Live Scores on GAA Radio

Started by OakLeaf, February 13, 2008, 09:14:59 PM

OakLeaf

A live scores service has been added to GAA Radio. It's a free service, which I thought would be useful for people who can't get to the games.

Anyone who is at a game and is willing to provide updates for the rest of us, please send your texts to 447624804328.

You can follow the scores at http://www.gaaradio.com (Just select the Live Scores menu on the left). I've added a couple of samples so you can see what it'll look like.

I'd be interested in any feedback from those who use it.

Oakleaf, is gaaradio all about Club games, or are you hoping to 'broadcast' county matches as well? Same for latest scores.

OakLeaf

AZOffaly, the commentary part of GAA Radio is all about club games. Most county games are already covered by regular radio stations so I wouldn't be fulfilling any need there. The Live Scores service is for any game at any level (football, hurling, camogie, ladies football and even handball). The aim is to let people stay up to date with any game, right from underage to Senior inter county.

Grand stuff. Well if I'm at any of the gripping Division 4 football games, I'll text in scores. I may be in Tullamore there this weekend, but I wouldn't bank on it.

Aristotle Flynn

Are you running this yourself Oakleaf. Very well done.
A tyrant must put on the appearance of uncommon devotion to religion.

OakLeaf

Aye, its a hobby for me. A kind of selfish one in some respects! You see I do a lot of refereeing so most of my brownie points with the missus are blown through that. What that means is I don't get to very many other games (where I get to sit and watch). I get restless when I don't know what's going on  :)

Will you be commentating on the games you are reffing? That would be cool ;D

Like the rugby 'ref mike' ;D

OakLeaf

;D All I can say is that I'd be better not doing that Live at any rate! It would need some serious editing.

Oakleaf, well done for this initiative. One suggestion it might be worth also getting a Freestate mobile number to text, a lot of people have free text bundles etc, but these hardly ever work cross-border.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Good point armaghniac.

You'll have to be fairly organised if you are getting texts in from all over the country as well. I don't think it'll be enough to just have a 'latest score' page with hundreds (maybe) of scores on it. You'll have to organise it like you have for the upcoming commentaries (province/county)

OakLeaf

Both good points lads. I just wanted to get it up there first to see how it would go. If enough people are interested in using it and people think its useful then I can see about getting a number for the Freestate and organizing the display a bit better. 2 way SMS is fairly expensive so I want to be sure people use the service before I splash out on another number  :)

Superb Idea Oakleaf !

Its not just the club games either, I have difficulty getting up to date scores from any GAA senior league or championship match let alone the lower grades and levels (including clubs etc).
RTE text is a joke and thats about all there is. RTE radio 1 is ok, but its not as if the results are to hand , and you want to get them there and then (you have to sit through 15 mins of interviews or commentary on another game without the update you are looking for. Even then you are dependant on rt fecking e who are as incompetent and unreliable as feck!

Hope this gets off the ground.
Good luck with it. Maybe max will help you with the website - it'll keep him away from the prostitutes!

OakLeaf

Lynchboy,

Max would be way too busy talking about Bellaghy on the Derry board to help with anything!

Quote from: OakLeaf on February 14, 2008, 04:42:32 PM
Max would be way too busy talking about Bellaghy on the Derry board to help with anything!
the 'wee daftie' would only be a hinderance alright!

but that does remind me that this system is potentially open to abuse perhaps?

any nutcase eg the aforementioned unmentionable - could be texting updates to his wee hearts content
about how bad the ref is and how poor bellaghy are down to 12 men just because the ref sent off three boys who attacked the goalkeeper with hurleys(in a game of football)

or some equally crazed infantile minded peopl ethat send the wrong scores in etc etc ?
Prob no way of moderating that
but the service you suggest would def be an improvement on the current lack of any info to GAA fans.

OakLeaf

There is no doubt it is open to abuse. You'd hope people just send in the scores but inevitably you'll get the odd messer. I do record the senders mobile number so at least I can block texts from people who are not using the system for what it is intended. I might run the texts through a filter when I get a bit of time to set that up but for now it'll be a manual process of moderation.