Laochra Gael Mick Lyons 22.00 TG4 Tonight

Started by EugeneGeraghty, January 31, 2008, 09:10:40 AM

feetofflames

Listen at the time Lyons was regarded as a thug. Talented player without doubt but a thug non the less.  Dont ebven pretend its news to you.  We could do with a few more Mick Lyons now.  My question is it why do people fondly remember the bad guys and ignore the good guys or even attempt to tarnish their reputation.  
Chief Wiggum

Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:19:49 AM
Listen at the time Lyons was regarded as a thug. Talented player without doubt but a thug non the less.  Dont ebven pretend its news to you.  We could do with a few more Mick Lyons now.  My question is it why do people fondly remember the bad guys and ignore the good guys or even attempt to tarnish their reputation. 

By who? Give us examples of these thuggish incidents?

Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:19:49 AM
Listen at the time Lyons was regarded as a thug. Talented player without doubt but a thug non the less.  Dont ebven pretend its news to you.  We could do with a few more Mick Lyons now.  My question is it why do people fondly remember the bad guys and ignore the good guys or even attempt to tarnish their reputation. 

See my last post. We remember different people fondly for different reasons. Are you suggesting Colm O'Rourke, Matt Connor, Mike Sheehy or Maurice Fitzgerald are 'ignored'? A quick count of the Laochrí Gael would probably show a lot more 'good guys'.

Finally, Mick Lyons was not regarded by a thug by me, or by many others of my aquaintance at the time, and that includes lads who would have marked him, or been marked by him (in both senses :) ). He was regarded as what I've already said.

I'm sure some others regarded him as a thug, but I would respectfully suggest they are wrong.

QuoteI'm sure some others regarded him as a thug

Yeah, by eejits who know nothing about football. Lyons is a legend. Missed the programme last night but looking forward to viewing it on the laptop when I get home. Aside from his footballing ability he was genuine. EVERY punch isn't enough to put a lad to the ground or maybe gaelic footballers have become better boxers in recent times.

Lyon's was a great player - no doubt about it !

feetofflames

No doubt about it but when Witnell done the damage to him there was no comeback or setting the record straight - he had just met the bigger man and he knew it  - ankle injury mehole. 
Chief Wiggum

Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:41:26 AM
No doubt about it but when Witnell done the damage to him there was no comeback or setting the record straight - he had just met the bigger man and he knew it  - ankle injury mehole. 

It was a knee injury.

feetofflames

Chief Wiggum

Quote from: feetofflames on February 01, 2008, 11:41:26 AM

:D You are some WUM

Enjoyed the show last night.
Good hard, solid player who was dirty as fcuk when he had to be. Am not saying he was right or wrong but every team needs one or two boys like him (Meath had a lot more than this BTW)
Dont know if it has been mentioned yet, but the elbow Coyle hit the Dub in the fourth game was a f**king disgrace. Wasnt so long ago people were talking about players going out to deliberately injure an opponent - if this isnt an example of it I dont know what is

QuoteCoyle hit the Dub in the fourth game was a f**king disgrace.

Him I never liked as a player, to be honest. I always felt he had a bad streak in him. More Dub than Meath I'd say :D

Now Coyle was a different kettle of fish altogether. He was just plain mean. ;D

Lyons was hard but so were a lot of players in the 80s.  Tyrone had, Sean Donnelly and John Lynch, Noel Mc Ginn, Harry Mc Clure, Eugene Mc Kenna.  They were all hard men and there was no one harder than Frank Mc Guigan when he needed to be.  I think to be a top footballer you need to physically impose yourself first and then play the ball in that era.  I was at the Cork and Meath games of the late 80s.  A lot of hard men about but the football was pure shite, but even then some 15 years before Tyrones Golden Years it was obvious that winning Sam was the most important thing of all and people where prepared to do anmything to get there.   
I always thought to myself that Mc Entee was very unlucky to get sent oiff in 1988 final.  All he was attempting was a surgical removal of the Cork mans head.   :o  a standard enough procedure carried out at the time.

Always had respect for Lyons. Tough and intimidating, but not a thug. Harnan, Coyle and Foley were the thugs!

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 11:18:47 AM
Mick Lyons is a legend, even outside Meath, because for 10 years or more he was a teak tough, no-nonsense full back. Strong as an ox, and never took a step backwards.

Some lads are legends to neutrals because of their skill. Men like Canavan, Fitzgerald, Sheehy, Connor and Egan.

Others are legends because of their heart, their attitude and their sheer will to win. Lyons is one of the latter.

Good man Mick, the game could do with a few more of you.

Well said AZ.