Out in Cinemas this Week...

Started by pintsofguinness, January 22, 2008, 09:21:44 PM

Mentalman

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 23, 2008, 03:02:43 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on January 23, 2008, 02:55:27 PM
Saw it Sunday night, it's good, very good, but it'sa bit of a departure for the brothers isn't it? Not in the aulity of the movie but in the lack of humour. Javier is brilliant. For instance I really felt for the Woody Harelson character as you know immediately, as he does, that the game is up. The ending is great, if a bit abrupt, I think everyone in the cinema goes "WTF?"

I dunno, a lot of similarities with Fargo I thought, very dry. There certainly was a sense of "Is that it? What happened?"  :D

Ah I thought there was plenty of humour in Fargo, right from the characters and their mannerisms/speech, particularly Buscemi & McDormand & Macy, to the admittedly dark humour - the kidnapped wife "escaping" in the snow for example. Maybe after I see "No Country" a few times I'll pick up more, but on first viewing there was precious little. Not that that is a bad thing, everybody needs to evolve and challenge themselves, and it is an excellent movie.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Saw it Sunday night, it's good, very good, but it'sa bit of a departure for the brothers isn't it? Not in the aulity of the movie but in the lack of humour. Javier is brilliant. For instance I really felt for the Woody Harelson character as you know immediately, as he does, that the game is up. The ending is great, if a bit abrupt, I think everyone in the cinema goes "WTF?"

Jeeze I would have said it was similar to Fargo too.  It has the same sort of eerie feeling to it and I thought there was a lot of dark humour.

Mentalman

Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 23, 2008, 06:45:50 PM

Jeeze I would have said it was similar to Fargo too.  It has the same sort of eerie feeling to it and I thought there was a lot of dark humour.

Must just be me then? Like I said I'll undoubtedly see it again to judge.

Quote from: Mentalman on January 23, 2008, 06:49:14 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 23, 2008, 06:45:50 PM

Must just be me then? Like I said I'll undoubtedly see it again to judge.

I would agree there was plenty of humour in Fargo and I thought there was in this too, well maybe not as much but near enough. Gonna have to watch it again pretty soon myself, was concentrating on not falling off my seat in parts...

el Chino

No country for old men

cant wait to see it but none of the Moviehouse cinemas seem to have it, dont know why that woud be?

I want  to see "no country..." and Cloverfield looks interesting. I saw the original Alian V Predator which was brutal. I wouldnt waste money on that kind of garbage.

Not as taken aback with 'No country..' as everyone else seems to be, must admit. It's very good, and has smoothed out some of the over-philosophizing that was in the book while remaining very accurate to it but there's very little in it that's different. It's very similar in many ways to Steve McQueen's The Getaway with Bardem cast in the Al Lettieri role (now there was a screen heavy); Bardem himself seems to have his lines heavily dubbed. (Expect the compressed-air cow-killer to feature in The Simpsons sometime soon.) Tommy Lee Jones is little more than a cipher in the film.

As for the Oscars, the big contest will probably be between No Country and There Will Be Blood for Best Picture, Atonement being the dark horse.

Director prize looks Coens all the way.

DDL looks a cert. for Best Actor, Viggo Mortensen's shades and M&S suit should have been nominated instead of himself.

Julie Christie is a strong favourite for a second Oscar (Best Actress), over 40 years after she won her first - has there ever been an interval of that length? Cate Blanchett has been nominated for being er... Cate Blanchett.

Bardem will probably take Supporting Actor from a very competitive field. Supporting Actress looks wide open, maybe have a flutter on Tilda Swinton as she's been around a while, always a help in these things.

Hard to look past the favourites in all of the above, in a ceremony that has been overshadowed somewhat by the Writer's strike.

Mentalman

Quote from: mouview on January 24, 2008, 05:55:00 PM
Bardem will probably take Supporting Actor from a very competitive field.

Having seen both movies in the last week I think it will go to Casey Affleck, but like you said it's very tight.

So National Treasure - Book of secrets gets about a 7/10 from me.  No classic and not as good as the first imho but entertaining, well worth the watch. 
Does anyone know what's on page 47.......

Some good films out at the minute, thinking of hitting "The Bucket List" tomorrow (Just realised it's not out until Friday) and of course "There will be blood" out on Friday though if it's as good as "No coutry for old men" I'll be shocked! 

To quote myself
QuoteI see Javier Bardem has won a few awards, nominated for several more, he was outstanding. 
...and picked up a Bafa too, all the way to the oscars!

Was planning on seeing Cloverfield too but I'm hearing it's shite.

Did anyone see "In The Valley Of Elah"?  I see my local cinema is only having it on for a few more days, worth going to? 

The woman dragged me to see a film the other night..Jeez i can't remember the name now,But yer one out of Desperate Housewifes was in it and she was dead or something
I fell asleep  :-\

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 13, 2008, 10:16:26 PM
Over her dead body?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0785007/

C'mon laoislad!

Yep thats it...PURE MUCK...
Anything for a quite life sometimes POG....

good show pints, going to see it in wide screen in the cinema.

btw thats another 5 points for you

Aristotle Flynn

I went to see No Country For Old Men. I wasn't impressed at all. There were times I'd no idea what was going on. The scenery in Texas was lovely but what happened the money?
A tyrant must put on the appearance of uncommon devotion to religion.