles so we cant be greedy - there was probably no more than 2 all irelands in the group of players, some are burnt out mentally, some physically, and some are fine for another few years, but 2 all irelands renders that team and management great and we will never forget their achievements.  I doubt if there is a better management in Ulster never mind Tyrone that Mickey but he must move to the side after this year - the next 3 years could be tough.  Come back in 6 if he wants he is still a young man, but is he ruthless enough with the older players - I think he has proven that he isnt and that he has struggled to bring forward new talent and new ideas on the back of his major successes.
Our day will come again!!    

Was workign last night but was totally gripped by this thread, could only imagine what the match would have been like!

Just caught the end of it on the radio leaving work, sounded nuts! First thing tomorrow morning booking sunday 29th off.

Come on armagh!