is now a good time to buy shares?

Started by the Deel Rover, August 11, 2007, 10:27:46 AM

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 03, 2009, 06:05:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 03, 2009, 04:18:48 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 04, 2009, 06:03:17 PM
Quoteis now a good time to buy shares?

Absolutely lads...jump straight in with both feet, Obama says nows not the time to
be worried about it "bobbing :D up and down" and that the "profits:D and earnings"
are about right to jump in...what a f**king embarrassment..don't know whether to laugh or shake my head
in disgust at how this buffoon fooled so many people to get elected ???

If you bought in on any index that day and sold out now Obama would have been right.

That said it could of course be a bounce.

I bought a few shares three weeks ago but only taken a small loss. I should have done the index.  ???

Indexes are the way to go..did you ever look in to futures?

I am an amateur investor. I'll leave futures to the serious speculators.

stick to shares in food, renewable energy, bio-fuels etc and you'll do ok.

Quote from: armaghniac on April 03, 2009, 05:28:25 PM
The Central Bank predicts -7% in GNP this year and -3% next year, so the thing still has some way to go. There won't be much inflation in these circumstances, quite the opposite, all prices may fall.  House prices are not going to bottom out for a while and as Bogball says even if you get a loan the long term interest rates will be significantly higher, but wages will not grow as they have done. As I said a couple need to get a house on 2.5-3 times their income, incomes that will have fallen. There has to be houses for most people at this multiple and even posh areas have to have houses affordable by a professional couples on good salaries.
Agree, though inflation is still thought to be a risk because of the rapidity with which the various central banks have been 'printing money' sorry, indulging in quantitative easing :D

Just checking the share prices there Boi shares up to €1.39 Aib at €1.28 . boi shares have shot up over 50% since monday. whats the story

gerrykeegan

Its very hard to know, only a couple of weeks ago there was talk of the big N with them. On a UK share trading forum there is even mention of them.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Markets have really rebounded strongly finishing on a 7 month high today. Reccession over or simply a correction ??????

Quote from: orangeman on July 30, 2009, 09:27:58 PM
Markets have really rebounded strongly finishing on a 7 month high today. Reccession over or simply a correction ??????

The ISEQ was 10,000 and is now 2,800. It's a long way out.

Son_of_Sam

Ya it (AIB Shares) only has to go up to about euro22.00 & I get my life savings back  ::)

Quote from: Son_of_Sam on July 30, 2009, 10:15:59 PM
Ya it (AIB Shares) only has to go up to about euro22.00 & I get my life savings back  ::)

:o Jaysus...ever hear of a stop loss SoS!

Bought some silver ETFs a while back. Still marginally ahead but it's fecking addictive watching the price bounce up and down. A learning experience if nothing else. 

Got a tip for BARCLAYS back in February when I was in Armagh - some difference since then

irunthev

Quote from: Donagh on July 30, 2009, 10:35:43 PM
Bought some silver ETFs a while back. Still marginally ahead but it's fecking addictive watching the price bounce up and down. A learning experience if nothing else. 

Bought a different kind of ball a few months back but its doing the same bouncing. Certainly is a learning experience. The question being will I remember the lessons learned??? Anyone getting involved in shares should read the book "Cityboys" by Geraint Anderson, its a fact based novel and will show you just how ridiculous the market influences can be. It certainly isn't  a science and anyone who claims it is is full of bull. Example last week, Lloyds Banking Group announce £4bn first half losses and the shares go through the roof and a few days later, RBS announce losses too, albeit a lot smaller for the half year and the backside falls out of their shares. I know both banks are in dire condition and that sentiment towards the two banks is different, but where is the science or logic to that? There are a lot of very very wealthy people / companies dictating the market and when small fry like us join in we are at their mercy.

gerrykeegan

Quote from: The Iceman on August 11, 2009, 09:46:08 PM
Got a tip for BARCLAYS back in February when I was in Armagh - some difference since then

Did you follow the tip Iceman? I bought some of them Jan , they are a thing of beauty.
2007  2008 & 2009 Fantasy Golf Winner
(A legitimately held title unlike Dinny's)

Quote from: irunthev on August 12, 2009, 08:31:21 AM
Quote from: Donagh on July 30, 2009, 10:35:43 PM

Bought a different kind of ball a few months back but its doing the same bouncing. Certainly is a learning experience. The question being will I remember the lessons learned??? Anyone getting involved in shares should read the book "Cityboys" by Geraint Anderson, its a fact based novel and will show you just how ridiculous the market influences can be. It certainly isn't  a science and anyone who claims it is is full of bull. Example last week, Lloyds Banking Group announce £4bn first half losses and the shares go through the roof and a few days later, RBS announce losses too, albeit a lot smaller for the half year and the backside falls out of their shares. I know both banks are in dire condition and that sentiment towards the two banks is different, but where is the science or logic to that? There are a lot of very very wealthy people / companies dictating the market and when small fry like us join in we are at their mercy.
i agree that the reasons made up to explain movements are mostly nonsense (and that's not just financially based - see The Black Swan), but in the instances above you're probably missing the point, shares rise or fall based on how results compare with previous predictions, there can also be other info on future prospects contained within such announcements, for example at present a high degree of importance is placed on banks loan books and the deterioration or improvement of these loans.

Quote from: Bogball XV on July 08, 2008, 05:05:32 PM
Apparently Carroll dumped his FBD holdings last week too.  He sold them for approx €16 per share, don't know what the bought for, but they were offered €37 a share a few months ago from some dutch crowd in a takeover attempt.  Carroll's investments are primarily for property plays or when he hears wind of possible takeover attempts, such as FBD and Aer Lingus.  It's paid off well in the past for him as he made quite a few quid in the Jury's takeover attempt 3 years ago.
What's not known is whether he had to sell last week or whether he was doing the hardest thing in investment, taking a loss, there's not many of us who are much good at that, but it is often the most important thing.

I see as well that there are rumours that Sean Quinn is sitting on a massive paper loss on investments in Anglo Irish Bank, rumours in the Sunday Papers suggest that he could be looking at a half a billion loss since the start of the year.
I think we know now!!