CORK V KERRY MUNSTER ALL IRELAND SENIOR FINAL

Started by never kickt a ball, August 20, 2007, 02:05:14 AM

How many Board Posters were actually at the All Ireland Final?

Yes
34 (40.5%)
No
50 (59.5%)

Total Members Voted: 84

marty88

Correct me if im wrong, but he lost the club final. he also isnt the only kerry senior player on dr crokes team.

Im sorry, I think i started this the wrong way. i was having this debate with a mate last night. He said he reckoned cooper was one of the best ever. I couldn't believe anyone could think this. he tried to argue that he was better than the likes of canavan, Bradley, coulter etc, which imo hes not.

I don't think he deserves an all star this year.

So i suppose it depends on how highly you rate him. I wouldn't rate him in the top three forwards around at the moment.
"paddy bradley has got that killer instinct a forward wud commit murder for"- Mick O' Dwyer

BEFORE YESTERDAY - Who was in the running for player of the year ??

oneillcup2007

I believe gaelic Football as a spectator sport reached an all time low yesterday in terms of quality of the action, excitement, SKILL AND COMMON SENSE LEVELS, and number of fouls by in particular Kerry and Cork.  i will not be going back to another ai finall which my own county is not in after watching rubbish for the last 2 years.  Tyrone and armagh in 03 was 10 times the match of yesterday.  there was an obvious lack of honesty about Cork as a team and Kerry as a footballing county.  Right up until the 71st minute they were still dragging Coark players to thge ground off the ball.  Fair play to them on winning Sam,  but look at their route - a useless cork team twice, Feranking monaghan and a hyped up Dublin team.  What a pish poor season of football for the neutral.  Crowds will definitely be down next year.  The next man who tells me KERRY ARE A GOOD FOOTBALL TEAM WILL GET HIT!!!    

Quote from: marty88 on September 17, 2007, 02:56:14 PM
Correct me if im wrong, but he lost the club final. he also isnt the only kerry senior player on dr crokes team.

Im sorry, I think i started this the wrong way. i was having this debate with a mate last night. He said he reckoned cooper was one of the best ever. I couldn't believe anyone could think this. he tried to argue that he was better than the likes of canavan, Bradley, coulter etc, which imo hes not.

I don't think he deserves an all star this year.

So i suppose it depends on how highly you rate him. I wouldn't rate him in the top three forwards around at the moment.

So who are the top 3 ?.As for the club final if yes they lost after a dodgy call with regards McConvilles equaliser .

marty88

top three individuals I would have. Bradley, O'neil and McDonnell
"paddy bradley has got that killer instinct a forward wud commit murder for"- Mick O' Dwyer

oneillcup2007

No John I am not, I am a kerry fan and was at the match yesterday with a Kerry top on me, Id be half kerry if ye know what i mean.  I thought Kerry were a disgrace yesterday with their pulling and hauling. The bottmom line is the football was horrific.  The greatest rivalry in modern day Galeic Football is Tyrone and Kerry and they have only met in 2 epic game in 2003 and 2005 over the past 5 years.   Another great rivalry is Tyrone and Armagh and they have only met 4 times includin replay in the lastt 5 years. Kerry Armagh have met twice.  Dublin and Kerry once.  And yet the kingdom met Cork twice - How did Cork get to an aifinal.  The big teams arent getting to the latter stages of the champuionship - the structure needs changed.  Fair play to Kerry they were disgracefulkly treated before th Monaghan game. As a Kerry fan I am saying to Croke park.  Sort it out ye bundle of idiots.   

Quote from: oneillcup2007 on September 17, 2007, 03:11:27 PM
No John I am not, I am a kerry fan and was at the match yesterday with a Kerry top on me, Id be half kerry if ye know what i mean.  I thought Kerry were a disgrace yesterday with their pulling and hauling. The bottmom line is the football was horrific.  The greatest rivalry in modern day Galeic Football is Tyrone and Kerry and they have only met in 2 epic game in 2003 and 2005 over the past 5 years.   Another great rivalry is Tyrone and Armagh and they have only met 4 times includin replay in the lastt 5 years. Kerry Armagh have met twice.  Dublin and Kerry once.  And yet the kingdom met Cork twice - How did Cork get to an aifinal.  The big teams arent getting to the latter stages of the champuionship - the structure needs changed.  Fair play to Kerry they were disgracefulkly treated before th Monaghan game. As a Kerry fan I am saying to Croke park.  Sort it out ye bundle of idiots.   

Apologies just hung over and cranky.what do you expect teams to do .Football is a physical contact sport maybe the sin bin should have been kept  I expect any player from no matter what county to do what it takes to win an All Ireland . The pressure on players and managers is imense . I know the sytem is not perfect but it has been in place more or less for 118 years .

longball

Thnk Cooper is a talent Marty88 but u r entitled to ur opinion. he is what all good forwards should be- hungry for the ball- im seen him not play well but he still is always showing for it- on the ball he is as talented as anyone ive ever seen- he bulked up well and showed his strength with his first point from play yday and for his goal!
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

cavanmaniac

Gooch was a mixed bag yesterday, I wouldn't be buying the eulogies just yet either. He bought a ticket and won the raffle for his goal when Quirke got his first rush of blood of the day, after that he spilled at least two wides from scorable positions and skied a chance for another goal when he had the hard work done. He also coughed up possession very easily when he tried to thread a pass through the centre of the Cork defence, to an invisible team mate.

Second half he played selflessly and was the root of alot of trouble but Cork were a beaten docket by then, especially when he scored that decorative point near the end nice though it was. His best performance came in a similar vein against Dubs in the second half I think, ran them ragged all over the place.

None of this is to suggest that he played poorly - he had a decent game - but too many people are having orgasms over him and it's a bit excessive.

And fully agree with 5iveTimes. It's tempting to begrudge in the midst of our envy but if these All-Irelands are so soft and handy won then even Cavan and a few like them would have a few in the last 30 years and they don't. If anyone had a soft passage to the final yesterday it was Cork - after the usual rag-tag outfits in Munster they lost to Kerry, thereafter it was Louth, Sligo and Meath. Extremely soft.

Will Cooper be player of the year ?

Before y'days final, would he even have been in the running ?

Iarmhí Abú

Lads this chat of a "soft" All Ireland is a bit wide of the mark.  Kerry are a seriously good side and just keep steamrolling all before them.  Maybe they win finals easily because of ability, commitment, mental approach and preparation. You can only beat whatever is before you and they continually do so.  Well done and good luck to them.

kerry just got a fantastic welcome home to tralee, the place was packed. great to see..  delighted with kerry yesterday if i'd known cork were going to give us a 3 goal start i'd have been a lot happier all week! cant believe we actually won midfield as well. thats a few times cork havent turned up in croke park now i'd love to know what morgan makes of it all...

Frank Casey

For a Kerryman living in langer land yesterday was something sweet. Alot of negative vibes from other posters and indeed many langers today. Are Kerry cynical - Ask Billy Morgan - I prefer to think clinical. After 2002, 2003 and 2005 we had to endure taunts that Kerry were soft, couldn't hack a tough mans game. If imitation is the greatest form of flattery then take a compliment Armagh and Tyrone but we haven't done it to the exclusion of playing football either. Look at some of the long range scores taken yesterday.

The fact that Cork were crap yesterday is not our fault, in the same way that Mayo left their balls in front of Hill 16 at semi final stage last year. Kerry done what they had to and beat what they had to, end of storey, period.

There's talk about Gooch v Canavan or Fitzgerald. Well that was then and this is now. Gooch is pound for pound the best at the game right here and now. He is as much and orchestrator as finisher and at the age of only 24 has loads to offer yet.

One final rant. Shame on the so called fans who were leaving in their droves 2 minutes into the second half, some hardly bothered to resume their seats after the half time pee break. Its bad enough to be in trouble on the field without the confidence boosting site of red backsides disappearing down the exit tunnels
KERRY 3:7

thebuzz

"There's talk about Gooch v Canavan or Fitzgerald. Well that was then and this is now. Gooch is pound for pound the best at the game right here and now. He is as much and orchestrator as finisher and at the age of only 24 has loads to offer yet."

Paddy Bradley and Coulter are good enough forwards but Gooch is most definitely a good playmaker as well as a good forward. I would hate to lose Paddy Bradley from the Derry team but most of the time the ball has to be played perfectly for him. Gooch is lighter than most forwards but he can forage for his own ball. He's come along way from the kid who was pushed around by Armagh and Tyrone.

Tyrone take great pride in making the Gooch the great player that he is ;)