Iar Mhí v An Mhí

Started by thejuice, February 25, 2008, 09:57:39 AM

I reckon this could a tough one, in fact if you pushed me to it, Im not that confident of us winnning this game. We're still stuck low gear it seems, though our forwards are doing ok. By all accounts Westmeath should have won last week.

Eh, we did, or was that all just a dream  ???

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 25, 2008, 10:20:06 AM

ah i mean against Dublin, sorry

Quote from: thejuice on February 25, 2008, 10:25:07 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 25, 2008, 10:20:06 AM

ah i mean against Dublin, sorry

Ah we were always chasing that game, we just love to give de Dubs an early lead for some reason... Should be a good game on Sun, will yous be sending down many of ur u21s???  :P

that was some beating they got, hope theres a good excuse for it

Well we only beat Kilkenny by 9 points, hope there's a good excuse for that...

shark

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 25, 2008, 01:57:33 PM
Well we only beat Kilkenny by 9 points, hope there's a good excuse for that...

There is a fair enough excuse, Westmeath have a very poor u21 team this year, thats pretty much it. Might beat Wexford the next day and then Laois will do the same as 2007 & 2006, except those 2 years Westmeath actually had (on paper anyways) a decent side.

Dolan Out!

Dessie Dolan has failed to recover in time from his hamstring injury to face neighbours Meath in Sunday's NFL Division Two tie in Mullingar.

The 2004 All Star picked up the injury in Westmeath's most recent NFL clash with Armagh.

Dolan has been dogged with injuries so far this season having also burst a blood vessel in a challenge match prior to the Armagh match.

However, the Garrycastle star did line out against the Orchard county but subsequently picked up his current injury.

Mentalman

Quote from: thejuice on February 26, 2008, 10:45:00 AM
Dolan Out!

Dessie Dolan has failed to recover in time from his hamstring injury to face neighbours Meath in Sunday's NFL Division Two tie in Mullingar.

The 2004 All Star picked up the injury in Westmeath's most recent NFL clash with Armagh.

Dolan has been dogged with injuries so far this season having also burst a blood vessel in a challenge match prior to the Armagh match.

However, the Garrycastle star did line out against the Orchard county but subsequently picked up his current injury.

Wouldn't say he will be the only one missing, couple of players on holidays etc. so it could be interesting to say the least.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Glennon to miss showdown with Royals
27 February 2008

Westmeath's hopes of securing a rare win over arch rivals Meath in Sunday's NFL Division 2 encounter have suffered another setback with the news that key forward Denis Glennon is unavailable for the Cusack Park tie.

The Tyrrellspass ace, who made his first appearance of the season as a substitute in the win over Armagh, will be away on holiday. Westmeath manager Tomas O Flatharta must also plan without his other star forward, Dessie Dolan, who is sidelined with a hamstring injury.

"It was good that Denis came back and we need everybody back. It was good that he was able to come on and contribute something against Armagh. However, he's going to be away next Sunday as he booked a holiday for the weekend, very early in the year," O Flatharta explained.

The Kerryman also revealed that midfielder and 2004 Leinster championship winning captain David O'Shaughnessy may not play at all this year due to an Achilles tendon injury.

"Unfortunately, David O'Shaughnessy looks like he will be a long-term casualty. He has had a problem for the last few years with his Achilles tendon and, also this year, he had an operation on his cartilage.

"He has done a lot of work and the cartilage has cleared up but, once he pushes himself, the Achilles problem won't go away. It looks very doubtful for David this year."

Meath have been a real bogey side for Westmeath down the years. In fact, Westmeath have never beaten their neighbours in the senior championship and haven't beaten them in the National League since 1973.

Not making it easy on ourselves... Bad news on Shaugho, could've done with him competing for midfield...

hate to see that kinda thing happen to anyone, Achiles, ACLs, Quads, Hamstrings, once they go they can dog ye till ye hang up the boots.

Mentalman

Ah I wouldn't be holding out much hope for Saturday, I think we've another couple just coming back from holidays etc. the day before, so I'd be surprised if they will be starters.

I've heard rumours but nothing official that we're missing Shane O'Rourke, Joe Sheridan and Brian Farrell.
Graham Reilly and James Queeney might have another chance to shine. Graham Gerathy will be back and will probably feature at some stage.

Mentalman

Quote from: thejuice on February 28, 2008, 02:04:04 PM
Graham Gerathy will be back and will probably feature at some stage.

Love him or loath him that will probably guarantee some excitment/fireworks come Sunday.

The Meath team to play Westmeath in the NFL in Mullingar on Sunday next shows 4 changes in personnel from the team that drew with Roscommon in the 2nd round.

Cormac McGuinness, Cormac Magill, Padraig Howard and Graham Geraghty replace Kevin Reilly, Seamus Kenny, Eoin Reilly and Shane O'Rourke.

The team is...

Brendan Murphy     (capt)

Cormac McGuinness
Darren Fay
Cormac Magill

Padraig Howard
Anthony Moyles
Caoimhin King

Nigel Crawford
Mark Ward

Peadar Byrne
Cian Ward
Graham Reilly

Stephen Bray
Jamie Queeney
Graham Geraghty