GAA ODDS

Started by ONeill, November 10, 2006, 10:36:32 PM

Lone Shark

Certainly not junior anyway. I'll probably try intermediate, but even then I'll have to study it carefully.

That result from London yesterday was costly, and defied all logic - how do All Ireland champions at any grade lose by quadruple scores at home? It doesn't inspire confidence, to say the least.

McKenna Cup fixtures will be up by Lunchtime.

Quote from: his holiness nb on January 21, 2008, 10:52:47 AM
Not the expert betting man, can anyone tell me roughly what odds I would get on a quadruple of Kerry, Dublin, Louth and Offaly winning their leagues?

I don't think that winning Div 3 will be a major target for Louth this year HHNB, I think they will be trying to build everything up to peak for the first round of the championship  ;)

Silky

Quote from: Lone Shark on January 22, 2008, 04:08:13 AM

That result from London yesterday was costly, and defied all logic - how do All Ireland champions at any grade lose by quadruple scores at home? It doesn't inspire confidence, to say the least.

What's that about?

Is there somethign wrong with the site Loneshark? Can't seem to see the GAA section anywhere?? Anyone else having this problem?

Can anyone posty the odds?

Homer

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 22, 2008, 03:28:29 PM
Is there somethign wrong with the site Loneshark? Can't seem to see the GAA section anywhere?? Anyone else having this problem?

Can anyone posty the odds?

Ladbrokes site hasn't had a GAA section for 3 days now  ???

Loneshark??? You ok????

Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 25, 2008, 11:32:01 AM
Loneshark??? You ok????
well he was posting yesterday - I just came on this thread to find out where the odds had gone too.

Sky Blue

Still nothing on Ladbrokes. I reckon he's been sacked for posted on here during working hours.  :D

f**king hope not!! Where else would you get to talk to the odds compiler of your favourite betting market!!

Lone Shark

Won't go into the details too much, but as I warned ye there was a bit of an inquiry as to why there were so many markets with no-one betting on most of them (taking manhours for set up, settlement etc.). Turnover wasn't justifying the workload, so I was told to pare it back to PP's level of service. 

Twill all be looked at again next year. I'll still try and accommodate as many of the requests as I can, but unfortunately two or three people looking to bet on an intermediate club game and then disappearing back to powers for the national league and championship means that I can't just justify doing those games any more. Plus it's damn hard make money on low grade stuff like that going on in counties 150 miles away from you as well.

That's not me getting angry at anyone in particular by the way (I know I've arranged bets for a good few people on this board over the past while) it's just me being stuck in the middle between wanting to do a decent level of bets because I'm interested in trying to create a REAL gaelic games product and the costs not being met by the profits coming out of it - business pragmatism.

As for posting on here during working hours, my employer knows all too well that working hours for me ain't nothing like what they are for the rest of ye.

Quote from: Silky on January 22, 2008, 01:21:39 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on January 22, 2008, 04:08:13 AM

What's that about?

That was just the staw that broke the camel's back. Robert Emmets of London won the All Ireland Intermediate championship last year, they brought in two new good lads from Tipperary and generally seemed in decent shape - so my guys over there told me anyway. Last year they beat the Galway winners on the way, and I had no reason to believe that Tommy Larkins were any significant amount better. London games are normally tight affairs on mucky pitches, so I went Emmets favourites by about the equivalent of three points, home advantage and all that.

Every dodgy hoor in the country backed Larkins in the twenty minutes before throw in, who duly obliged by a farcical score of 0-16 to 0-4. Try and explain that to an English boss who doesn't know the games. Explain it to anyone for that matter. I still don't know what happened.

Bad luck Lone Shark. I only opened a Ladbrokes account because you were involved. I e mailed them yesterday asking why the GAA section was gone and I got the following reply:

Thank you for your e-mail.

I can confirm that these markets are currently unavailable on the
website , please accept my apologies for the inconvenience . You may
still be able to place your bets in one of our shops ,
on selective markets.

If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us again and we
will be more than happy to help you.

Yours sincerely,

David Everitt
Customer services

Kentucky Blue

I genuinely feel sorry for you Lone Shark. I can appreciate the work that goes into your odds compiling and the research, man hours etc.

As you know I have contacted you a few times myself with price enquiries and i have found you very accomodating. I also opened a Ladbroke's account for these reasons and continue to use it. For what its worth (and probably not a lot) but In a sense of loyalty and due to other firms ripping off your hard work i will continue to use Ladbroke's

Keep up the good work.

Lone Shark

Cheers folks - sentiment much appreciated. The next few weeks will tell a lot. Obviously enough the studying of form for less well known games is one of the better aspects of the job - if I'm just reduced to in-running trading all weekend, then I can't foresee sticking at it too much longer. 

Incidentally ye're all still welcome to try with requests etc - I can probably do a lot of them on a one off basis, but just the weekly list of games will have a lot less games in it than it used to.

That Emmetts thing was bad form LS - some greedy people out there.

Anyway, you've still got a decent selection up for the week, now my main concern is this:
What are yourselves and the rest of the bookies paying out on re the NFL outright bets - winners after play-offs or divisional placings?  I'm presuming it's the team who get the cup at the end of the day?  What are the play-off rules anyway, top 4 div 1, top 2 the rest?  Feck knows!!
Anyway if you get a chance...

Lone Shark

When I set up the markets I set them up as regular season only, since I couldn't find the info anywhere myself. It since transpires it will be a straight final between the top two, but since the markets are up I'll stick with the original rules.

As for the Emmets thing, don't misunderstand me - if I make a bollix of things, then it's only reasonable that people will step in and take advantage - that's only fair. I don't mean a misprint of odds due to a technical error obviously, but when I give my opinion and people decide I'm way off, as sometimes happens - I am only human.

What grates about the Emmets game is that I still don't know what happened. Even if it was something as simple as a dose of flu in the camp meaning they were all weak and unfit, then fair enough - then I can sleep easy. My problem is that right now I have no idea why Emmets were such no-hopers in that game, and until I know, I can't rule out the unpleasant conclusion. I've only genuinely believed the worst once in any championship GAA game of any kind (that farce with the Down hurlers last year) and I don't want to believe it now either - I just wish I could figure out what I'm missing and rule that out.