Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

beer baron

Have to agree with the lads about the young lad centre back not being great yesterday,along with that i thought the management have a lot to answer for.2nd half when behind we left Jack brady-outstanding player on his own in the forward line for most of  the game with no support.and kept kicking aimless balls in at him.Midfield we barely won a ball,i lost count of the amount of times both lads went up for the ball rather than 1 up one down,barely won a break all game.I liked the full back,read the game very well i thought and comfortable on the ball.
Ah well now to look forward to the long trip to Cork,think i'm going to go stay in Dublin friday,would i be better off getting the bus or the train from Dublin to Cork Saturday?

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: beer baron on July 05, 2010, 10:42:42 AM
Have to agree with the lads about the young lad centre back not being great yesterday,along with that i thought the management have a lot to answer for.2nd half when behind we left Jack brady-outstanding player on his own in the forward line for most of  the game with no support.and kept kicking aimless balls in at him.Midfield we barely won a ball,i lost count of the amount of times both lads went up for the ball rather than 1 up one down,barely won a break all game.I liked the full back,read the game very well i thought and comfortable on the ball.
Ah well now to look forward to the long trip to Cork,think i'm going to go stay in Dublin friday,would i be better off getting the bus or the train from Dublin to Cork Saturday?
Ryanair might be your best option.

Terry Coyle

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on July 05, 2010, 10:54:20 AM
Ryanair might be your best option.

I take it you don't have a car.. motorway whole way from Kells to Cork now.

Train I would say. Bus probably goes through all the towns on the way.

full moon

Didn't understand why young O'Connor was taken off in the minors. He had the beating of their defense all day long. After that and the sending off, our forward line went to pieces.

tierworker blue

Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2010, 12:29:02 PM

The train seems pretty painless. Service every hour and there's an internet booking deal on at the moment...€10 down (I think it may be €20 back)

Lawrence of Knockbride

Going by Mullingar rather than Kells saves you 4.50 e/w on tolls plus it's shorter.

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on July 05, 2010, 03:05:03 PM

Going by Mullingar rather than Kells saves you 4.50 e/w on tolls plus it's shorter.

Toll on New road - €1.30 x 2 stations e/w
Toll on Mullingar - €2.90 x 1  e/w

Only saving is you avoid M50 Toll going by Mullingar.

Terry Coyle

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on July 05, 2010, 03:05:03 PM

Thats the Cavan man response alright - Shorter but not necessarily quicker with some of the towns you have to go through.

Lawrence of Knockbride

I reckon it would be quicker, shorter and cheaper. Myles, the toll you speak of is on the M4. I meant going through Mullingar and on to Tullamore. Terry Coyle, the route planner lists this route as being about 20 minutes shorter. I'm basing this on going from Cavan town of course.

Terry Coyle

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on July 05, 2010, 06:28:14 PM
I reckon it would be quicker, shorter and cheaper. Myles, the toll you speak of is on the M4. I meant going through Mullingar and on to Tullamore. Terry Coyle, the route planner lists this route as being about 20 minutes shorter. I'm basing this on going from Cavan town of course.

It bases that on the distance obviously but doesnt take into account going through the various small towns etc on the way. Cruise control on, let it rip, sure the dog will drive down!  ;D

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on July 05, 2010, 06:28:14 PM

You'd be mad in the head going that way. Cavan Town to M50 is now just over 1 hour. M50 to Jack Lynch tunnel is 2 hours.

put-it-up

How about we all leave at the sametime and we will have a race? First one there get a free pint of each man ;D I'll be putting my 1.4l engine to the limit if ya's agree to it!

Why does Seanie always have an injury before every game? Is he that injury prone or does he jsut like the media attention? He can kick a point though  ;D

With regards to the minors yesterday I didn't make it down because of work. A always felt we were gonna struggle at midfield once we came up against a good team and I think that is what happened from what I hear. Also was informed there was one or two very average players involved but I don't like giving out about or praising minors to be honest. They are best left to get on with it. I presume that is the end of Mickey Graham's minor tenure. 3 wins from 6 games in 3 years of championship football. It's not bad but I am sure he will be disappointed not to have made a final as are we all considering we made it to two semi-finals in three years.

Any early guesses who will want to take over there?

Team to start in my humble opinion...

Fintan
Hannon       Corr           Brides
            Cahill     Flanagan
Gunner       McGuigan       McKeever
      Brennan   Shierdan   Galligan
                   Nesty
  Johnston               Mackey   

Obviously it is all hands to the defence. Pack the midfield and try and hold onto the ball until Nesty can find Johnston and Mackey in space. Then we need Gunner and Mckeever getting forward to support. Our FB line will need loads of protection from the danger men in the Cork FF line hence two sweepers. Cavan are going to have to make a dog fight out of this the same way as Sligo did to Kerry last year. I am hopeful the lads can build on the performance last week and put up a decent show here.

put-it-up

Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2010, 09:34:55 PM
Team to start in my humble opinion...

Fintan
Hannon       Corr           Brides
            Cahill     Flanagan
Gunner       McGuigan       McKeever
      Brennan   Shierdan   Galligan
                   Nesty
  Johnston               Mackey   

Obviously it is all hands to the defence. Pack the midfield and try and hold onto the ball until Nesty can find Johnston and Mackey in space. Then we need Gunner and Mckeever getting forward to support. Our FB line will need loads of protection from the danger men in the Cork FF line hence two sweepers. Cavan are going to have to make a dog fight out of this the same way as Sligo did to Kerry last year. I am hopeful the lads can build on the performance last week and put up a decent show here.

Myles you are not genuinely suggesting that we start Corr again are you?

Obviously we are going to have to mind the house, but at the same time if we try to sit back and shut up shop and play like someone like Fermanagh we will lose by ten points anyway because Cork will pick us off and if we play like that we will be lucky to score 0-8 points. We dont have the players to play that kind of way and Neither do I think Carr will inspire them to become that kind of player over night nor do I think training would have been geared to playing like that. It is not TC's way and it certainly isn't Cavan's way.

Plus if we drop off like that, Cork will sit one or two infront of Johnston and Mackey and we will score F all.  Jelly and Mackey need good diagonal ball into them to latch onto and I don't for one second think Cork are going to let us do that. For that reason we might need Brennan's frame closer to goal but by Jaysus we are short midfield.

I think we should go with one sweeper and then ask our lads to each get their man and work their socks off to win their own battle. Playing two sweepers tells your players you don't trust them to stay with their men and measure up to them. The workrate that we had against Wicklow will be the minimum we require to keep it respectable and whether the desire will be there I am not sure. I hope I am wrong but I have a horrible feeling in my gut that Wicklow performance was a flash in the pan...

Also Myles you have left McCutcheon out ?!?