Is Pat Spillane the most annoying asshole in history of GAA?

Started by DoYerJob Linesman, September 16, 2007, 10:25:38 PM

People often accuse us ulster supporters of being paranoid but surely after watching the Sunday Game last night people can see why we ciomplain. Pat Spillane at every opportunity tried to belittle Tyrone and Armaghs succes by talking about tactics and puke football etc. In my opinion yesterdays all ireland final was the worst I can ever remember for a number of reasons. There was no hype in the build up, Kerry were on top throughout with the result never in doubt, there was a record number of free's, there was little passion, very little excitment, Cork didnt turn up, poor referee, low key celebrations. However unlike Tyrone and Armagh matches the quality of the game wasnt mentioned and instead this year was discussed as being a good championhip. Id say if that was Tyrone and Armagh yesterday the analysis would have started with Pat saying we've had an email from say Brian in Dublin saying:
"What a terrible game, there was no excitment and the game was full of errors. There was a record number of free's for a final and both teams employed extremely negative tactics which is ruining our games. Shame on those involved, puke football in its purist form."
This would have been followed by Pat saying discuss lads. Very strange there was no emails or texts last nite with people complaining about the games quality.The terrible final would have also been used by Pat in every analysis of all future games involving both teams and how northern teams have ruined the games he once loved.

Spillane has earned the right to mock the rest of us, he has a bag of medals and his county are streets ahead of the pack.
Happy Mayo were not in the final,I think a big team like meath could stop them the physical way, cork looked like boys against them,mayo did last year.They have the physique and football in spades, even stick insect cooper is very strong in the air and has the touch of a feather when needed.
All that is to be said is fair play,cooper,donaghy and the rest are classy players and worthy winners.

Leo

I gave my final ticket to a Cork pal (if he is still a pal after that shambles).
Glad i didnt waste day travelling to Croker.
Worst All-Ireland I have ever seen.
Kerry a class apart but VERY physical.
Cork still stranded in Fermoy I think.
I know B Morgan would have prepared this team very well and he is very passionate but today's players show real lack of hunger and bottle.
Joke refereeing.
This was the pukest yet.
Gaelic football will die if we do not address basic problems such as third man tackles, no advantage rule, do ANY refreees know what theyt are doing, etc.
Fierce tame altogether

Quote from: mannix on September 17, 2007, 11:00:10 AM
Spillane has earned the right to mock the rest of us...

No he hasn't, no anchor has the right to mock anyone mannix, at the very least they're supposed to be ostensibly neutral and objective, and he fails miserably on every count. Get him off.

Stopped watching the Sunday Game because of crap anchor & few crap pundits.
Watched it again last night, and not one fecking thing has changed :o
Spillane is still woefully inadequate as an anchor, no neutrality at all & only addresses points that he see's fit.
And dont even get me started on Tony Davis >:(

As for the game - one of the worst AI finals in memory (not that Kerry will mind). Cork seemed to into a shell and were only a shadow of the team from the Munster final.
A poor showpiece final, to go with the poor fayre on offer all year

Spillane is a bit of a tool but can sometimes be good value. He has made a few tongue in cheek wind up comments about Tyrone and Armagh which a lot of people have been sucked in by.

However I thought his reluctance to criticise that game yesterday was a joke. I thought Kerry played a more cynical game yesterday than any of the Ulster teams ever did. If they'd have went out and played football they'd have blown Cork away so why didn't they? They were the perpetrators of most of the fouls yesterday. Spillane did not highlight this at all and I thought this was hypocricy.

Pietas

As an All-Ireland final, was it any worse than last year?
In Roman mythology, Pietas was the goddess of duty to one's state, gods and family.

Kerry1980

Seriously, this "cynical" talk is getting tired and predictable, we fouled our way to 4 all-irelands in a row I suppose  :-\
Look we're no angels but we're no worse than the rest.
It's a physical game.

Kerry can win all irelands playing football though.

Yesterday they,and not Cork, dragged the game down. If they'd just concentrated on playing football they'd have blown Cork away and also made it worthwhile to watch.

Anyway - they are a superb team and the best I've seen.

O'Cinneide was also on the pael last night and he was able to provide balanced analysis without being a p***k

never kickt a ball

I remember travelling into Dublin the morning of the Tyrone v Kerry match in 2003. Pat came on the radio announcing whichever team showed enough hunger would win that day. He was right. Don't forget the plus side to Pat is that on occasions he motivates teams to bate Kerry (usually Tyrone mind you) as indeed Brolly does. The only problem is that not many other teams seem to accept his motivational qualities as eagerly as Tyrone do. I thought his happy, bouncy (Mrs Doubtfire) demeanour last night was hillarious  :D God bless him :-*

He has the medals.He is from the county.He is a bad tv person but he can say it as he sees it because he has done it all.

He can say what he likes but not as the anchor of the flagship Gaelic Games program. Time RTE got the message.

Kentucky Blue

would REALLY love to know how much Spillane gets per appearance or the so called experts per appearance.

Anyone got any idea at all?