Official Cavan GAA Thread

Started by BallyhaiseMan, November 10, 2006, 01:47:12 PM

Celt_Man

Good articlce for the most part but couple of questions....

Why is Hannon regarded as the best man marker in the county?  Maybe he was but certainly not at the present time
and
Is Mulvey not out with a knee injury for a considerable length of time?
and
Joey Jordan was on the panel?? Jaysus didn't even cop that if he was togged out for the Fermanagh game and Gunner - fecked from the handball the day before - came on ahead of him, you wouldn't blame him for getting fed up and walking away
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

No you wouldn't blame him and I have yet to be convinced by Brady but Cavan always seem to pick him.

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 29, 2010, 05:30:04 PM
No you wouldn't blame him and I have yet to be convinced by Brady but Cavan always seem to pick him.

Gunner DF? id have to disagree with that
Gunner has arguabely been one of our most consistent performers down the years for Cavan.
Drawn game against Tyrone 2005,He was the best man on a field of multipe all stars,and players of the year awardees.The only bad game i can remember him having  for Cavan was when Coulter gave him a roasting at corner back,in Breffini when Benny set up and scored a goal.
Hes been a consistently solid performer for Cavan,the same as your clubmate Martin Cahill.

Lawrence of Knockbride

Can't say I'm impressed by the article. There may/may not be a better keeper than Fintan but I don't remember a game that I could say he's played well in. If this is the form of Dermot Sheridan's life we're in trouble. He was terrible against Louth at midfield and sometimes he just falls asleep and doesn't look interested. If his head is right then he's a great asset but this year it looks like quite a big "if".
As sad as it is Mulvey could be the best option at MF with Givney unless some of the U-21s come in. I think we'll ultimately pay the price for playing him though as he can't be trusted to behave himself for 70 minutes.
Not to nit-pick but Nesty hasn't played every minute this year. What about full-forward. A big position that nobody has claimed. Galligan, Brennan and Cullivan (sort of) have all had a go at it.

But where do you play him? 

The most I have seen him is for Mullahoran and he didn't impress me there.

So if you are going to play, where? 

We are looking for someone to play with Givney so maybe at midfield?  He is commited and can look after himself so why not?  Is high fielding a big component of Gaelic Football nowadays anyway?

But we have a long time so now is the time to look outside the box.

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 29, 2010, 09:26:01 PM
But where do you play him? 

The most I have seen him is for Mullahoran and he didn't impress me there.

So if you are going to play, where? 

We are looking for someone to play with Givney so maybe at midfield?  He is commited and can look after himself so why not?  Is high fielding a big component of Gaelic Football nowadays anyway?

But we have a long time so now is the time to look outside the box.
Id play him wing or if Eoin McGuigan isnt fit,Centre Back.
A half back line consisting of
Paul Brady  Eoin McGuigan   John McCutcheon
has a nice ring to it,would you not agree?
Plus it frees Ronan Flanagan,McKeever up for the forwards.

The kindest thing may have been to let us be relegated last year.

Celt_Man

Tonight's results.

ACFL Division 1

Killygarry  1-5 0-10 Mullahoran 
Ramor United  0-10 2-7 Castlerahan 
Crosserlough  0-4 2-14 Cavan Gaels 
Ballinagh  2-17 2-8 Redhills   
Lacken  0-13 0-7 Belturbet 
Denn  0-8 1-14 Killeshandra   
Lavey  2-8 2-14 Kingscourt 

ACFL Division 2

Ballyhaise  0-14 0-6 Drung   
Drumgoon  0-8 0-7 Kill   
Butlersbridge  1-9 4-12 Knockbride   
Bailieboro  0-13 1-13 Drumlane 

ACFL Division 3

Templeport  0-11 3-9 Kildallan   
Arva  2-7 0-7 Ballymachugh   
Cornafean  0-14 0-6 Corlough   

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Denn Forever on April 30, 2010, 09:59:35 PM
Where's mousy this year? And who does Martin Cahill think he is? Running onto the field and him not even togged?

Celt_Man

Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 01, 2010, 01:02:32 AM
Where's mousy this year? And who does Martin Cahill think he is? Running onto the field and him not even togged?
What happened there?

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Celt_Man on May 01, 2010, 01:04:02 AM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 01, 2010, 01:02:32 AM
What happened there?
One of the Denn lads was after swinging a box right beside the Denn dugout and the ref was approaching looking like he was going to produce a justified red card when Cahill raced in his direction jumping like a man posessed presumably trying to convince the ref not to send him off. This of course caused a 10 man handbags affair.

Dougal

that was pretty stupid on cahills behalf alright.

im going to have to do a list like BH man ,only a list of killeshandra stalkers. ;D
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: Dougal on May 01, 2010, 11:46:17 AM
that was pretty stupid on cahills behalf alright.

im going to have to do a list like BH man ,only a list of killeshandra stalkers. ;D
I love a good bandwagon. :D

boojangles

Current Killeshandra stalkers:

No 1: Dougal- Killeshandra and proud
No 2: Lawrence of Knockbride- closet Killeshandra supporter but he's letting the mask slip :D :D  He's the supporter wearing the trench coat, fishermans hat and sunglasses at all Leaguers games.
No 3: Myles the Slasher- would love to be around to stalk his home club but has to rely on updates from home.

Potential Killeshandra stalkers:

BallyhaiseMan - Seriously worried about Killeshandras superb form in Division One and fearing the Intermediate championship may turn into a cake walk for the Leaguers, some serious stalking may have to occur to try and find out the key to this Killeshandra teams success.
Boojangles - Reasons outlined above
Celt Man - Reasons outlined above

Lawrence of Knockbride

Quote from: boojangles on May 01, 2010, 02:42:01 PM
Current Killeshandra stalkers:

No 1: Dougal- Killeshandra and proud
No 2: Lawrence of Knockbride- closet Killeshandra supporter but he's letting the mask slip :D :D  He's the supporter wearing the trench coat, fishermans hat and sunglasses at all Leaguers games.
No 3: Myles the Slasher- would love to be around to stalk his home club but has to rely on updates from home.

Potential Killeshandra stalkers:

BallyhaiseMan - Seriously worried about Killeshandras superb form in Division One and fearing the Intermediate championship may turn into a cake walk for the Leaguers, some serious stalking may have to occur to try and find out the key to this Killeshandra teams success.
Boojangles - Reasons outlined above
Celt Man - Reasons outlined above

I'll have to change my outfit. I think you're letting Dougal off lightly there. He's a self-confessed Kildallon man. Maybe when "we" move back to our own pitch he'll support his own club. ;D