Petrol/Diesel prices in your area

Started by Owenmoresider, November 12, 2007, 12:41:49 AM

Ah yes Niamh Horan, the one who used every 'asset' she had to get into a Rap star's Hotel after show party and then was so shocked when he suggested something more than a dance that she had to write and tell the nation about it.

Sunday April 08 2007

NIAMH HORAN
I'LL let you in on a little secret; when a rapper says 'party', he doesn't exactly mean it in our innocent sense of the word.

Believe me, take my advice, or you'll find out like I did; the hard way.

It all started when a friend and I were invited back to join the godfathers of hip hop, P Diddy and Snoop Dogg, at their after-show party at plush Four Seasons Hotel last Sunday night.

The superstar duo were in town for the final night of the European tour and I've been a serious fan of their music since my early teens.

Naturally I was unhappy when we got stuck at the back of the concert arena.

What to do? I decided to chance my arm to secure a better view of my heroes. I toddled up to security personnel at the pit, flashed a winning smile and asked if there was any way I could get in to the front-of-stage trench filled with screaming fans.

"Not a hope," came the stern reply. But after laying on the charm a little bit more he pointed to a tall black guy wearing very snazzy pyjamas. This was the man, apparently, who could make my request come true.

Seconds later I got the OK and for the next two and a half hours my friend and I were neck deep among the hard-core sweaty fans getting down to lyrics like "Get my drink on, and my smoke on, then go home with, something to poke on (whassup bitch?)".

In hindsight it should have all been so clear. The lyrics told the story.

So, as the concert was finishing, I asked my friend if she wanted to beat the crowd. But just as we were leaving the pit I spotted Snoop Dogg himself on the other side of the steel barrier, making his way from the stage to his dressing room.

I grabbed his attention and next thing I know I was holding his hand and telling him how much I love him and his music. My fleeting rendezvous left me feeling all giddy and flustered and I was laughing at the sheer luck of it all when we spotted a group of girls being led in back stage.

"What's going on?" I asked the security guard. "These girls are going to the after-show party," came the reply.

My eyes lit up and thoughts of a Cristal cork-popping extravaganza start swirling in my head. Again I asked the security guard. Any chance? He shakes his head "no way".

Not being one to be easily deterred I persisted until I saw another guy giving orders who looked to be fairly high up the chain of command.

I put on my biggest puppy dog eyes, "Any chance of getting to that after-show party?" I smile. Bingo. He opened the steel barrier and waved my friend and I through.

So we're shown through a set of red doors and, along with a small group of girls, escorted out to a waiting bus. Standing next to it was my saviour in the pyjamas, who later claimed to be Snoop Dogg's uncle, holding two giant bottles of champagne.

So there we allwere, a group of giddy, giggling girls, unable to believe our luck, when we got a final word of warning in a deep south American drawl from our escort, "If you don't wanna party, don't get on the bus".

My friend and I looked at each other, "Of course we want to party with P Diddy and his crew, what kind of question is that?"

Once on the fully air-conditioned bus with blacked-out windows and tables, the excitement began to build up among the chosen girls. One by one we started applying our make-up in anticipation of the big bash.

Once in the hotel, however, things quickly began to go downhill as hotel management stopped us in our tracks on the way to the room saying that, for legal reasons, non-residents weren't allowed up to the suites.

So there we were, standing in the lobby with Snoop Dogg's uncle and some bottles of Cristal, trying to think of a way for him to get us up, when P Diddy strolled by. Don't get excited, I told myself, you'll be partying with him soon enough.

Ah, but that's when the penny began to drop and the reason we were so 'privileged' to be invited to the exclusive get-together suddenly became clear.

As a couple of the guys who were on stage with P Diddy strutted in, one of them pointed at me and said: "I want that one." I got all excited at what I thought was my ticket to the party and asked if my pal could come along too.

"I got two," he shouted to another member of the entourage, across the lobby.

Then he turned to me and asked straight out. "What are you going to do to me?"

"Sorry?" came my reply. "What do you mean?"

"Whisper in my ear what you gonna do to me, I want you to talk dirty," he demanded.

Dumbfounded, I look over at my friend for help. "Tell him in Irish, Niamh," she offered, hoping I could get away with murmuring 'Conas ata tu' in his ear.

"No, No," says the now increasingly frustrated musician. "Tell me in English."

He looked at the shocked, somewhat embarrassed expression on my face, and continued sharply: "There are a lot of girls who wanna come to this party you know. Now are you going to get naked with me. Yes or no?"

Still nothing but a blank expression on my face.

"Fine," he snapped. And stormed off before coming back when he saw another of the entourage talking to me.

"That sh*t ain't game," he shouted, pointing at me, obviously advising them not to bring me to the party because I wouldn't put out.

The dude claiming to be Snoop Dogg's uncle came over to ask what I had done to make him angry. I told him my story, hoping to get some sympathy but I was quickly put in my place.

"I told you, you don't want to party, don't get on the bus!"

Indeed. Hindsight's a wonderful thing. When these boys say party - they don't mean jelly and ice cream.

$2.83 per gallon at the minute  - not too bad at all - though it went up 50cents in 4 weeks :(

I thought Snoop was a nice clean living type of guy, except for the blue movies.

So that's what passes for journalism these days....

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 12, 2007, 09:58:33 AM
Quote from: Ryano on November 12, 2007, 09:19:38 AM
I was coming out of Dublin yesterday and needed Diesel so i pulled into a Statoil on the quays. Hopped out, opened the tank and reached for the pump. Then copped the price, 179.9 for both Petrol and Diesel. Are they taking the piss??? I'd sooner have pushed the f*ckin car to Galway rather then pay that. Hopped back into the car and hit off out the motorway. Filled up out the road for 117. What amazed me though was that there were people all around me filling up there cars @179.9. Muppets!
Supposedly the reason for the ridiculous price is that this filling station has the garda contract and so it doesn't really matter what they charge, as they will have guaranteed revenue.

That is very true

I heard a well known Filling station on the N2 outside Castleblayney ( Not a Statoil may I add  ;D) received a delivery of Diesel into their petrol tank at the weekend and the error wasn't noticed until after a number of cars had filled up. These cars later spluttered to a halt in various parts of the country.

Is it true that if you put diesel in a petrol tank and add in the same amount of petrol that they will mix and the car will run ok? Just something I heard when told about the above incident.

dodo

Texaco garage on Newtownpark Avenue, Blackrock, Dublin

Unleaded   €1.189
Diesel        €1.199

Been running on cooking oil for almost a decade now.

Heard an interesting radio programme lately that explained that. It's very possible and a lot more popular than you would think. Apparently leaves the car stinking of a chippy though. maybe that would be a plus point for some.
On another point I've been driving for a few years now and never ever been dipped, or even seen it happening and I travel an awful lot. Does it happen to normal cars often?
Starting to think the old farmers choice would be worthwhile if these increases keep up

The chippy smell is a myth, or from someone who's bucking used chippy oil into it. A slight whiff if you have your nostril up against the exhaust. You also hear 'it ruins the engine'. Nonsense.

Maybe they have the PSNI contract in the area!
Sure the lads couldn't cross the border to save on fuel now

THE MIGHTY QUINN

That vegetable oil seems like a great idea. You could throw a few spuds and a couple of sausages into the carburettor leaving work and hey presto your dinner would be cooked for you by the time you got home

Quote from: Take Your Points on June 15, 2011, 09:33:30 PM
I have just changed the car for a diesel one after four years in a 2.0L turbo and a hefty petrol bill.  What is the price of diesel across the border?  Is it worthwhile going to Emyvale for a fill up?

Do you work for Customs?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

gawa316

Quote from: Take Your Points on June 15, 2011, 09:33:30 PM
I have just changed the car for a diesel one after four years in a 2.0L turbo and a hefty petrol bill.  What is the price of diesel across the border?  Is it worthwhile going to Emyvale for a fill up?

Think it's around 1.44euro

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on November 12, 2007, 08:54:15 AM
Mcanerneys in armagh was £1.07 On saturday

just picked this one out at random from the 1st page. Imagine if it was still 1.07, there would be some queue outside McAnearneys every day now !!